Make Cengkodok for Snacks in The Afternoon

Hello Foodies!

It's been almost three weeks since I last posted on my blog, I haven't been very active for a while to write. The past few days have been tiring for me. Doing and thinking about things at the same time is very draining. Starting from doing my research which has not progressed much, to my Youtube content which I have to upload regularly. Lately, my thoughts have also been mixed up which makes it all the more confusing. As much as possible I have to divide my time as productively as possible on the work I have to complete. Next week, I decided to take a short break to rest my mind and body by returning to my hometown for a while. I need some fresh air by going home to meet my family. I miss my mom's cooking and everything at home, especially with my little cats, and on Saturday last night, I finally returned to my hometown to take a break from all the tiring things.

PXL_20211128_094710449.jpg

This afternoon my mother and I made the snacks I had asked to make in the morning. Since there are a few banana combs left from a bunch my father took some time ago from the backyard. This afternoon we made Cengkodok, or I usually call it Godok, a simple dish made from ripe bananas.

PXL_20211128_094658512.jpg

PXL_20211128_094756817.jpg

To make Cengkodok yourself, you only need a few ingredients, such as:

  • 1 ripe banana comb
  • 1 coconut
  • Wheat flour
  • A little salt

PXL_20211128_084001533.jpg

PXL_20211128_084046007.jpg

It only takes four main ingredients to make this cengkodok, you can add a little sugar if you want a sweeter taste, but the banana taste itself is very sweet. To make Cengkodok, it will be more delicious if the bananas used are ripe or the skin looks black spots. Overripe bananas have a sweeter taste than freshly ripe bananas.

How to make cengkodok is also very simple.
  • Puree the coconut

PXL_20211128_084104405.jpg

Puree the coconut that has been cleaned by grating, cengkodok can also be made with or without coconut. Coconut will make the cengkodok dough more textured with a savory taste. Don't forget to add a little salt to the taste, so that the savory taste is more pronounced.
  • Puree Banana

PXL_20211128_084355925.jpg

After the banana is peeled from the skin, then mix the banana with the previously grated coconut and mash the banana until smooth.
  • Mix flour

PXL_20211128_085212906.jpg

if the bananas have been mashed and mixed with coconut, mix in the prepared flour as desired. But my mother said, so that the dough is not too hard, add flour little by little until it becomes the desired dough.
  • Wait a moment

PXL_20211128_085536707.jpg

For cengkodok itself, a little baking soda will be added to make the dough rise, but this time my mother didn't use it and left it alone.
  • Fry

PXL_20211128_094642485~2.jpg

In the last step, fry the dough that has been set aside. Add the dough using a spoon until it forms a ball and waits until it is golden.

If it is ripe, it can be enjoyed with hot tea to make it more perfect. Easy and simple isn't it to make this cengkodok? If you're bored of just eating bananas, maybe you can make them at home too if you have the ingredients.



Thank you for reading my blog. I hope to see you in my next post. Stay safe and keep healthy.