Camp Food

in Foodies Bee Hive2 years ago

IMG20220819085647.jpg


One of the things I love the most about camping is the food. A lot of people have their staples that they make when they are camping. Then there are people like @mrsbozz and I who pretty much make the same things we would make any other day (with a few exceptions).

Even though we are camping we always have a proper vegetable with dinner. Broccoli, asparagus, brussels sprouts, you name it, we often have it. That doesn't mean we don't enjoy the occasional hot dog roasted over the fire as a midnight snack!

This weekend our camping trip took a bit of a different turn when my friend booked the site next to us and brought along his full sized Weber Kettle to play around with.

IMG20220819113350.jpg


These are a recipe he found online called "shotgun shells". It's basically a manicotti noodle stuffed with pork sausage and shredded cheese then wrapped in bacon and smoked on the grill for a couple of hours.

IMG20220819113347.jpg


I have to admit, I wasn't quite sure what to expect at first, but I think they turned out pretty fantastic.

IMG20220819114100.jpg


All that being said, they were a tad greasy for my tastes. While the fat from the sausage and bacon plays a key roll in softening the noodle to a point it doesn't break your teeth when you bite down into it, I think there need to be a sweet bbq sauce or something to cut the fat.

IMG20220819114102.jpg


Overall, the shotgun shells were a success. @mrsbozz was already trying to think of ways she could "trim them down" to make them not quite so bad for you. Something like par-boiling the noodles and using a less fatty chicken sausage or something like that. I'd probably add veggies into the cheese/sausage mixture like peppers and onions.

IMG20220819113402.jpg


With shotgun shells out of the way, my buddy decided his next cook was going to be "burnt ends". While these are typically made with brisket, my friend decided to go the "poor mans" burnt ends route and used a chuck roast that you see here.

IMG_20220822_151806.jpg


While the rest of us made our way to the beach, he manned the grill and kept an eye on the chuck roast. Normally I would have helped him out, but I haven't been to the beach in quite some time, so I decided to hang out with the ladies for once.

IMG_20220822_151801.jpg


He was running his grill at a bit higher temperature than most smokes, so he was able to cook the piece meat in a pretty reasonable amount of time. He did say he wished he had let it go a bit longer, but I don't think he was too upset about it.

After pulling it off the grill he sliced the roast up into cubes and then tossed them with some special seasonings and sauce and returned them to the smoker for another hour and a half or so.

IMG_20220822_151755.jpg


I had my own ribeye steak for dinner, but I was more than happy to walk over to their campsite and check out the finished product. I tried it out, and it was indeed very tasty. He asked me what I thought and since I have never had authentic burnt ends, I didn't really have anything to compare it to. I let him know that and if these are considered poor mans burnt ends, I'd love to try the real thing some day!

They had them the next day at lunch for leftovers and he actually mentioned they seem to get better the more you reheat them. Good to know for the future!

It was a fantastic weekend of great food. I got to have some big breakfasts in the morning completed with a bagel, bacon, and sunny side up eggs. I even got to have some treats too which I will talk about more in a later post!


Sports Talk Social - @bozz.sports


TEAMUSAhive_footer_bozz.jpg


All pictures/screenshots taken by myself or @mrsbozz unless otherwise sourced

Sort:  

Looks tasty! !BEER

Love your Foodie post!

Yum! You have been curated @taco.cat on behalf of FoodiesUnite.net on #Hive. Thanks for using the #foodie tag. We are a tribe for the Foodie community with a unique approach to content and community and we are here on #Hive.

Join the foodie fun! We've given you a FOODIE boost. Come check it out at @foodiesunite for the latest community updates. Spread your gastronomic delights on and claim your tokens.

Join and Post through the Community and you can earn a FOODIE reward.

Banner_followBHcommentsize.png


This post was shared and voted inside the discord by the curators team of discovery-it
Join our community! hive-193212
Discovery-it is also a Witness, vote for us here
Delegate to us for passive income. Check our 80% fee-back Program

Holy shit what a feast!

I think I outdid myself with the camping food while out in the wilderness. Pizza paninis in garlic naan bread with tikka masala sauce as the pizza sauce. On a frying pan on the fire!

Camp food is great when done well.

beerologistapproved.png

That sounds pretty amazing to me! I need to start doing more campfire cooking. My little grill is just so consistent though.

This post is full of yummy goodness, almost impossible not to have a fantastic weekend.

Those shotgun shells, I think they could go really well with some mustard, in this part of the world we eat a lot of smoked or bbq-ed meats with a small side of mustard as well, not just salad and veggies. Thanks for making me feel hungry! 🤤😁

Came here from ListNerds!

Yes the vinegar from the mustard could cut the fattiness well.

Good food, good friends, good location.
Sounds like y'all had a great time with lots of good food.
I will need to try the shotgun shells.

!CTP

They are really something special!

Ohhh that juicy bacon!

!discovery 29

This still had a bit to go, but I can't stand crispy bacon.

I prefer my bacon juicy too.

Those yummy looking bacon wrapped "shotgun shells" are an interesting twist on the use of manicotti/cannelloni shells. I think adding a bit of red sauce or marinara to the filler would do the trick for the sweetness you missed tasting.🥓

I've had burnt end several times as it's one of my husband's favorites and you owe it to yourself to try. The "poor man's" burnt ends made from chuck roast looks delicious.

You guys definitely weren't roughing it during this last camping outing! @bozz

Upvoted and curated

⛺🥓😋🥩♨️

Thanks, yeah, I think he said that the ones he saw online had a sauce on them, but he wasn't sure. I just think it needed a little something to cut the fat. It was great other than that. We try to not go too crazy when we go camping and still maintain our lower calorie lifestyle when we can.

What’s a yummy recipe to enjoy while camping. Love to try the bacon wrapped too. That’s gonna be so great and enjoyable moments, eating with many people. It looks so delicious.

Probably one of my favorites is pizza pockets baked over the grill. They are so tasty!

Ohh looks awesome! I love it! !PIZZA

Some food just tastes even better when it's cooked outside. And of course, it looks delish.
!CTP
!ALIVE

Indeed! Thank you!

You're welcome! Enjoy your day, @bozz! 😀

@bozz! You Are Alive so I just staked 0.1 $ALIVE to your account on behalf of @lisamgentile1961. (2/10)

The tip has been paid for by the We Are Alive Tribe through the earnings on @alive.chat, feel free to swing by our daily chat any time you want.

Good Morning and Thank you, @youarealive! Enjoy your day.😀

You do seem to eat very well while you are camping. I like @mrsbozz idea fo precooking the noodles and lower the fat content. Thanks for sharing.

Yeah, the only problem is you don't want the noodles to get too soggy. I think it would have to be a trial and error sort of thing.


Hey @bozz, here is a little bit of BEER from @fiberfrau for you. Enjoy it!

Learn how to earn FREE BEER each day by staking your BEER.

PIZZA!

PIZZA Holders sent $PIZZA tips in this post's comments:
@ravenmus1c(3/20) tipped @bozz (x1)

You can now send $PIZZA tips in Discord via tip.cc!