Food Photography with Bozz

in Foodies Bee Hivelast year

IMG20221022173017.jpg


If you know nothing else about me, you should know that I love food. I mean, all you have to do is look at a couple pictures of me on Hive and it will be pretty clear that I am not a skinny person. That doesn't mean I am not careful about what I eat. It just means I am probably not quite as careful as I should be...

Ever since I met @mrsbozz who is not a fan of beef, I eat far less red meat than I used to in my youth. Occasionally though, if we are eating out or I am feeling the urge, I splurge and buy myself a steak or burger.

This was one such occasion. I had a $50 gift certificate to a local butcher shop. I picked up a couple of ribeye steaks and some other assorted goodies.

IMG20221022173011.jpg


This was one of those steaks along with some mini potatoes that we cook in wrapped aluminum foil over the grill. They come out so tender and smoky tasting if you do it properly. Sometimes the chunks that touch the foil get a little burnt, but not too often. It just depends on how distracted I get!

IMG20221022173013.jpg


Topped with some cheese and a little bit of ketchup on the side, they are divine. I should also mention that we cut up onions and mix them in with the potatoes. It really adds a little something extra to them. On occasion, we have also just done half the portion of potatoes and mixed it with an equal amount of radishes. When you roast them over the grill like that the radishes lose their bitterness. They get very soft and you nearly can't tell the difference between them and the potatoes.

IMG20221022173020.jpg


As I said, @mrsbozz isn't a fan of beef, so she gets chicken instead. Along with some bacon wrapped jalapeno poppers that we got from Costco. They are in the lower left hand corner of the picture above. I thought it might be fun to try warming them up on the grill. They were decent, but I don't think I would buy them again. I think we could make them just as easily and better ourselves in the future.

IMG20221022084333.jpg


Through the week I usually just eat cereal for breakfast. It is a horrible habit and it really doesn't fill me up or give me the energy I need to get through the day, but after working out and getting around for work, we are typically in a rush to get out the door. Cooking a big breakfast isn't practical for us.

On the weekends though, I typically go all out. Lately all out has included one or two eggs "sunny side up" or soft for people outside the midwest. As you can see here, I still haven't perfected the method of cooking. Typically I either accidentally break the yolks or in my efforts to not give myself salmonella poisoning, I over cook them. They still turn out decently runny and they taste fine, but the presentation is often lacking!

I typically pair them with some ground sausage, sausage links, bacon, or in this case slices of ham heated up in the pan next to the eggs.

IMG20221026184552.jpg


If you saw my posts last week, you will know that I recently attended a professional conference. It is a really great tech event geared towards IT professionals in the education sector for the state of Michigan. Food is always included and they do a decent job of feeding us, so I made sure to take some photos.

IMG20221027071739.jpg


I already shared the photos of dinner the first night in a different post. The one you see above was breakfast the next morning. Fried potatoes, sausage links, scrambled eggs, fruit and lemon poppyseed poundcake. They also had french toast, but I passed on that.

IMG20221027071746.jpg


The sausage links were good as well as the strawberries. The lemon poppyseed bread is one of my favorite things. You typically find it on most hotel buffets. I think they mass produce it somewhere and then just ship it out to all of these businesses and institutions. I think most places don't even bother warming it up. It's likely horrible for you, but I dig it.

IMG20221027071746.jpg


I'm usually a fan of these scrambled eggs in a box. Instead of using actual eggs a lot of places use a powder that they reconstitute with water so they can make copious amounts of scrambled eggs.

Like this.

My wife hates it. I don't mind it, but in this case, these ones were a bit underwhelming.

The next day I had a very similar breakfast, but I added some bacon instead of sausage and I had them make a homemade omelette for me. I didn't get pictures, but that was the better way to go.

IMG20221027120640.jpg


Lunch on Thursday at the conference was "Mexican" themed with the options being tacos/fajitas. I chose to go a more carb friendly route and only took one tortilla shell. The stuff with the corn strips in the top was supposed to be a salad, but they had the lettuce so buried at the bottom of the bowl that most people just got corn, cheese, and tortilla strips when they scooped it out.

The corn muffin was just kind of meh for me. I usually prefer my cornbread on the sweeter side versus the savory side. It was a bit dry too.

IMG20221027120643.jpg


The chicken and steak they served us on the other hand was quite delicious if not slightly dry. I get it is hard to keep things perfect when you are serving over 700 people. A little bit of dry meat isn't to be unexpected. Good thing they gave us the guacamole and street corn salad to mix it with. Although I was quite critical of it, this was one of my favorite meals of the week.

IMG20221027182638.jpg


I've been really impressed with how well my smartphone automatically switches to macro mode to catch these close up shots. Sometimes I get impatient and move too soon, but that is on me, not the camera.

Our last big dinner on Thursday night was quite exceptional. This would probably be a close second for my favorite meal of the week. The steak was tender and juicy with a fantastic sauce to accompany it. Just ask @slobberchops how important it is for stuff to have a good sauce accompanying it.

The chicken was tender and juicy as well.

IMG20221027182640.jpg

IMG20221027182641.jpg

IMG20221027182644.jpg


They served the proteins with a nice Caprese salad, garlic mashed potatoes, and broccoli rabe. It was quite delicious. It was funny because a lot of people couldn't figure out what the Caprese was. They were hesitantly taking it. As soon as I saw the tomatoes and mozzarella, I knew what it was.

As I said, I forgot to get photos of breakfast on Friday morning, but I did get photos of lunch on Friday before we all headed home.

IMG20221028114011.jpg


Just ignore for a second how horrible my burger looks in the top center of the image. The theme for this meal was "backyard bbq". They served us baked beans, burgers, ribs, and salad I think.

IMG20221028114013.jpg


My hands were full when I was going through the line, so I wasn't able to aim quite as well as I would have liked with the ketchup and mayo. Plus the plates were quite small, so that didn't help either. I should have waited and put my cheese on last. Rookie mistake for sure.

IMG20221028114017.jpg

IMG20221028114019.jpg

IMG20221028114053.jpg


I really wanted to like this meal, but the bun was much too dry and too large in proportion to the beef patties they provided. The ribs were dry and fatty. The meat didn't pull away from the bone the way it should have and that was quite disappointing.

The beans were good, so I will at least give them that. They were likely just mass produced and heated up from a can though. Looking back, I should have just ate the burger open faced with only the bottom bun and just thrown away the top bun. The ribs, I would just skip.

IMG20221028164030.jpg


I beat @mrsbozz home from work on that Friday and it was so good to see her after being gone for two and a half days. When you have been with someone for 14 years it is amazing how even short periods away from each other can feel like eternities.

Although I had nearly had my fill of "eating out for the week", I knew her day was likely long and she would not feel like cooking. Instead, we headed out to local bar a town over that we had talked about but never tried before.

We ordered a couple of Captain Morgan's Spiced Rum's and Cokes (diet in her case) and waited for our food.

IMG20221028165140.jpg


She got the BLT chicken wrap with onion rings. We were actually a little surprised at the portion size. In the US, we are quite used to things being insanely huge compared to the portions I have seen from other countries via Hive. This one felt a bit on the small side compared to our expectations, but it was actually plenty and filled her up without needing to take any leftovers home.

IMG20221028165132.jpg


I'm a sucker for a good chicken wing and I had to laugh a little when I noticed on their menu it said "voted best wings in town". The reason that is funny is because there are really only two bars in this town. So if there are only two, you pretty much have a 50/50 shot of being voted the best.

All that aside, I have to admit, they were pretty fantastic. I would absolutely go here again. They were some of the best wings I have had in quite some time. I got the sweet Asian flavor and it was the perfect mix of sweet and heat. I was a bit sad when they were all gone. I definitely want to come back to this place again, sooner rather than later.

Alright, now that I have made all of your significantly hungry, I am going to sign off! I promise, no more food posts the rest of the week!


Sports Talk Social - @bozz.sports


TEAMUSAhive_footer_bozz.jpg


All pictures/screenshots taken by myself or @mrsbozz unless otherwise sourced

Sort:  

From the look of things, this is one of a kind. awesome and testy yommy!!

Thank you!

Wow I love steak specially tenderloin match with Barbaresco wine!! Thanks for sharing this amazing inviting food 😍

No problem! I was even more fun to eat it than it was to write about it!

The dish really look nice and thanks for sharing.

Thanks, I appreciate that! It was fun writing this post.

Excelente post hermano, estos platillos lucen deliciosos! ya me antojé de unos cuantos, gracias por compartir!

Este fue uno de mis favoritos, luce tan jodidamente delicioso 🤤
image.png

That was a thorough report! I think you covered all the bases there.

Ah, let's be honest, it was just a photo dump to clear up some storage space on my computer :)

hehe! I was thinking, my god, how much have you eaten!? lol but you have quite a few meals covered there.

Yeah, this was actually across a couple of weeks. I have so much more that I didn't take pics of that I could have shared!

Keep the food posts coming!

I saw the strawberries with the sausages and thought you had gone all weird or something. Didn't realise it was breakfast and that it was a buffet so kind of makes more sense.

Yeah, I just threw in the strawberries because I knew my wife would be proud of me that I ate some fruit!

This made me chuckle as bozz is being a good boy for once lol.

Congratulations @bozz! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s):

You distributed more than 89000 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 90000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

CBRS Hive Infographic Contest - Get your badge and win 1000 HIVE
Our Hive Power Delegations to the October PUM Winners
Feedback from the November 1st Hive Power Up Day - New Turnout Record
Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!