Sort:  

Wel done Cahlen.. was probably too much coconut oil or butter to get the potatos very crispy..
But anyway, looked good...👍🏻🥰

I was curious to see if I could deep fry potatoes in coconut oil using my offgrid solar oven. I cut up some homegrown potatoes into fry-sized pieces, heated up the coconut oil in the solar oven, and then added the potatoes. I let them cook for about 15 minutes, stirring occasionally, until they were golden brown and crispy.

Overall, the experiment was a success! The potatoes turned out nice and crispy, and the solar oven did a good job of evenly cooking them. I'll definitely be trying this again in the future.

Oh I bet that was tasty. I need to get that salt. I think I have when I lived in eastern Canada but can't say for sure. It was something like that anyhow. I'm curious as to whether that oven would work in our winter where it gets down to -40 and only 5-6 hours of daylight. Even if it just warmed enough to melt your con-choc-tion.

Hooo, I'am surprized you loved the cayenne salt better, didn't you find it dull with very few taste and spiciness ?
Or maybe they change the recipe, I have to try again maybe.
Or maybe it si just me loving to much hot spices :p

Not sure if there's a different recipe, but I thought it was quite wonderful and perfectly spicy.

My friend, you put a smile on my face. You need at least 325 degrees to get those potatoes crispy. Try it with just a little oil in the pan and turning them as they brown....if they brown that is...take care!

Thanks!


The rewards earned on this comment will go directly to the people( @johndieo ) sharing the post on Twitter as long as they are registered with @poshtoken. Sign up at https://hiveposh.com.

Thank you for sharing this amazing post on HIVE!
  • Your content got selected by our fellow curator @priyanarc & you just received a little thank you via an upvote from our non-profit curation initiative!

  • You will be featured in one of our recurring curation compilations and on our pinterest boards! Both are aiming to offer you a stage to widen your audience within and outside of the DIY scene of hive.

Join the official DIYHub community on HIVE and show us more of your amazing work and feel free to connect with us and other DIYers via our discord server: https://discord.gg/mY5uCfQ !

If you want to support our goal to motivate other DIY/art/music/homesteading/... creators just delegate to us and earn 100% of your curation rewards!

Stay creative & hive on!