Easy Micro Greens Snacks

in Foodies Bee Hive26 days ago (edited)

Microgreens are baby plants of the leafy greens varieties. Lettuce, spinach, kale, mustard & more can all be cultivated in this way. In other posts (here) I have detailed how I grow them. Today, however, I wish to discuss how I use my microgreeen harvest.

I have been growing microgreens for years. In ceramic pots and even in recyled water jugs.

These days, while on an extended visit to my homelands, I have all my microgreens lined up just outside the kitchen door.

People are usually impressed with my abundant, albeit mini, garden. They also tend to ask: "What do you do with all those greens?"

The answer is simple ~ I sprinkle them on everything!

Mini mustard greens are among my favorites to grow. Seeds can be found cheaply and in bulk under the condiment section of stores and they tend to germinate very quickly.

Microgreens are sown very close together. I would estimate that each plant has about 100 seeds sprinkled in with a thin layer of compost patted ontop. After only 10 or so days I cut the greens at the stem to store jn the fridge or use right away.

Microgreens are most nutritious when eaten raw or ever so slightly steamed. While camping I desired a quick snack so, I simply added mustard microgreens to some whole weat crackers with cream goat cheese.

Do you use microgreens in your meals? Let me know how in the comments.

Sort:  

Love this, dear @calendulacraft 🤗🤲 Yes! I've been sprouting for decades, though without using soil, but I'd like to expand my 'kitchen gardening' to microgreens too - such a beautifully presented post, thanks for sharing it 🥰🤩
@vincentnijman - are you interested in microgreens? 😁

I am very happy to hear that you are already sprouting! From your pictures that you have shared I feel like you have enough sunny spaces indoors that making (or buying) a few trays of microgreens would really be worth your while. I bet you can find plenty of microgreens seeds in Europe too! Best of luck to you in your kitchen garden!

Love it love it !!! I love microgreens, I'm eating everything with that sandwich, burger, hotdog, bread, creams. My favorite is called Alfalfa

So glad to hear that you are adding microgreens to all these different meals! Cheers to you!

Great post! I could imagine that could even be done in a small van like mine. It would be an easy way to grow at least a little bit of my own food while still living in a car.
Thank you for the inspiration!

aw, thank you! Right now I am using heavy ceramic pots. If you are living in a van I think using microgreen trays made of plastic is a great way to go. Then there are always sprouts which require only a clean glass jar. You can experiment and see what works for you!

Yes, we do use microgreens in our food and in meals. Well, this combination of weat crackers with cream goat cheese with microgreens is unique to me.

I love hearing that others are into microgreens too! thanks for the comment :)

I love microgreens. I have so many seeds from amaranth to wild rocket which I collected over the years. I really need to grow some microgreens again! I like the variety of things you do with the microgreens though. I particularly like the pita bread (I presume?) with the microgreens! I need to try that one.

Wow!! I really like that you collect your own seeds for microgreens. That is giving me some ideas of more wild varieties of greens 🍀💧☘ thanks so much for this green inspo!

Sorry for only responding now!

For sure, do try wild rocket and normal rocket, and amaranth. They are really prolific seed producers, easy to remove the chaff from the seeds, and in no time you will so much seed, it is rather scary! Best of luck and enjoy!

Congratulations @calendulacraft! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain And have been rewarded with New badge(s)

You received more than 60000 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 65000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Manually curated by ewkaw from the @qurator Team. Keep up the good work!