Sauteed Vegetables in Real Tomato Sauce and Fish Sauce

in Foodies Bee Hive5 months ago

Good day!

Here is an Ilokano/Ilocano specialty dish that is very tasty and nutritious, it is called "Sauteed Vegetables in Real Tomato Sauce and Fish Sauce". When my husband first introduced this dish to me in the first months that we were together I was very surprised that it is a very tasty dish. I eat a lot of rice with it whenever my husband is cooking it.

This is my first time cooking this dish (which my husband taught me step-by-step of cooking). At first, I was very intrigued by how this dish is cooked when my husband taught it to me I learned that the secret to the tastiness of this dish is because of the real tomato sauce combined with fish sauce and some fried meat. Also, my husband told me that I can use either fried fish fried meat, or grilled fish. In dried fish, the three best fried fishes to add to this dish are Tilapia, Milk Fish, and Blue Scad Mackerel. In the case of fried meat, my husband said to only use pork.

Also, my husband said that the other secret to this dish is less water so that the taste will be concentrated on the sauce.

Ingredients

  • Bitter Gourd / Bitter Melon (1 pc small)
  • Sweet Potato (3 pcs, small)
  • Eggplant (2 pcs, round, small)
  • Okra (2 pcs, small)
  • Tomato (3 pcs, small)
  • Onion (half, medium)
  • Fried Pork (about 30 grams)
  • Green Pepper (2 pcs, small)
  • Fish Sauce/Paste (3 tbsp)
  • Cooking Oil

Preparing the ingredients

I just sliced the bitter melon/gourd into two section

I just peeled and sliced the sweet potato

I just removed the upper part of the eggplants

I just washed the Okra

I just sliced the tomatoes

I just peeled and sliced the onion

I prepared the fried pork

I prepared the green pepper

I prepared the fish sauce

How to cook

1. I just sauteed the onion in a cooking oil

2. After sauteing the onion I added the tomatoes and added some water then I let it boil until it rendered sauce

3. When the tomatoes were already saucy I added all the vegetables

4. I added the fish sauce

5. I added the fried pork and let them boil until they were all cooked

6. When the vegetables are all cooked I turn off the heat

7. Put some in a bowl and serve hot with rice


About the Author

@chenee is a bartender by profession, a plain housewife caring for my family. I love pancit, I love to play online games, and I also love to sing and dance

Thank you all for the support.
Sort:  

Uuh looks really healthy and 👍😊😊

Yes, it is healthy and tasty. Thank you for checking my blog.