Blueberry Stockpiling

in Foodies Bee Hive3 years ago

Hi fellow Foodies,

We've spent quite a bit of time stocking up on our son's favorite snack: blueberries!

88FA19A1-AE91-4AEF-900A-6B0E35018DF2.jpeg

Hive Divider Bar Text.png

Stockpiling

Stockpiling has been one of the things that we've done since we've had our son; we did it a little bit before that but since our son's been around, we've spent a lot of time stockpiling things that we know we will be using and that our son enjoys. One of the things that he’s loved since he’s been able to eat solid foods has been blueberries for some reason. We aren’t complaining at all but my wife doesn’t really like or eat blueberries so we aren’t sure where he got the affinity for them. We will supply that eating preference though!

Another thing that’s great about the blueberry eating is that we get to go picking at the farms for them instead of buying them from the store. I don’t know if we are simply spoiled to have lots of amazing farms near us or what but we have a dozen farms we can visit within 45 minutes of us that we could go picking. We’ve been to each of them at one point or another and certainly enjoy the variety.

88FA19A1-AE91-4AEF-900A-6B0E35018DF2.jpeg

The one we went to this most recent time had the cheapest cost per pound of blueberries so we said why not let’s go and pick some! Since then we’ve been four times in a few days lol we will probably go one more time! In the winter months our son loves these as a snack throughout the day, he will often ask for some frozen blueberries. I don’t know if he will be asking for them much anymore from us though, since he tends to just get up and get things himself now. It’s great but a little heart breaking if you ask me!

The buckets each hold about three pounds when they are full. We filled them right up to the brim when we were out there lol. Most of the days we’ve had excellent picking weather: cloudy and a little rain. Keeps the sun away from overheating the little man but it also keeps the bugs and bees away that are looking for snacks.

F0D4F910-2142-4F7D-804A-C56C3324D445.jpeg

Between the two bags I think we’ve got 10 pounds of blueberries. (Not factoring in the snacks we’ve eaten of them so far and the other trip we took since I wrote this post, we have two more bags so 35 pounds?LOL) It cost us about 40$ or so, not a bad price! When we go to the store they are way more expensive than that and the quality of them isn’t as fresh as this.

I also sort of selfishly wanted these blueberries myself. I will have to find out the variety of them but the early season blueberries are my favorite. There are 20 or so varieties of blueberries on this particular farm and these ones are my favorite. They have the most flavor but their flavor is on the more tart side instead of sweet. I think it’s better than the sweet blueberries, I don’t know why but I don’t love those ones. When we found that these were the tasty ones I said let’s go a few times so we can get a huge amount! Frozen blueberries are delicious so it’s not too difficult to justify going and picking some to keep for later lol.

What types of summer fruits do you stockpile in your house for the colder months? Let me know in the comments!

Hive Divider Bar Centered.png

Connect with me!

Do you want to get paid, in crypto, for searching the internet? Try using and signing up for Presearch to earn some great crypto! I've currently got 2,470 PRE tokens, with a market value of $59.28. It doesn't sound like a lot but when you search using sites like Google you get paid $0! Join Presearch to break Google's stranglehold on the internet searches. If you'd like to sign up, use my referral link!
https://www.presearch.org/signup?rid=513043


Image source

Sort:  

Your content has been voted as a part of Encouragement program. Keep up the good work!

Use Ecency daily to boost your growth on platform!

Support Ecency
Vote for Proposal
Delegate HP and earn more

Awesome thanks for the support I appreciate it!

My fiance used to coupon and stockpile stuff like laundry detergent, hand soap, tissues and stuff like that. Came in handy last year haha Blueberrys are delicious, smart move. They go good with so many things. (I've been putting them in my bran flakes cereal and vanilla greek yogurt lately.)

Yeah my wife does the same thing! We stockpile all kinds of stuff and we often get things for free or at a great discount. We’ve got laundry detergent for a few years because of that and more razors than we know what to do with lol especially because I don’t shave most days, only trim with clippers.

Blueberries are one of my favorites but only these early season ones. The late ones aren’t as tasty, they are good but not what I prefer so I’m glad we were able to grab a bunch! I’ve been eating them just frozen as is or I’ll put them in oatmeal, yogurt or some other stuff like that. Tastes great!

I can't control my cravings anymore

Hahah this is an old one but seems like you enjoy blueberries! It’s one of our favorite fruits for sure.