Winter Blueberry Stockpiling

in Foodies Bee Hive2 years ago

Hi fellow Hiveians,

Today I wanted to share one of our favorite times of year: blueberry stockpiling time!

bb5.jpg

Hive Divider Bar Text.png

Winter Blueberry Stockpiling

Living in New England, one of the things that we have amazing access to is all kinds of farms. Hopefully people aren't completely sick of me saying that LOL. We have two different farms that we go to for blueberries, each of them has different qualities that the other one doesn't have. The farm here in this picture is one of the newer farms that we've started to go to but what I love the most about it is that it's got early season blueberries!

bb6.jpg

It's incredible but there are apparently 30 or something varieties of blueberries and blueberry trees out there. Who the hell knew?! Lol I didn't! I don't know specifically, and the people who were working on the farm that day didn't either, but these blueberry trees here are the early season ones. They are definitely my favorite, the ones that have a nice tart flavor to them! I certainly enjoy blueberries that are sweet but my absolute favorite ones are the ones that are a little tart!

bb4.jpg

The other farm that we go to has the later season blueberries. I don't know if it's because the farm is in a slightly different geographic region than the other farm above but these ones are still nice and tart but a couple weeks later! Not as delicious as the other ones above but that's okay, they are still wonderful and we stock up as much as we can. We are certainly trying to appreciate what families did decades ago in that they picked what was fresh and preserved as much as they could for the colder months.

bb3.jpg

The second farm certainly takes the cake for the giant blueberries though let me tell you! These things were incredible lol they seemed to be the size of a large marble! We tried to pick as many of these as we could. It was hard to do it all because there were so many around and we were competing with a shrinking box that we had hahaha.

bb2.jpg

It's nice to be out in the field as a family, enjoy picking and the sunshine and it's nearly impossible not to enjoy snacking on some of the berries while we were out there! The little man was going to town on the berries and we didn't mind, it's much better that he enjoy and appreciate the natural sweets like this instead of the shit candy that kids are fed all too often nowadays.

bb1.jpg

Everywhere we looked, there were massive clumps of the berries just waiting to be picked. This was why I preferred and enjoyed this farm more than the first one. I enjoy the first one for sure but this farm has hundreds of these blueberry trees with thousands of berries one each! I would be curious how many millions of blueberries were on these trees here lol

bb5.jpg

This was our haul! We picked a bunch of bags to freeze right away, knowing that the berries will sustain the little man's blueberry addiction throughout the colder months. I think that the best thing we've done for preparation for food for him has certainly been the blueberries over the past few years. We've gone every summer since he was 1 I think!

81F89577-C70A-4B08-B7FF-9FF3D9DBB916.jpeg

Hive Divider Bar Centered.png

Connect with me!

Do you want to get paid, in crypto, for searching the internet? Try using and signing up for Presearch to earn some great crypto! I've currently got 2,720 PRE tokens, with a market value of $380.27. It doesn't sound like a lot but when you search using sites like Google you get paid $0! Join Presearch to break Google's stranglehold on the internet searches. If you'd like to sign up, use my referral link below and spread the word!
https://www.presearch.org/signup?rid=513043


Image source

Sort:  

The blueberries are beautiful! ❤️

Thank you! They were a great sight indeed and one that we really enjoyed picking and eating!

I for sure never knew there were so many varieties of blue berries I though they were all just blueberries good to learn something new each day

you sure picked a bunch of them, good to stockpile to get through the colder months

Thanks for joining Wednesday Walk :), I truly enjoy exploring the world virtually each Wednesday seeing walks from all around the globe and feeling I am there and experiencing it all myself, such as I did in your post just now :)

Yeah man me too I was shocked when I learned the number of blueberry varieties lol. Most of them are delicious to me!

👍😎👍

My kids fave snack--Really expensive here though