Sweet & Sour Tofu Vegan Recipe

in Foodies Bee Hive2 years ago (edited)

Hello Hive!

Last week, we made Vegan Green Curry Tofu as the first part of a Tofu Series. Bean curd is a versatile ingredient for plant-based dishes, pairing it with this savory sauce over steamy brown rice, it instantly becomes a satisfying meal that is very easy to make.

I was inspired by the Sweet & Sour Sauce Recipe from Pick Up Limes. I put a spin to it by adding cashews since I didn't have available carrots in the fridge and using sugar cane vinegar instead.

I always have a stock of pineapple juice, pineapple chunks, and maple syrup in the fridge. Why fridge you might ask? To avoid ants from getting to them, a tropical island life challenge.

My husband hates ginger so I always use this stainless steel garlic press from IKEA to squeeze it into tiny almost invisible bits so they're well hidden. I always have to do it in a subtle way. (Evil laugh mwahaha) Otherwise, I'd get an earful whenever he bites into them.

If I were to cook for myself, I'd go crazy with the ginger because I love them, as much as I adore cinnamon (which he also hates), but nope, we won't be needing cinnamon for this dish.

Let's start cooking, shall we?


Directions:

To create the tofu coating, add soy sauce, cornstarch, vegetable oil, salt, and pepper in a medium bowl. Dip the tofu cubes and make sure they're well coated on all sides.


Use a non-stick pan and heat the oil over medium heat.

When the oil is hot enough, lightly toss the coated extra firm tofu cubes and fry them for about 10 minutes until they're golden brown. Set them aside on a plate with a kitchen towel to drain the excess oil.

In the same non-stick pan over medium heat, add the oil. Once the oil sizzles, sauté the onions and add the cashews to roast them. Toss in the sliced green bell pepper.

Prepare the sweet and sour sauce in a medium-sized bowl. Combine pineapple juice, sugar cane vinegar, maple syrup, crushed garlic with the use of a garlic press, crushed ginger, cornstarch, tomato paste, and soy sauce. Gently stir.

Add the sauce to the stir-fry pan, pineapple chunks, and the tofu. Let it simmer for about 3-5 minutes. Turn off the heat and serve it hot with rice.

I personally like having this in a bowl. We usually have a stir fry rice bowl in front of the telly- particularly Netflix Good Doctor Series. Not really the kind of dish one would enjoy while watching a surgical scene but for some reason this became our family's lunch habit.

Enjoy everyone and thank you for reading! Do you like stir-fry? Bon appétit! Wishing you all a beautiful and sumptuous weekend!


Discovering Arni.jpg

"I am an old soul who simply loves coffee, who finds joy and beauty in both tangible and the unseen."

@discoveringarni

Curiosity and imagination lead to unexpected experiences. Interested in Nature, Places, Roads Less Traveled, Minimalism, Authentic Living, Anything French, and International Cuisine. Feel free to follow her, re-blog, and upvote if you enjoy her content.

Sort:  

Looks incredibly delicious but at the same time super healthy, wow! Awesome recipe, thanks for sharing it with us :)

@tipu curate

Hi @phortun, thank you for your support and with pleasure. Love dishes with pineapples, it truly creates a different layer to sweet & sour.

Looks like something that I can try to cook too. Thanks for sharing your recipe Arni. As a vegan, I'm always on the lookout for new dishes to cook at home so I super appreciate seeing this post of yours.

Hello Mara @coffeehan, it's a pleasure, would love to hear about your experience once you try it at home. Do you often use tofu and is it readily available where you live? I remember tofu was pretty much available in any of the supermarkets when we lived in the metro but when we moved to the south of Cebu, it was a challenge to find them. Luckily, we discovered a couple who started making fresh homemade tofu, a business borne from the pandemic. I'll share more tofu dishes in the near future.

Yummy, Wow @discoveringarni this is mouthwatering honestly. I loved the combination of tofu and rice. Would love to read more of your recipes.
Enjoy the day.

Hi Sahiba @sahiba-rana, thank you. I will be posting more tofu recipes soon. There's enthusiasm in the December air, at least a dose of optimism contrary to November. I still can't believe we have a few weeks left before the year ends.

Absolutely. Make some recipe and do share, I do not know how to cook but I and my mom will prepare your dish at home for sure. I'll share pictures with you.😃😃

looks very delicious! i used not to be a fan of tofu but my taste has changed some way.. will definitely try this recipe:) have already discovered great here on hive!

Hi @katrin-lux, thank you, we repeat this dish at home every two weeks. Would love to hear how it goes. Cheers

Thank you for sharing this amazing post on HIVE!
  • Your content got selected by our fellow curator @stevenson7 & you just received a little thank you via an upvote from our non-profit curation initiative!

  • You will be featured in one of our recurring curation compilations and on our pinterest boards! Both are aiming to offer you a stage to widen your audience within and outside of the DIY scene of hive.

Join the official DIYHub community on HIVE and show us more of your amazing work and feel free to connect with us and other DIYers via our discord server: https://discord.gg/mY5uCfQ !

If you want to support our goal to motivate other DIY/art/music/homesteading/... creators just delegate to us and earn 100% of your curation rewards!

Stay creative & hive on!

Hello @stevenson7, my apologies for my late reply. I can't believe I missed this. Thank you very much for your support as well as @diyhub, I highly appreciate it. Cheers and have a great weekend!

Love your Foodie post!

Yum! You have been curated @taco.cat on behalf of FoodiesUnite.net on #Hive. Thanks for using the #foodie tag. We are a tribe for the Foodie community with a unique approach to content and community and we are here on #Hive.

Join the foodie fun! We've given you a FOODIE boost. Come check it out at @foodiesunite for the latest community updates. Spread your gastronomic delights on and claim your tokens.

Join and Post through the Community and you can earn a FOODIE reward.

Banner_followBHcommentsize.png

Hello @taco.cat and @foodiesunite, thank you very much for your support, I highly appreciate it. Have an excellent Sunday!

This looks and sounds quite good. I could probably replace the tofu with chicken right? We don't eat a lot of tofu.
I'm pretty sure I have that exact same press. I've only used it for garlic though, never ginger. That's smart. I'll have to try that. Sometimes having chunks of ginger isn't pleasant in certain recipes. So nice trick!

Hello @leaky20, Oh yes, you can replace it with chicken. Have you tried velveting your chicken for stir-fry? It makes the chicken pieces silky, tender and moist on the inside while being crunchy outside. A Chinese friend from Shanghai taught me how to do this. She recommended egg white, but water, oil, and cornstarch mixture do the trick. If you want it crunchy you can add baking soda.

For a more flavorful mixture, a splash of sesame oil and soy sauce will even make it yummier. For the sweet and sour recipe, I think there's no need for additional soy sauce because the sauce already has a lot of it.

That press was definitely a very useful purchase. Squeezing ginger requires a little bit more strength but it's definitely worth the effort. Happy cooking!

No I haven't tries that. This is the first I've ever heard of velveting. It sounds like an interesting technique. So do you just coat the chicken in those ingredients that you mentioned and then fry it?

Yes, coating them and then frying them separately at first. Similar process that was done with the tofu, and then being added to the stir fry towards the end..

Thank you for this @discoveringarni! I'm actually having a hard time deciding what new recipe to try. Will make this, the problem is will I find a tofu in Carcar supermarkets tomorrow?! Hahaha! 😁

Hi @patsitivity, yes finding tofu in Carcar is a hit or miss. Which one has more chances of having it, Metro, Gaisano, or SM Hypermarket? I hope you do find some tomorrow and I'm excited to find how it goes if ever.

I'd say Metro. Hopefully! I'll let you know how it goes. Hehe

This looks delicious. Now I have to cook something similar for dinner. 😁😁😁

Hi @juanvegetarian, I can't wait to hear how your dinner went. Enjoy and happy weekend!

We had stir-fried pechay in ginger and crunchy, fried tofu with vinegar or sweet and sour sauce on the side. Thanks for the food-inspiration. :)

Ooh that's nice as well! Love the crunchiness of that. We had a similar dish for lunch today, pechay or bok choi for a spicier version. This one had sriracha for the kick.

I was too tired to take photos but it was a good meal. Tofu for the win. Lol

Kung Pao Tofu.jpg
Oops , here's the photo. Yess tofu forever, sakit nga lang sa sakong lol

Is this the one we ate yesterday? Super lami!

Hi Kim, quite similar. We had Vegan Tofu Humba yesterday with pineapples as well but with banana blossom, star anise and bay leaves along with Vegan Pad Thai. So happy you enjoyed it 😁 Will try to feature these two recipes as part of Tofu series next time.

Yay! They're so good! Btw, thank you for the dinner. Grabe! Busog na busog.

We're super busog as well. I'm so happy I finally got to hear you and @indayclara sing for an impromptu karaoke night 😄 Thanks for the awesome company this evening. We all had a great time.

As a person. 😂

😂😂🤣

hmm yummy 🤤🤤

Hello @opick, thank you, I'm glad you liked it.

@discoveringarni You're welcome, you really are a talented woman, able to give me good food. 🤤🤤

Hoi alami ana ui. Try nya na nko next week.

So cool to hear you're going to try it 😀

Already screenshot the blog for reference. Heheehe

It looks delicious!!@discoveringarni. Tomorrow, I'll try this recipe.

Hello @kimloan, yay, looking forward to hearing how it goes. Enjoy and have a delightful meal tomorrow.


The rewards earned on this comment will go directly to the person sharing the post on Twitter as long as they are registered with @poshtoken. Sign up at https://hiveposh.com.

Congratulations @discoveringarni! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s):

You got more than 3250 replies.
Your next target is to reach 3500 replies.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

Hive Power Up Month - Feedback from Day 21