You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Hive Creative Contest - Smashing Stir-fry in a Flash

You make me so hungry @lizelle !

If the shops were only open today (in Germany everything is closed on Sundays), I would change my plans immediately and try to cook Stir-Fry. I never did it so far. It was only something to eat when going out. Now it's right up there on my list!

Thank you for your inspiration!

xx
@elenahornfilm 🐠

Sort:  

It really is super easy and quick as you saw in the post, right up my alley when time is of the essence. Are the shops always closed on a Sunday or is it just because of Covid?

Hi! In Germany, shops are closed every Sunday. It's the day everybody should have the chance to spend time with family, instead of working. However, it's increasingly controversial because it really is a Christian tradition to rest on Sundays. What about our Muslim and Jewish citizens who would like to have the Friday or the Saturday off?

However, as a child I always loved the fact that Sunday was always very peaceful and less stressful. My Italian friend who is living in Germany now for 2 years, still says on a Sunday morning: I'll go quickly to the shops and get something for lunch. He is still not used to it. Here you must plan to have enough stuff in the fridge for Sunday :D.

In Berlin, we have one supermarket that got permission to stay open on Sundays. The corner shops in the area could not cope with the demand of people coming into the area for the nightlife. But this is the absolute exception.

Everything is always open around your area? Also now during Covid?

xx
@elenahornfilm 🐠

I think that's an excellent tradition as it forces one to slow down!
Our food stores were open every day till around 8pm, I think now during Covid with our strict curfew, they close a little earlier. Some pharmacies and other stores are also open on Sundays but only till around 2pm.
In the large shopping malls they stay open later.
We still avoid going shopping now with this second Covid peak but generally keep Sundays for outings to the beach or just to relax at home.
Have a great week @elenahornfilm :)

I would love to go to the beach now. It's on the top of my list for post-lockdown-time :)