A #BeautifulSunday entry! Pork Belly Curry Rice at Tanglin Mall

in Foodies Bee Hive β€’ 5 months ago (edited)

It's been a while since I was at Tanglin Mall, so I thought it would be interesting to see what we could find there. I used to visit this place at least once a month because of my favorite restaurant Eggs & Berries. When Eggs & Berries closed down a few years back, I had no other reason to return to Tanglin Mall.

The reason why I'm visiting it now is because it is the only shopping mall that is nearest to the Singapore Botanic Gardens. I want to take my lunch here before I go to the gardens. Although there are restaurants inside the Botanic Gardens, I prefer to eat here in the mall because there are more affordable options to choose from.

There are Western-style and buffet-style restaurants but since their prices are out of my budget, I decided to go to the basement level to see if there is a foodcourt where I can dine. I found this new food place called SG Hawker. They serve local dishes at a very good price. I ordered the Pork Belly Curry Rice.

IMG_3604.jpg


Before I talk about the food, let me give you a glimpse of Tanglin Mall from the outside.

IMG_3596.jpg

This mall is located within the intersections of Tanglin Road, Napier Road, Nassim Hill Road, and Orchard Boulevard which is considered to be the location for the prime properties of Singapore. Near this mall are embassies, international councils, and even Interpol which is why it's understandable that everything in this mall is more expensive than the rest.

IMG_3597.jpg

Like any other mall, they also have their own Christmas theme displays near the entrance of the building.

IMG_3598.jpg


What's surprising is that I found a budget-friendly restaurant inside this mall. I've got a reason for going back to this place again.

So, the name of this restaurant is SG Hawker which is catchy. From the name itself, I already know that they are serving local dishes that are affordable as well. It turns out that I was right because the prices range from S$5.50 to S$6.50 which is considered to be a really good price for an air-conditioned restaurant.

IMG_3599.jpg

IMG_3600.jpg

IMG_3602.jpg

I was choosing between the noodle dish and the curry dish, eventually, I decided to go for the Pork Belly version of the curry rice.

IMG_3605.jpg

I saw one of the Pork Belly dishes that was served to a customer and it looked good so I gave in to it.

IMG_3606.jpg

IMG_3608.jpg

IMG_3607.jpg

The pork belly was braised to perfection! It was tender and it was moist. The skin has a jelly-like texture to it that I liked as well. There's nothing to complain about this dish especially since the price is so affordable. The curry is a typical Chinese-style sauce that tastes subtle, and a little salty, and it has a hint of sweetness to it. It's the kind of curry that anyone can eat because it isn't spicy at all.

They also added a black sauce over the dish which gave this dish an extra sweetness. I think that the black sauce has a hint of caramel flavor; it tastes like a caramelized sweet soy sauce.


After this meal, I went to the Coldstorage grocery store and bought some of their baked goods. I got myself a Chocolate-filled Donut and a Cheese Lattice Puff Pastry.

IMG_3609.jpg

These two pieces of bread are a bit expensive and they cost the same as my lunch πŸ˜…. I like the donut more than the cheese lattice even though it is cheaper. For sure, I will come back for these donuts!

IMG_3610.jpg

IMG_3611.jpg

IMG_3612.jpg

IMG_3613.jpg


image.png


My journey to the world of food.



image.png

Sort: Β 

Definitely a more pricey option food court in town but still cheaper than the restaurant.
The Christmas decoration looks good enough. I should go check it out too.

Indeed. I saw a nice buffet style restaurant at ground floor of Tanglin Mall, food looks good and the ambience is nice as well.

too bad i not really buffet person nowadays.

πŸ˜…πŸ˜… same here. but sometimes I eat a lot πŸ˜‚

I'll rather eat a few things in the food centre or food court when I'm hungry. 😎

The food looks yummy, as well as those breads 😊

It is… but it’s sinful πŸ˜…

πŸ©πŸ˜‹πŸ€€

The bread looks so tasty and yummy πŸ€—

It is πŸ€€πŸ˜‹ especially the choco-filled donut 🍩 🀩

Congratulations, your post has been added to Pinmapple! πŸŽ‰πŸ₯³πŸ

Did you know you have your own profile map?
And every post has their own map too!

Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Pinmapple
  • Click the get code button
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post (Hive only)
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!


Want to Know more about Hivepakistan?

Ping Us On Hive Pakistan Discord server

To support HivePakistan, delegate Hive Power to hivepakistan and earn 90% curation reward :)

Here are some handy links for delegation


| 50 HP | 100 HP |500 HP | 1000 HP | 5000 HP | 10000 HP | 20000 HP |

A delegation of 500 or more HP makes you earn Hivepakistan supporter badge.

Uuh I love pork belly the dish look so yummy πŸ˜‹πŸ˜‹πŸ˜‹