I found the most affordable Mutton Briyani in the city!

in Foodies Bee Hive • last month

I have tried quite a few Briyani shops and I haven’t seen it priced at S$4.50 until last night. I thought I made a wrong interpretation of the sign board but I wasn’t. How cool!


The Old Airport Road Food center was closed for a few days and this night was the first time that I dined in this place after it re-opened. Lately, I noticed that the local government has been encouraging food centers to conduct a thorough cleaning to make sure to sanitize the place for the customers' safety.

After a few minutes of scouting for another stall for me to check, I found this Briyani shop that sells food at a very good price. The price is so good that I thought the signboard was out of date.

I gave the Mutton Briyani a chance because it is supposed to be the most expensive item on the menu.

Because of its affordable price, I was expecting that the service would be much lower than the other shops that I tried before. Surprisingly, the servings are more generous... how's it even possible???

In this order, I got myself a good amount of Briyani rice, mutton curry, fried egg, and a complimentary salad as well.

The serving style of this stall is like a Teochew-style mix of veggie rice where most of the dishes are pre-cooked. All of the dishes are displayed and it's up to the customer on how many other dishes they want to add to the plate. Of course, the more items you order will also mean that the bill will go higher too.


The Mama Briyani Rice stall will now be on my mind whenever I crave a nice and affordable Briyani meal.

On my next visit, I will give the fish curry a try. Now, I'm excited to return for more!


My journey to the world of food.



image.png