My first try of San Tong's Pork Ribs Steamed Soup

in Foodies Bee Hive β€’ last month

The Old Airport Food Centre was closed for today for thorough sanitation. Nowadays, it's quite common that the food centers are being temporarily closed down to be clean. I think this is a good standard to uphold to ensure that no pests will thrive. There have been posts on social media where people are complaining about finding roaches in the surroundings of the food centers. For a place that is exposed to the outside and is open for pests to find food then food centers will attract them.

Since the food center was closed then I was left with no option but to find another spot to find a meal.

Next to the famous food center is another spot that is lesser-known but still a good option for nice food. I found a good place that serves steamed soup and it's called San Tong.

IMG_8941.JPG

The best thing about this shop is that the prices are much cheaper than most of the hawker stalls.

IMG_8942.JPG

I guess that's the reason why people are queuing as well.

IMG_8945.JPG

For tonight, I ordered the Pork Ribs with Lotus Root.

IMG_8943.jpg

A price of S$3.50 for a nice bowl of pork ribs is a good deal. The obvious reason why they can lower the price is because the type of cut that they use in this dish is the cheap kind. Even though it's a cheap cut, the taste is still very good. And since it's steamed then the meat is perfectly tender too.

IMG_8948.JPG

Usually, I order the version with watercress but for tonight it wasn't available so I went for the one with lotus roots. It's my 1st time to try this version so I'm not expecting something fantastic.

IMG_8946.jpg

IMG_8947.JPG

IMG_8949.JPG

IMG_8952.JPG

I'm sure that I will keep coming back to this hawker stall for satisfying food at a good deal.

IMG_8950.JPG


My journey to the world of food.



image.png