Happy Pi Day!!!

in Foodies Bee Hive2 years ago

IMG_4828 (2).jpg

Pi, the infinite number of awesomeness. A number of circumference calculating greatness! A constant presence in all our lives. Okay, I am sorry, I nerded out there.

Seriously though, a few years ago my friends and I started a tradition of meeting up on Pi day to eat pies. Pi Day (3-14) has been a thing since physicist Larry Shaw held the first one back in 1988 at the San Francisco Exploratorium. In my realm it has been a food feastival celebrating that round pastry of gloriousness for at least five years.

Our first few Pi Day Pie Days events were all sweet pie celebrations. This year we mixed it up a bit and included savory pies in the mix. My pancreas approved of this move. I don't even eat sugar more than once or twice a week, so Pi day is a special treat indeed!

With actual Pi day falling on a Monday and with all of us having kids in school still, we decided to meet the day before Pi Day for our festivities. That meant this past Saturday I was in full Pi Day Pie baking mode.

Now, I have a friend whose favorite food is gas station food. I am not joking. His dream is to have one of those little hot dog rotisserie's that are present in gas station convenience stores. In his honor, I crafted a pie I gleefully named: Truck Stop Pie.

IMG_4811.jpg

I started my pie with, no nutrient or real food value whatsoever, journey by crushing some Oreos in my food processor. After adding some melted butter to the Oreo crumbs, I pressed the sweet crumbles into a pie plate and moved on to the next step in processed food greatness.

IMG_4813.jpg

I spread hot fudge in the bottom of the cookie crust. I then popped that crust of excellence into the freezer while I whipped up some chocolate cream filling, a filling of pudding, whipping cream, and milk lusciousness.

IMG_4815.jpg


IMG_4817.jpg


IMG_4819.jpg

After getting the faux mousse whipped up, I spread it in the chilled crust and added a coat of extra creamy whipped topping to the top. To finish off the pie I roughly chopped some more Oreos and sprinkled them on top before topping the entire thing in some not so artful flourishes of more hot fudge.

IMG_4827.jpg

Like I said, a pie completely devoid of nutritional value, but oh so indulgent.

IMG_4820 (1).jpg


IMG_4821 (1).jpg

My other pie offering was a caramel apple pie. I have a no roll pie crust recipe that I swear by, and I whipped that up, filled it with spiced, floured, and sugared apple slices, and added a toasted walnut oat crumble to the mix.

IMG_4822.jpg


IMG_4824.jpg

After baking that beauty for 50 minutes or so, I removed the very pretty pie from the oven and drizzled caramel over the top. Lots of drizzle in the air round these parts, maybe I was just matching the inside to the outside, we definitely have some spring weather going on...

IMG_4830.jpg

Anyway, the hubs decided to add the savory addition to Pi Day festivities from our household and made a Shepherd's Pie that had the most glorious home grown garlic mashed potatoes topping.

IMG_4835.jpg

Upon arriving at our friend's house, we were greeted with more pies than was Christian. Like seriously, the amount of pies was beyond glorious, I am pretty sure I heard an angelic chorus as we all set our pies down. Nope, that was pancreatic screeching....

IMG_4837.jpg

In addition to our pies, we had a pecan, cookies and cream, creme brulee (that my hubs torched right before we ate them), a Dutch oven peach cobbler made with home canned peaches, a gigantic chicken pot pie, and a random assortment of Dominos Pizzas. It was a scene of comestible beauty.

IMG_4839.jpg

Having participated in Pi Day Pie day before, I learned the hard way to take petite slices of everything since I wanted to be able to taste it all without dying. Even still I was feeling a bit beyond comfortably sated once we finished noshing, but all those calories came in handy as we discovered a leak under the kitchen sink and Pi Day devolved into Plumbing Day which included a run to the hardware store by the teenagers present to get a new fitting for the split from freezing in a building that was heated but had old school plumbing extravaganza that unfolded.

IMG_4840 (2).jpg

It was a good day.


And if anyone feels like indulging in something super tasty but not at all good for you, I present:

Truck Stop Pie

25 Oreo sandwich cookies
4 Tablespoons melted butter
1/4 cup Mrs. Richardson's Hot Fudge
1 big box instant chocolate pudding
1 1/2 cups whipping cream
1 1/4 cup milk
1 small tub extra creamy whipped topping
6-8 Oreo cookies, roughly chopped
2-4 Tablespoons hot fudge

In a food processor, pulse Oreos until finely crumbled. Add crumbs to melted butter, mix, and press into a pie plate.

Heat hot fudge and spread 1/4 cup (or more) into bottom of the crust. Pop in the freezer while you are whipping up the chocolate pudding filling.

In a mixing bowl, add pudding mix, whipping cream, and milk. Beat until fluffy and spread into cookie crust.

Next, top the pudding with thawed whipped topping, then sprinkle chopped cookies on top. Finally drizzle more hot fudge over the cookies.

Chill until ready to serve and watch the pie disappear!


And as most of the time, all of the images in this post were taken on the author's non-circular and not going to Pi about it iPhone.


Sort:  

This one looks 3.14159 out of 3 in terms of deliciousness.

Yessssss! LOL! Thank you!

frickin YUM! @generikat

untitled.gif

That GIF, @jimmy.adames, is a thing of beauty!🤣

The first one looks as good as the damage it would make to my abs 🤣
Damn, I'm hungry now 🤤🤤

LOL! That pie would definitely make one's abs resemble it in real life lol lol!

Sorry for the hungry feelz 😁

This looks so!! good and delicious also 😋

Thank you! Hope you found yourself a slice of pie somewhere!

Omg. All I can say is thanks to the wife for having chocolate cake with boiled frosting in the fridge 😋. After reading your post, and that first pie, oh my. Off for a piece of cake. Lol.

!BBH

!ALIVE

Oh YUM! My grandma makes a cake like that! I'm glad she made that for you too, lol!

!PIZZA

@generikat! You Are Alive so I just staked 0.1 $ALIVE to your account on behalf of @bradleyarrow. (1/30)

The tip has been paid for by the We Are Alive Tribe through the earnings on @alive.chat, feel free to swing by our daily chat any time you want.

Love your Foodie post!

Yum! You have been curated @taco.cat on behalf of FoodiesUnite.net on #Hive. Thanks for using the #foodie tag. We are a tribe for the Foodie community with a unique approach to content and community and we are here on #Hive.

Join the foodie fun! We've given you a FOODIE boost. Come check it out at @foodiesunite for the latest community updates. Spread your gastronomic delights on and claim your tokens.

Join and Post through the Community and you can earn a FOODIE reward.

Banner_followBHcommentsize.png

Aww, @taco.cat, you are the bestest!! Thank you!

Your content has been voted as a part of Encouragement program. Keep up the good work!

Use Ecency daily to boost your growth on platform!

Support Ecency
Vote for new Proposal
Delegate HP and earn more

Thank you @ecency! You seriously rock!

WOW! This was a major insulin fest. It looks awesome.

It sure was LOL! We all survived, I think the little impromptu after pie stroll we went on helped😊

Thanks!

I love anything with oreos in it 🤤 !PIZZA

Oreos really are a great building block for comestible awesomeness! Hope you found yourself some lol! !PIZZA

I will have to have day old pie day:)

It totally still counts! Plus, it's the ides of March so you can have a combo Shakespeare Caeser Post Pie Day Festival! It could be fun!

I have been living the Shakespeare for a few days:) But the Scottish play:)

Oh MacNO! lol! Hope all is going splendidly today😊

It's funny ... I had just finished posting the tomorrow, tomorrow soliloquy and the podcast I had on mentioned it and then when I went onto twitter by poetry friend quoted the witches and then so did Elon Musk ... but that was a few days ago. I say to Mid Summer now ... bring on the fairy dust and forest romps:)

I'm gonna need that no-roll pie crust recipe, too. I have leftover chicken to turn into something like a shepherd's pie crossed with a pot pie.

No roll pie crust is lit Bruh! No Roll Pie Crust

I just leave out the sugar for savory pie time. It's great!

And your pie sounds like a starchtastic gloriousness that I want to ingest.

!PIZZA

It served most satisfactorily! Look for a post on the topic soon!

It looks delicious and I am feeling hungry even though it's almost bedtime.

Oh no! I did not mean to sabotage bedtime with stomach grumblings! Hopefully you powered through(or got a snack lol!)

Yummy, yummy...

Happy pi day and a lot of pies to celebrate the day.

All of them look delicious!

Came through #Listnerds

untitled.gif

Thank you so much!

I still might be full from Sunday ha ha!

Wow, you guys did it up GOOD! haha
no pie, here, sadly :(

Noooooooo! I am so sorry! Hopefully today you found some pie? No one needs to be in a pie deficit, that's a tragedy!

haha. Here's the convo I had with Hubby.
Him: It's Pi day! Me: I only like chocolate or coconut cream...or lemon.
Later that day, Him: Oh we never got pie! Me: I specifically told you what kind to get!
haha I'm more of a cake girl anyway ;)

LOL!!

As a fellow cake girl, I totally get it! My problem is that I live in a house full of lovers of pies. I'm outnumbered!

That convo was gold 😂

I prefer use Aiguebelle because it's pure chocolate, Oreo is more sugary. But it's very delicious 😋

Not gonna lie, I had to look up Aiguebelle, um, YUM!

Oreo's are definitely a sugar fest! Once in a great while I enjoy them though lol!

All the pies look so good and yummy. I hope you all had fun tastings all the pies. Hope no one got a tummy ache. LOL

Thank you so much! We had a blast tasting all of them, and I haven't had any reports of tummy trouble so it's been a double win!!

The pies look beautiful and delicious, well-done.

Thank you so much! They were very yummy! Hope you got a piece of pie in honor of Pi Day!

Thanks a lot, enjoying it.

I think I gained a pound just reading about the Truck Stop Pie! What an invention! I had forgotten today is Pi day, but there was some talk about Chicken Pot Pies later today. We'll see if it happens.

LOL! Well, I know I probably gained a pound eating it! It's most likely dangerous to gaze upon even lol!

I hope you get those Chicken Pot Pies! JT was talking about making personal serving sized ones:)

Oh MY GOD. What is this? I need it. But i'm go to make it with my own cookies 🤯

Oh that sounds so yummy! I love making cookie crusts, and homemade is always the best!!!

LOL, and thanks for stopping by😊

Beautiful 3.14 I wish I could have a slice! Eight slices would be .3925 each!
!ALIVE

@generikat! You Are Alive so I just staked 0.1 $ALIVE to your account on behalf of @ironshield. (6/10)

The tip has been paid for by the We Are Alive Tribe through the earnings on @alive.chat, feel free to swing by our daily chat any time you want.

Ah! Yes! I knew a math enthusiast would pop in! I would so give you a big ol slice of one of those pies lol!

!PIZZA

Your Truck Stop Pie but I am not a chocolate lover so it is not for me. I am goint to reblog it so others can enjoy it.

Aww, @rcaine, that was right nice of ya! Now I am super curious what type of pie is your favorite?

Happy Pi DAY!

Although I'm so behind on commenting, I HAD TO come and say YUMMMM here after seeing these pictures.. gosh.. so delish!

Happy Pi Day right back at ya!!

And thank you so much! I totally get feeling like you're behind on comments, but you are crushing it! I wish I could give you a huge piece of fortifying pie!😊

Looks like it could have caused some stomach issues through all these delicious pies there!
Did you manage? :)

I have seen and voted on all your emails even though I haven't commented! Hopefully, in a few days, I have some more time to write and sit down to comment as well.

Your support is appreciated and wishing you a lovely day!

Thank you so much! I appreciate your support a lot! Especially considering the fact that you are getting ready to move to Spain!

I upvote every email/post of yours I come across, but that's a given because you produce really excellent content and I will get to commenting on your posts that I have missed soon.

And LOL! If we could only get paid for positive, encouraging thoughts you and I would be Elon Musk level wealthy lol lol!

Oh, and no stomach aches, I didn't over do it in the pie ingesting department (fasted before gorging lol!)

Hope your day is going splendidly!

Because this is such an awesome post, here is a BBH Tip for you. . Keep up the fantastic work


The rewards earned on this comment will go directly to the person sharing the post on Twitter as long as they are registered with @poshtoken. Sign up at https://hiveposh.com.

PIZZA! PIZZA! PIZZA! PIZZA! PIZZA!

PIZZA Holders sent $PIZZA tips in this post's comments:
opinizeunltd tipped generikat (x1)
generikat tipped bradleyarrow (x1)
@generikat(7/10) tipped @jacobtothe (x1)
generikat tipped opinizeunltd (x1)
generikat tipped ironshield (x1)

Please vote for pizza.witness!