You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The Raw Milk Ice Cream Experiment

in Foodies Bee Hive3 years ago (edited)

I will try to alleviate the confusion!

In Idaho raw milk dairies are legal, mind you they have to be permitted, but you can buy raw milk at our local grocery stores. The milk I used in this recipe was a gift Though, so no worries on that front.

In ice cream you want a higher cream to milk ratio, 12 cups of cream to 3 cups a milk, which is why I separated my milk, just using the unseparated cream alone wouldn’t be a high enough butterfat content for the creaminess of ice cream that I desire. It takes a lot of milk to get 3 cups of cream, so adding 6 cups of non cream separated milk wouldn’t be the same fat to milk ratio.

I’m super sure you can make ice cream with whole milk right from the cow, I’ve even done it with goat milk, but this particular recipe is me trying to achieve the most creamy, scoopable ice cream possible, i.e. no milk crystals, hence all the fat!

And I wish you could drop by for game night too @jerrytsuseer, there’d be a sundae with your name on it:)!

Sort:  

Yum! My only real confusion was the three cups cream, 3 cups milk, seemed weird, but I get it.
Thanks for the explanation, and I will take that as an invitation, not that I'll ever be even close to wherever it is you live @generikat

image.png