You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The Raw Milk Ice Cream Experiment

in Foodies Bee Hive ā€¢ 3 years ago

I'm confused.šŸ˜•
Well, first as far as I know getting raw milk is illegal, at least to buy or sell it.
So you separated the cream and the milk, then you add equal parts of cream and milk back together? Seems counterintuitive.
Now mind you, I am not the milk police, nor am I criticizing, just curious.
Homemade Ice Cream was the best growing up, and at first when we moved to the woods, we had our own cow, made our own butter, but I was a child and my older siblings quickly left, so then the cow went also.
I remember a few times mama making something in a pot on the stove that ended up as Ice Cream, but for the most part, I thought she just threw milk, eggs sugar and vanilla flavoring into the mix and we churned it (boy was I glad when we got an electric churn) but sitting there adding ice and rock salt was tedious.
I wish I were there are your next game night @generikat

ā†‘Upvotedā†‘ and ā†Rebloggedā†’


Sort: Ā 
Ā 3 years agoĀ (edited)Ā 

I will try to alleviate the confusion!

In Idaho raw milk dairies are legal, mind you they have to be permitted, but you can buy raw milk at our local grocery stores. The milk I used in this recipe was a gift Though, so no worries on that front.

In ice cream you want a higher cream to milk ratio, 12 cups of cream to 3 cups a milk, which is why I separated my milk, just using the unseparated cream alone wouldnā€™t be a high enough butterfat content for the creaminess of ice cream that I desire. It takes a lot of milk to get 3 cups of cream, so adding 6 cups of non cream separated milk wouldnā€™t be the same fat to milk ratio.

Iā€™m super sure you can make ice cream with whole milk right from the cow, Iā€™ve even done it with goat milk, but this particular recipe is me trying to achieve the most creamy, scoopable ice cream possible, i.e. no milk crystals, hence all the fat!

And I wish you could drop by for game night too @jerrytsuseer, thereā€™d be a sundae with your name on it:)!

Yum! My only real confusion was the three cups cream, 3 cups milk, seemed weird, but I get it.
Thanks for the explanation, and I will take that as an invitation, not that I'll ever be even close to wherever it is you live @generikat

image.png