How to make Tamagoyaki (rolled omelette) for bento/ お弁当用の卵焼き(English&Japanese)

in Foodies Bee Hive5 months ago (edited)

(日本語は後半にあります)

【English】

Tamagoyaki for bento

Today my elder son has a social studies field trip at school and is taking a bus to another prefecture. He is going to visit a factory of a major Japanese food and confectionery company. Since he needed to pack a lunch (bento), I woke up a little early in the morning to make it.



In this post, I would like to share how to cook tamagoyaki. Tamagoyaki (rolled omelet) is a fairly common bento side dish in Japan, but how about in your country?


Ingredients

・3 eggs
・6 teaspoons sugar
・2 sprinkles of salt
・1 teaspoon salad oil



You can also use a regular round frying pan, but a square egg pan will make it easier.


STEP 1

Put all the ingredients in a bowl.




Note that 6 teaspoons of sugar for 3 eggs is quite sweet. I used this amount because it is a lunch box for children, but if you want to reduce the sweetness, you can reduce the amount to 4 to 5 teaspoons.


STEP2

Mix ingredients with a whisk. Instead of beating the eggs with chopsticks, it is better to mix them with a whisk to get a fluffy omelet. Whisk well!





STEP3

Heat up an egg pan and oil it. Please forgive that the stove is a little dirty... lol😂 I didn't clean it.



Spread the oil with kitchen paper.


STEP4

When the egg pan is hot, pour in the egg mixture. Spread it over the entire pan, and pour it in the first time so that it is about 2mm thick.




STEP5

When the back side and edges of the eggs are cooked, use chopsticks to roll them up a little at a time.



Start rounding before the surface is browned! This is because once they are cooked, they will not stick together even if you roll them up. Even if it shreds a little, don't worry about it because this part is where it will eventually be hidden and not visible😉


STEP6

Pour half of the first amount of egg mixture into the empty space. Adjust thickness so that it is as thin as crepe batter.



Use low to medium heat. If the heat is too high, it will burn quickly!😨


STEP7

As before, roll the fish with rapeseed chopsticks before it is fully cooked. Repeat this 4-5 times until all the ingredients in the bowl are gone.




STEP8

When done, transfer to a cutting board and cut into bite-size pieces.




My elder son loves these tamagoyaki so much that I end up putting about three in the box!




We All Love Tamagoyaki😊

Most of the bento I make are always the same as usual. My son has no problem with it because he prefers "the same as usual" things. Fried chicken, sausage, shrimp shaomai, broccoli,mini tomatoes, and this tamagoyaki as side dishes and 2 rice balls with salt and nori seaweed. Of these, the fried chicken and shrimp shaomai were just microwaved frozen foods. However, I always cook only tamagoyaki properly.



My mother's tamagoyaki is also delicious. I have cooked them quite a few times, but they are still not as good as hers.








【Japanese】

お弁当用の卵焼き

今日は長男が学校の社会科見学で、バスに乗り他県まで行っています。日本の大手食品・製菓会社の工場を見学するとのこと。お弁当が必要だったので、朝少しだけ早起きして作りました。

この記事では、卵焼きの焼き方をシェアしたいと思います。


材料

・卵3つ
・砂糖小さじ6
・塩2振り
・サラダ油小さじ1



なお普通の丸いフライパンでも作ることはできますが、四角い卵焼きパンがあるとより簡単に作れます。


STEP1

材料を全てボウルに入れます。




卵3個に対して砂糖小さじ6はかなり甘めです。子ども用のお弁当ということもありこの分量で作りましたが、甘さを控えめにしたい場合は小さじ4~5程度に減らすと良いと思います。


STEP2

材料を泡立て器で混ぜる。箸で卵を溶くのではなく、泡立て器で混ぜた方がふんわりとした卵焼きになるような気がします。よーく混ぜてください。





STEP3

卵焼きパンを温め、油をひく。コンロが汚いのはゆるして!笑
油はキッチンペーパーなどで広げます。





STEP4

卵焼きパンが温まったら、卵を流し入れます。全体に広げ、1回目は2ミリの厚みが出る程度の材料を流し入れます。




STEP5

卵の裏面や端が焼けてきたら、菜箸で少しずつ丸めていく。表面にまだ火が通る前に丸めはじめましょう!焼けてしまうと、丸めてもくっつかなくなってしまうためです。



多少千切れても、この部分は最終的に隠れて見えなくなる場所なので気にしなくても大丈夫です。


STEP6

あいた部分に、今度は先ほどの半量程度の卵を流し入れます。クレープの生地程度の薄さでになるよう調整してください。火は弱火〜中火で。火力が強いとあっという間に焦げるので要注意!





STEP7

先ほどと同様、完全に火が通る前に菜箸で巻いていきます。これを4~5回、ボウルの材料が全てなくなるまで繰り返します。




STEP8

出来あがったら、まな板に移して食べやすい大きさに切る。






長男はこの卵焼きが大好きなので、3つくらい入れちゃいます!




みんな大好きな卵焼き

私が作るお弁当の中身は大抵いつも同じです。長男も「いつもと同じ」ものを好む性格なので、問題はないのですが😂

塩と海苔のおにぎり2つと、おかずは卵焼き、鶏のから揚げ、ウインナー、海老シュウマイ、ブロッコリー、ミニトマト。このうち唐揚げと海老シュウマイは冷凍食品をレンジでチンしただけです。

が、卵焼きだけはいつもちゃんと焼いています。



母の卵焼きも美味しいんですよね。形ももっと綺麗だし… 私も結構焼きましたが、母の卵焼きには敵いそうにありません。

Posted Using InLeo Alpha

Sort:  

This looks so yummy
I've bookmarked this post so that I can give a try soon.
Thanks for sharing

Thank you. If you make it, please let me know. You can adjust the sweetness to your liking😍

I'll tag you when I make a post about it

https://inleo.io/threads/go-kyo/re-go-kyo-2j8fltcgp
The rewards earned on this comment will go directly to the people ( go-kyo ) sharing the post on LeoThreads,LikeTu,dBuzz.

Wow! this looks so so nice, could you please send some to me Ma'am😊😊

Haha, you can make it if you have eggs and sugar!
You can use a regular round frying pan😃

looks good. can't wait to have a gf to make this for me jk jk. xD anyways this is nice and your son is lucky to have a great mom that knows how to cook :D

Actually, I'm not much of a cook. So I can't make anything elaborate. I can manage to make this, though.
I hope your girlfriend can make it for you!

o.o i dont have a gf but thanks :P. its good still able to make this is stlil bette rthan nothing

I always wanted to learn how to do it properly. I will be experimenting ☺️ Thanks for share it! ✨♥️

It's a little tricky, but if you pour the egg mixture into a thin layer and roll it many times, it will be delicious! Give it a try.

Can you please list what else is in the box? I wan to recreate the same exact bento box for my kid. Please :)

Ok, fried chicken, boiled broccoli, mini tomatoes, grilled sausage, shrimp shaomai, and this Tamagoyaki.
The fried chicken and shrimp shaomai are frozen foods!

Thank you. i will try that.

Tamagoyaki is always perfect for bento. And healthy intake for sure 😊

I agree! It adds color and I always put this in my bento. Everyone in my family loves it😉

My husband always ask me to made omelette for breakfast. If I have tamagoyaki pan, for sure I Will Made it too 😊

You can make it in a round pan, but the ends don't form a nice shape😂
If you get a Tamagoyaki pan, you should definitely try it!

This is nice. I am going to try this for my son.

Thank you! If you make it, please post it😍

Welcome 😊

四角いフライパン…日本に帰る度に買って帰ろうと思うのですが、いつも忘れるアイテムです😅
卵焼きは最近作らないなぁと思ったら、最近日本のお弁当を作らなくなってました(ゴメンよ次女ちゃんw)
反省です😅

何というか、日本的なアイテムですよね…
私は特定の目的用の調理器具(1つか2つしか用途がないようなやつ)はほとんど買わないのですが、卵焼きパンだけは買っちゃいます😅

日本はお弁当に凝るお母さんが多いですよね。私はもう毎回同じですw