Some Companies Ruin Their Own Great Food Products.....

in Foodies Bee Hivelast year (edited)

Welcome Back !

I'm posting a box of cereal??? ha ha... yes, but you'll see why.

Do you have a food item or some items you have loved from the past, whose manufacturer has changed into something you barely recognize now? A product that is no longer good and barely a hint of what it use to be when you use to love it ?

I have multiple food items like that, so today I am sharing this one. I know the companies are trying to keep the costs down and all that, but when a product was great to begin with and they sold very well, do they really think their buyers won't notice? Do they really think their long time buyers will still like it? I mean, you can't change it and leave it the same, it's just not possible.

When I was growing up my wonderful traditional Mom would always get up with us, make sure we had a good breakfast to start the day and she provided a great variety. Sometimes bacon and eggs, sometimes cereal, sometimes cheesy toast, pancakes, waffles and etc. As kids, we DID love cereal of many kinds, so we never minded having a bowl of that and there was nearly always several kinds to choose from.

As an adult, cereal just hasn't been one of my things really. I don't know why. I don't hate it, but I am just not drawn to it much. Once in a while I will grab a small cup of the frosted flakes and eat them dry. They are more like a snack that way, crunchy and sweet. A bunch of years back, somehow my brother Mark got me onto this Banana Nut Crunch cereal. Surprisingly I thought it was really good. I got to where once or twice a year I would buy a box and either eat a bowl for breakfast or supper till it was gone. It was quick and tasty and I could eat it any time. It had nice crunchy flakes and generous amount of crunchy granola clusters and english walnuts. Not just a hint of the two, but enough that they were a great part of a perfect combination.

Food - Banana nut crunch review.jpg

A good number of years back I bought my annual box, but when I went to eat it, it was not right. I wasn't sure exactly why, but for some reason it wasn't nearly as good as it had always been. What ???.... no good... no good at all! BooOOoooOoOoOoooo

A long time later I decided to try it again thinking/hoping that the bag I got previously was a just a sad fluke. Unfortunately, that was not the case and the new box was just as blase as the last.

As you can see here, nearly only flakes and a few almond slices ???? Yes, they traded out most of the walnuts for almonds. Even though it says walnuts on the box, it is a challenge to find small bits of them in the mix. There were a few banana clusters this time, they were bigger than I had ever seen them, so not the same as before either, still there, but not many.

cereal bag flakes and almonds.jpg

For some unknown reason, when I was making out my grocery order on Friday night, I kept wanting some cereal. Not the new, degraded kind, but some good stuff like before. It came to me that I could buy a box for some of the flavor the flakes had that was slightly reminiscent of the old wonderful product and see if I could kick it up a notch (or 20 notches hopefully). I added the box of cereal to my list and then I added a bag of english walnut pieces AND a bag of granola clusters. I wasn't really sure on the clusters as although I do eat a granola bar here and there, I do not usually buy bags of granola or granola clusters. I was taking a risk !

My new order of groceries had arrived around lunch time yesterday with all of these ingredients, so I decided to test out my hopeful theory.

add ingredients.jpg

I poured some of the boring product in the bowl. See ?? 😏 Might as well just be plain cornflakes.

cereal their current version.jpg

Then I added some clusters.

cereal plus clusters.jpg

Then a more appropriate amount of english walnut pieces. Here they are all just sprinkled on the top, so it is not this same proportion throughout the bowl, but I knew it would be enough once it was stirred up.

cereal plus clusters and nuts.jpg

Fortunately for me, these additions were a total saving grace for this cereal. Much closer to the original product.

cereal ready to eat yum yum.jpg

Yum yum.... that was good again. I was happily full and content.... and almost ready to start some chores. (Am I ever really READY for chores???)

I have been frequently disappointed over the last few years about all the food products that used to be so good, but sadly are not worth buying anymore. Have you had some products that you use to love but are now no long the same? Have you ever tried to adjust them to get them back to the goodness they were before? Normally for me, once I find that they are no longer a great product, I just don't buy them anymore.

But hey, life goes on and there will be more good things along the way... right?

I will be heading out to Mom's today for my Sunday visit. She got hungry for a few different things over the last couple of days, so she cooked pork spareribs and some collards (ick) and turnips cooked in the sparerib broth. She called yesterday to say I did not need to bring food in when I come for my Sunday visit. I usually do take food when I go, just for the fun of it. I made some peach cobbler on Friday night, so I will take that for our dessert. I didn't tell her, so it is going to be a surprise.

I hope you are doing well and that not too many of your favorite food products from the past have been changed into a new crappy product !

😂

Love you !

Jacey

Sort:  

Your content has been voted as a part of Encouragement program. Keep up the good work!

Use Ecency daily to boost your growth on platform!

Support Ecency
Vote for new Proposal
Delegate HP and earn more

Thank you ! 💚

Congratulations @jacey.boldart! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain And have been rewarded with New badge(s)

You received more than 35000 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 40000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out our last posts:

Hive Power Up Day - February 1st 2023
The Hive Gamification Proposal
Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!

I like cereal in the morning but I combine a lot of ingredients into it depending on what I have in the house and how active I think I'm going to be. I like to add more nuts into the mix if I think I need more sustained energy. There are a few good cereals on the market but I don't just eat them as they come. Fruit, yogurt, pumpkin seeds, chia seeds and flax seeds are a few of my favorite things to add. I've been enjoying adding cumin to the mix too - I've heard it helps reduce inflammation and I like the taste.

A lot of products are not as nice as they used to be and frankly many cereals were not that nutritious to begin with. I have noticed things changing too.

My Mom eats cereal frequently and she is always adding some sliced bananas or the such. She mostly eats some sort of bran flakes with raisins or shredded wheat. I never really thought a lot about buying a cereal and other ingredients to go with/in it... till now, but I still can't see me doing it very much. That is interesting about adding cumin. Something worth thinking about.

You are totally right about the many cereals that have no nutritional value. Of course I wasn't thinking about that as a kid when I enjoyed a sugary bowl of something. I'm kind of surprised that so many of that type are still on the shelves and apparently selling well in these days when folks are more aware of what's in them.... .and what's not.

I love cereal for diner in the summertime. I find it too cold to enjoy in the winter though. Well it also runs my sugar, even the plain stuff.