The Cure.....

cin roll.jpg

Yesterday I had a dream (if only an imaginary one and during the day)....my Sis bought me a lottery ticket and so I got to spend the afternoon twirling around what I could do with some millions in my head, while I went about my normal business of life.

It seems someone in Illinois was the sole winner of the lottery. I can't imagine what it would be like to be them right now. Stunned disbelief I'm betting, intermingled with a bit of joy and a lot of screaming and jumping around...LOL I realize winning big has been a gift to some and a curse to others, but what would be the fun in entertaining the negative side? We'll pretend it will all go well for them and hope that it does.

20220730_112619.jpg

This morning I needed to go to the Post Office. I had ordered another piece of art and it had been delivered on Thursday, well, it had and it hadn't. The artist had somehow managed to send me the wrong piece, so I was dropping it off to go back. In the mean time she has re-sent the right one.... well... we'll see....LOL.... anyway....

I normally don't get dressed or leave the house till noon at the earliest on Saturdays, because I like to have lazy mornings, sipping coffee, playing on the internet or watching art videos...or something fun like that. Our Post Office here in our small town is only open from 9 am till noon on Saturday and is only open during my working hours during the week, so I got dressed early to go get it done.

It made it a little better when I remembered last night that I still had gift cards left from Christmas for the local biscuit place, so I imagined going there after I dropped off the package and coming home with a delish porkchop biscuit as a reward for getting dressed early. 😂 That didn't quite work out though. I headed to the biscuit shop. It has a great drive-through (most of the times). I was on the opposite side of the road and got in the turn lane to go in, but the line was out to the street, so I waited... and waited.... and while I was waiting, I couple of cars had come from the other direction and partially turned in, blocking not only the drive, but traffic on their side of the road (two lanes on that side, so not totally blocking the whole road). They not only blocked where you would need to turn in for the drive through, but they also blocked the part of the drive where you should have been able to turn in, park and walk inside instead. While sitting there, I noticed only one car coming out after having been served, so obviously something was going wrong inside as they usually get you in and out of the drive through in a very quick time. I decided to leave that plan behind, pulled back into traffic on my side of the road and headed towards home.

Within a few blocks I had another plan, go to DG and see if they had a package of the old style cherry cinnamon buns like there use to be when I was a child. Of course those haven't been anywhere near as good as they were back then for many years, but I thought I could make do. I have seen them at DG many times. I did hesitate knowing I would have to buy a whole package, which I certainly don't need, but still, I headed to DG anyway. The first store didn't have them... phooey... so I went to the second one, which really isn't that far away, because I have two fairly close to my house. When the second one didn't have them either.... wah !..... I was about to head home and carry on with my day without a fun food prize.

Within a few blocks I decided to go to the donut shop instead. Certainly they would have something terrible enough to heal the loss of a lottery dream. I should have gone there right after the biscuit place.

daily outside.jpg

Talk about some mental healing meds ! They've got them all !

donut case.jpg

The only bad thing about this place, is how do you decide which one ???

closeup.jpg

Who are we fooling?? There is no such thing as just getting one.

closeup 2.jpg

OMGoodness.... right ?

closerup 3.jpg

Before I got there I had planned to get one of these fat SINnamon rolls. LOL....and I did. Isn't that beautiful? Eye candy... food art....

cin roll 2.jpg

It seems I also couldn't leave behind one of these maple bacon donuts.

maple bacon.jpg

...and since 3 is better than two, I also bought this beautiful croissant to make a sandwich with later today or tomorrow.. or some time.

croissant.jpg

So I brought the cinnamon roll to my computer desk, cut a wedge and started to download my photos for this post. It shouldn't have taken long, but I took a lot of photos and going through for just the right ones took a while.

cin roll cut.jpg

That was ok though as I had fresh coffee and this divine bun by my side.

I had taken about 3 bites while working along on my post, but at some point stopped and decided this simply wasn't wicked enough for a total healing, so I put it back in it's bag and went back to the kitchen for the maple bacon.

cin roll cut 2.jpg

Ahhhhh... there..... I'm feeling the healing kicking in.

😂

maple bacon cut.jpg

There is only one small bite left on the plate with some icing and bacon crumbs and my fork. I think I will be able to go forward now.

I don't know what else this day has in store for me. A little cleaning up a few things in the house, maybe a little art video watching, maybe some painting, maybe not.... the day is open and I like it that way.

Hope yours is somehow a special one.

Love you ! Mean it !

Jacey

I've never had one of the below pastries, I think it is lemon cream in the inside, but I'm really not sure. If I remember, I think maybe I will try one of these next time. It makes a pretty photo though, doesn't it? mmmMMMMmmmmm

lemon swirl maybe small.jpg

Sort:  

I must admit after our comments yesterday when I heard the winner was in Illinois my first thought was where are you living as I knew me and @dswigle and not from there lol

Now you have me craving fir donuts my favorite is Boston cream

I live in North Carolina !

I have never had a Boston Cream donut, but many years back I did have a slice or two of Boston Cream Pie. It was very yummy with it's gooey filling and topped with chocolate frosting.

I think you should go get one. 😄

Yes that’s the same idea custard cream filled and cheers Chocolate topping

Overly sweet but so good

Maybe tomorrow I will get one

I wanted a Boston Cream, but, someone bought glazed from Crispy Cream, and even though I am a Dunkin Donuts person, I dove right in and enjoyed it!

Next week is our week, JJ!

I never get coffee from Dunkin' but I do love their donuts especially the Boston Cream

I get the Boston Cream from there! Sometimes coffee, but, definitely the donut! :)

👍😎👍

You just made me drool!
That cinnamon roll... my my my...

That last think you said you never had is actually quite popular in Poland (if it's the same.. looks almost the same). The pastry is very similar to the one in cinnamon roll and the filling is either way cheese (like for cheesecakes) or some thick custard. Looks like cheese here. Absolutely delish!

hands you a napkin

ha ha

I was wondering if the last one was a danish of some sort after I posted and that would make sense that the filling would include some sort of cream cheese. I suppose since it was sort of yellowish, lemon came to mind, but it is no telling really. I didn't pay it a lot of attention while I was in the shop since I was focused on the cinnamon bun, but after getting home with my photos, I really liked what I saw. I'll put it on my mental list for next time I go. I really want to try their croissant breakfast sandwiches, so maybe I'll grab one of those pastries when I go.

THanks for stopping over !

Hahah thanks! :)

You should definitely try one. I love that filling!
We also have Danishes with poppy seeds. They are probably not very popular in many countries, if at all. Also good!

I would try the poppy seed ones if I saw them ! Funny how different things are popular in different areas. No telling how that got started.

I am used to seeing different baked goods or recipes for baked goods that partner lemon and poppy seeds, but I rarely see poppy seeds included in any other type of dish or pastry.

Thanks for the curation, I certainly appreciate it.

Wow. Now I didnt even a have ticket, so I dont think I had much of a chance of winning. However, I still am feeling the loss of my dream of coming into millions. Yes after seeing your post, I now realize I need to heal as well!

ha ha

Off to the donut shop !!!

Of course why miss out on all the fun, especially at this stage in the game. I say all the time I prefer to go in the Hunter S Thompson manner:

“Life should not be a journey to the grave with the intention of arriving safely in a pretty and well preserved body, but rather to skid in broadside in a cloud of smoke, thoroughly used up, totally worn out, and loudly proclaiming "Wow! What a Ride!”

I've seen that quote before and I like it !

Manually curated by EwkaW from the @qurator Team. Keep up the good work!

Thank you !! 💜

Lovely selection of pastries. I’d have a cinnammon roll. 😃

They are big enough to share !

They certainly do have a great variety of pastries there.

Thanks for stopping over !

😃Yummy! I noticed you wrote “SINammon”. Lol!

LOL.... I did ! It made me laugh to spell it like that....

Me too! I always expect a laugh from your posts. Lol!

Congratulations @jacey.boldart! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s):

You got more than 7500 replies.
Your next target is to reach 7750 replies.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

Hive Power Up Day - August 1st 2022
Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!

Ohhhhh... sweet stuff!
Yum!

I know ! That is what really counts in life ! ha ha

Can you imagine... if all we had are sour stuff?
Where is the fun in life 😒, huh?
So... give us the sweet stuff 😁🤪, please!!!!
!LADY 😍🌺🤙

View or trade LOH tokens.


@silversaver888, you successfully shared 0.1000 LOH with @jacey.boldart and you earned 0.1000 LOH as tips. (7/30 calls)

Use !LADY command to share LOH! More details available in this post.