Blanching tomatoes

20210819_144208.jpg
I HAD quite an accumulation of ripe and almost ripe tomatoes in my fridge.
I went to quite a bit of trouble growing the damned things, eating some almost every day, but they were (I was afraid) getting close to not being good.
I've blanched tomatoes before, and it is a LOT of trouble.
Plus making the house hot, so this time I moved my operation out to the "Summer Kitchen" (see images above)
I didn't have proper utensils nor containers, but in just a few moments I went from this (more tomatoes, no other veggies)


20210819_094218.jpg

To this:

20210819_144137.jpg

Peels on the left, blanched home grown maters on the right, and just in time too!
It is about to rain again!

"Blanching tomatoes"

by
Jerry E Smith
©8/19/2021
All images are mine




cyktlq.png

Sort:  

I just spent a good hour doing this myself. I spent two days last week doing this and then canning 7 quarts. Hopefully this all gets easier the more often we do it. I don't even eat tomatoes!!!

image.png
Whaddaya mean, You Don't Eat Tomatoes?
Why the heck not? They are so GOOD for you! (less good minus the peels)
All I did was add some basil into the bag with the cut up maters then tossed into the freezer, so I don't think that qualifies as "Canned", I am not set up for that...

Yet

image.png

I'll take shots later. But I canned the damn things, hot packed, boiled filled mason jars in a canner long enough for a seal to form

Today I spread the peeled and quartered pieces out on a sheet pan and put them in the freezer to freeze. I will break them up and put them in a container after they are frozen so that I can pull out a few chunks.

I mean I DON'T EAT TOMATOES except for very fresh and mostly raw in the summer. All this preserving is going to necessitate that I find new ways to eat tomatoes.

OIC!!! I can take fresh maters, stew them served over rice, blended into a tomato sauce (that reminds me, I need to get back out there and cook this spaghetti squash)... oh good lord there are so many ways to eat a good tomato!

I prefer Rose over Blanch

Oh pooh! 99% of folks won't get this ha ha ha 🤣

!discovery 15


This post was shared and voted inside the discord by the curators team of discovery-it
Join our community! hive-193212
Discovery-it is also a Witness, vote for us here
Delegate to us for passive income. Check our 80% fee-back Program

Thank you @stayten and @discovery-it

My pleasure brother, keep being awesome :)