Garlic Prawns, with Udon Noodles

in Foodies Bee Hive2 years ago

I've been trying to use a lot more noodles in my cooking lately, to diversify from the normal potato or rice or pasta, so have been looking over a lot of Asian inspired recipes. Lately, after many meals with Hokkien noodles, I've discovered the glory of the Udon noodle! It's my new favourite and I've been using it in quite a few meals lately.

Today I thought I would splurge and buy some prawns. I normally save prawn-buying for around Christmas time when my son and I will devour 2kg of them for breakfast 🤣 but I really wanted to try using them in cooking for a change.

Normally we buy the pre-cooked ones, peel them, and eat them plain or with a seafood sauce, or sweet chili sauce. Today I bought raw ones for the first time ever and prepared to cook!

(I also learnt that it's so much easier to peel them when they're raw!!)

20220817_141819.jpg

🍜 Ingredients:

  • 3 packets of Udon noodles, for 3 people
  • 500g of raw prawns, peeled and deveined, remove the damned tails
  • 1 red capsicum, sliced thinly
  • 1 green capsicum, sliced thinly
  • 1 carrot, julienned
  • 1 onion, sliced thinly
  • garlic, squished and chopped finely, amount adjusted to your personal garlic enjoyment
  • spring onion, to garnish
    -- chicken stock, a splash (or just water)
    -- soy sauce, a good splash
    -- oyster sauce, a very hefty dollop
    -- sesame oil, a healthy sprinkle
    -- red chili flakes, adjusted to your personal spice tolerance
    -- brown sugar, a very heaped tablespoon or thereabouts

I haven't really given measurements for the sauce ingredients due to my bad habit of "measuring with love."

I wanted the garlic to shine through this, and my family are a pack of garlic lovers, so I literally used an entire bulb (plus a small dollop of jarred minced garlic in the sauce). GARLIC.

The "professional" recipes call for 1 tablespoon of soy sauce and I'm just... that's not enough? We are three people and we like SAUCE, not a mere hint. So... I guess you're the best judge of you and your family. Adjust as needed.

(I wrote "remove the damned tails" for the prawns because I am sick to death of seeing recipes and cooking videos where they leave the prawn tails on. I hate going to a restaurant and ordering a prawn pasta or something and having tails on them when I receive it. WHY!? Remove the damned things! You're ruining the eating experience!!!) — Yes, I am very passionate about my food. 🤣😂

20220817_142216.jpg

Mix sauce ingredients together and set aside.

20220817_180640.jpg

Pour boiling water into a bowl, place noodle-cakes into the water, stir until the noodles have separated, then remove from the bowl. Toss removed noodles with a bit of sesame oil.

You don't want the noodles overcooking and going all soft and bleh. We still need to throw them in the frying pan! Or wok, if you're being authentic. I don't have a wok. Uncle Roger won't be happy.

20220817_180006.jpg

There is probably a quicker, more authentic way of doing this, but this is the first time I have ever cooked prawns and I wanted to make sure I did that properly. So in sesame oil, cook your prawns, being careful not to overcook them.

Cook them on one side for about a minute, then turn them and cook on the other side for another minute. Remove.

20220817_180528.jpg

With another splash of sesame oil, throw in your garlic and vegetables and toss around for a couple of minutes. Then add your already-combined-and-ready sauce.

Toss around a bit more.

20220817_181013.jpg

Add your noodles and prawns and toss around until your noodles are nicely coloured.

Add your spring onion and mix through until everything is well-combined.

20220817_181502.jpg

 

Serve and devour and enjoy! 😊

 

Until next time! 🍤

 


 

All photos in this post are courtesy of me, @kaelci and were taken with my Samsung Galaxy S21.

Sort:  

My wife and I make a meal similar to this, just remove the bell peppers and add copious amounts of Sriracha. We call them Dragon Noodles. 😂

Haha!! I've only recently tried sriracha, and not even proper sriracha but a mixed-with-mayonnaise version (which tastes like super spicy seafood sauce to my unrefined tastebuds). It burnnnssss. I can't even imagine proper sriracha, but I can definitely see why you'd call them dragon noodles! XD XD

Looks good! Yummy!

Thanks! 🙂 xD Would've looked better if I was able to take photos of it during the daylight hours, haha! I started prepping at 4 which was a good time for photos, my partner normally finishes work at 5 so I figured I could use the last of the daylight hours. But no. Didn't finish til 6 yesterday 🤣 I had already written all this up though so non-photogenic food-photos be damned!

Twas yummy though! 😁

That looks super delicious! Great job!

Thanks 🙂 twas delicious! 😁

It looks great, I hope it was pretty good.

It was! Thanks. 🙂 Very garlicky, as it should be!

🤤