You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Rubidos Kitchen Assault Course Episode 2 - Coq Au Vin

in Foodies Bee Hive3 years ago

This looks amazing. I've been in France for two years and have yet to try a proper Coq au vin. I've made it with chicken before but never with an actual rooster and I've only seen it on a menu once but I think I got the duck that day instead.

Sort:  

Duck is a classic down here, Magret, Confit, Gesier. Im sure the locals should probably be sporting feathers at times. Its well worth trying, Chicken works well but I find you have to cook the sauce a lot longer to get the depth of flavor. Roosters However stand up to the cooking well without completely falling apart.

Thanks for stopping by!

Okay good to know.
I forgot to mention, I was surprised when you said that you can use pre-made chicken stock. I didn't know that you could buy it here in France. In Canada you can buy a can or carton of it anywhere you go but I can't find it at any of the grocery stores where I'm at in France - North in the Oise department. Is it a common item or do you need to go to a specialty food store? I'm wondering if maybe it's at the grocery store but I just don't recognize the packaging or something.

I don't know about up north but Locally its called Fond de Volaille. It comes in 3 forms Powder (Avoid it like the plague) , A gelatinous cube you dissolve in boiling water , and in a large Carton or Glass bottle in liquid form. You can also get Mixed Meat Stocks and beef. I.E. Fond de Veau and Fond Noir. Etc.

You can get it down here at the supermarkets, but its easier to get at the small local places and town markets.

Okay cool. Good to know. I'm aware of the cubes and powder. I think of that as boullion rather than stock though which may have a slightly different meaning in English? Boullion to me is like chicken flavor I guess, but I'm mostly looking for the liquid that's like chicken broth soup in a can, jar or carton.