Making Peanut Butter For The First Time With Amazing Results

Making Our Own Healthy Peanut Butter

Peanut Butter! The lovely hearty paste that goes well with jam and bread. I was always curious about it and how it was made. Recently I found out that it was extremely simple and easy to make at home and it would be a perfect thing to try out especially since another lockdown has been issued in my country. So I went out into the grocery and got some raw peanuts, the rest of the ingredients already being in my pantry. The thing about store-bought peanut butter is that there are countless amounts of additives and chemicals that make it more unhealthy than anything else! In this recipe, I use locally sourced organic peanuts, local organic honey and so I know for sure that it is especially healthy and additive free.
DSC_0001.jpg

Ingredients

200g Raw Peanuts
1/2 tbsp Sweetener (honey in my case)
2 tsp flax meal
2 tbsp coconut oil or any neutral oil

DSC_0026.jpg
pngdividerlinesdivider952png950.png

First I took those peanuts and placed them in a nice large baking sheet, spread out nicely. They were then placed in an oven that was preheated to 350F for around ten minutes to become nicely roasted and a bit golden brown. Leave them to cool down before anything else.

DSC_0030.jpg

DSC_0034.jpg
The roasted peanuts were then thrown into the food processor (you can use a blender as well). Pulse the peanuts around three times to break them up a little before adding the oil and the honey. Once the aforementioned ingredients have been added, process the peanut mixture until a paste.

DSC_0037.jpg

DSC_0086.jpg

As you go along, stop the processing, take a spatula or spoon to scoop the coarser less broken down peanuts at the bottom and the sides and position them in the middle. This ensures the same consistency and eliminates unprocessed chunks. You’ll feel like nothing is happening for a while but be patient as you will soon find that peanut butter like texture popping up!

DSC_0094.jpg

Once smooth in consistency, remove from food processor and place in container of choice and place in refrigerator to cool and set.

DSC_0105.jpg
DSC_0107.jpg

I usually like my peanut butter on crackers with a bit of guava jam and so I decided to do a taste test with this. It looked and felt so good and tasted so much better and flavorful than store bought peanut butter! I don’t think I may hesitate again to make my own peanut butter at home, it just may be cheaper as a jar of it costs more than a bag of peanuts, not to mention the healthiness!

DSC_0113.jpg

BANNAHMAN.jpg

Sort:  

looks great!! i'm a peanut butter fan! i have done before just buying regular unsalted peanut on any store and just process it with a little bit of salt and sugar. i wonder why this recipe has flax seed

Just chipping in here, according to a quick Google search I found that according to Manitoba Flax, "The milled flaxseed is incredibly soft and smooth and won’t alter the texture of the even the creamiest nut butters but will help to absorb the natural oils and limit the need to stir. Plus, it adds a natural source of ALA Omega-3s, dietary fiber, and plant-based protein."

great!! thanks!! that's good to know, maybe next time i make pb i'll add it flax seed!

It was my pleasure 😊

Thank you! Glad you like it 😄 Is it much cheaper to do so in your country or it just tastes better?