Beer Bread

in Foodies Bee Hive4 years ago (edited)

IMG_0006xsw.jpg

My Bavarian friends informed me that they refer to beer as liquid bread. So imagine their delight and surprise when I introduced them to beer bread. You can't beat a two for one deal like that!

IMG_0087xsw.jpg

I'm not going to give you an exact recipe, as I am one of those cooks who goes by sight and feeling, never accurately measuring the ingredients. Suffice to say, you can search for such things and find a number of recipes more or less the same.

  • ~ 1/2 bag of flour
  • mixed ground herbs
  • baking powder
  • salt
  • yeast
  • 500 ml beer
  • possibly additional water if too much flour was used

I've done variations on this by mixing in other things such as olives or sheep cheese. Other things such as dried tomatoes would also be a treat.

I usually top the bread with salt and butter before I put in the oven. Grated cheese on the top also adds to the fun.

A cooking pot that is suitable for the oven (no plastic parts or coatings), such as an enamelled pot makes a fine bread form. Simply line the pot with baking paper and pour the dough in. Then add any of the aforementioned toppings.

You can / should let the dough sit for a while so that the yeast does its job and rises, then put it in the oven.

I bake the bread at 200C for... until it smells good and I can see that there is brown crust atop. The trick is leaving it long enough that it cooks through. As mentioned earlier, I cook by feeling.

IMG_9992xsw.jpg

The hardest part of all of this, is trying not to eat it all once it removed from the oven and still warm. It's great on it's own, but suitable to accompany soups, savoury toppings and excellent for picnics.

Enjoy!

Sort:  

Cool!
Love th idea of Beer bread, and that one looks tasty 👍👍👍

Oh it is tasty! 😀

How do people that don't like beer find it? I'm kind of curious but I really don't like beer XD

There's something about fresh bread. I think the bread that my youngest baked on Friday was the first time we didn't lay into the bread the second it was ready and that was purely because due to a timing mishap it was ready earlier than expected (was supposed to be ready for dinner).

I'm not a beer fan myself, yet I enjoy it.

Oh, you're kids are cooking, that's bonus. =)

Good to know for if we ever try it XD

Both my partner and my mother cook like you by the way, it always works out great and is only annoying to people who want the recipe XD

The kids cooking is incredibly useful, mostly it's reduced the amount of times we've had to get takeout if both of us end up being too busy when time to cook dinner rolls around :)

It's great for the kids to learn cooking, it sets them up for greater independence later in life. It is also another artform, another means of creativity, one that you can really sink your teeth into and enjoy. It can also win you new friends and admirers.

"Love enters through the stomach."

looks great! i guess it doesn't need kneading and goes directly to the oven

Hi Fany! No need for kneading. 😀
You can / should let the dough sit for a while so that the yeast does its job and rises, then put it in the oven. I'll update the post with this.

cool! maybe i'll try it soon!

Manually curated by EwkaW from the Qurator Team. Keep up the good work!