You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Cooking at Home. My homemade meat dumplings or Pelmeni / en/ua

They look so mouth watering... I've never tried to make the dough before, I'm afraid it might fall apart. Do you have a good basic recipe?

By the way, how are you doing @zirochka? I guess neither of our postcards turned up in the end? Will have to try again when I go back to Taiwan

Sort:  

Hello @livinguktaiwan! Nice to hear from you :)

First of all, the dough is very simple: flour, egg, milk and salt. Nothing more. First, I sift the flour into a bowl, add salt, then make a pit in flour and add an egg. Then I start to knead it with one hand and adding warm milk with another. I add small amounts of milk until the dough becomes smooth enough. You can always add more milk/water or flour. The main point is to knead it long enough, for 5 minutes minimum, and then let it rest and get fermented (30 minutes). Sometimes I knead it again after "rest". If you will cut the dough you should see bubbles inside of it - that's it.
As a hint, I add a little amount of stevia flour or durum wheat flour, it makes the dough more elastic. I've got it from the first try, and I am sure you can make it too ;o)

So, you didn't get my postcard. That's too bad because I got yours :) Is your address still the same? I think I can send another one when you're back, let's give one more chance to our post )))