Divine Lemony Cheesecake with Passionfruit Coulis

in Foodies Bee Hive3 years ago (edited)

Decadent creamy rich Cheesecake is one of my guilty pleasures, but curiously this is not a modern invention from New York, as many believe since it is the Big Apple's signature dessert.
The original Cheesecake in fact dates back to 2000 B.C. when it was first made on the Greek island of Samos.
Another fascinating fact is that it was served to athletes at the first Olympic Games, so I needn't feel so guilty at all when I over-indulge in this divine dessert as I ALWAYS tend to do!

20210401_093648.jpg

I have tried all kinds of Cheesecakes; unbaked and baked, and the one I'm sharing here is my absolute favourite, a baked Lemon Cheesecake that really is to die for; can be topped with any fruit topping and my favourites are a Pineapple Custard topping or an unstrained Passion Fruit Coulis.

The base is a superlicious fudgy kind made with crushed Coconut tea biscuits (aka Tennis Biscuits) and melted Butter; topped with a creamy, delicate Lemony Cheesecake filling that's been baked for only 10 minutes, and then refrigerated for a couple of hours before serving.

I ALWAYS get to lick the bowl, no one else gets the honours!

Here goes with the recipe which I promised to the super talented @zo3d, a South African who has been making waves here on Hive! Hope you enjoy this one Zoe:)

20210331_175858.jpg

Chef line break.png

Divine Lemony Cheesecake with Passionfruit Coulis

20210331_133542.jpg

Mix together & press into spring-form pan:

  • 1 Packet crushed Tennis Biscuits (200 gram)
  • 100 gram Melted Butter

Mix the following ingredients till well blended:

  • 1 tub creamed Cottage Cheese (I used plain Cream Cheese so had quite a job blending it smooth!)
  • 1 can sweetened Condensed milk
  • 100 ml Lemon Juice
  • Rind of 1 large or 2 medium Lemons

20210331_141738.jpg

20210331_141827.jpg

20210401_113513-ANIMATION.gif

Beat till stiff peaks form then fold into cottage/cream cheese mixture:

  • 200 ml chilled long-life Cream
    (Note: do NOT be tempted to use fresh cream for this recipe & ensure long life cream is well chilled)

Spoon into biscuit base, smooth top and bake at 160°C for only 10 minutes, not longer!

20210331_173539.jpg

Refrigerate for a couple of hours before attempting to remove from spring form pan. Top with any of the following:

Passionfruit Coulis

20210331_152418.jpg

Place in small pot and bring to boil the following:

  • Pulp from 3-4 Passionfruits or Granadillas
  • 50 ml Lemon Juice
  • 100 ml Sugar

Add & bring to the boil to thicken:

  • 50 ml Water mixed till smooth with 1 tsp Custard Powder

20210331_153254.jpg

20210331_173810.jpg

20210331_180558.jpg

20210331_180715~2.jpg

Alternate Pineapple topping
Use same method to make a Pineapple topping, but replace the Passionfruit with 1 grated fresh Pineapple.

BON APPETIT FRIENDS!
Cheesecake trivia source

Liz Signature Jan 21.gif
Banner created by @zord189

Original Content by @lizelle
Thank you for stopping by
Copyright @lizelle – All Rights Reserved
Heart page break.png

Do you know this Badge?
Papilloncharity.png

It says "Thank you for partnering with the Papillon Foundation by participating in the
Weekly Hive Charity Giveaway."

Do you want this Badge?
If you like this badge and if you want to help too, you can learn more about @combination and the badge in their blog post:
Some Exciting News! Badge release!

Hive animated divider 1.gif
Why not join Hive RIGHT HERE and become part of this amazing community!


Banner created by @derangedvisions

Sort:  

Love your Foodie post!

Yum! You have been curated @taco.cat on behalf of FoodiesUnite.net on #Hive. Thanks for using the #foodie tag. We are a tribe for the Foodie community with a unique approach to content and community and we are here on #Hive.

Join the foodie fun! We've given you a FOODIE boost. Come check it out at @foodiesunite for the latest community updates. Spread your gastronomic delights on and claim your tokens.

Join and Post through the Community and you can earn a FOODIE reward.

Banner_followBHcommentsize.png

Thank you so very much @taco.cat and @foodiesunite, really appreciate your support 🤩

My wife is gonna flip! I don't even like lemon cake, but its middle word is "cheesecake" so I would totally make an exception, any day of the week! This is art...

This cheesecake looks absolutely delicious! My wife makes a great creamy cheesecake that gets devoured. I'll have to have her look at this recipe.

I loove any creamy cheesecake, they certainly don't last too long when I'm around;)
This is my favourite recipe by far, have tried quite a number over the years and enjoy them all!
Thanks for stopping by @wizardofcheeze, nice meeting you 🤗

Oh girl this look so yummy

It certainly WAS @denissemata, lovely seeing you again🙂

Excelente que bueno se ve, saludos desde Venezuela. Lo comparto

Muchas gracias, agradezco la participación. Encantado de conocerte @oresteg 🙂

A la orden saludos desde Venezuela

Great recipe, I like it better baked because the cheesecakes I've eaten unbaked have been bad for my stomach. That combination with the passionfruit topping must be incredible.

It is scrumptious indeed with the Passionfruit. Interesting to hear the unbaked cheesecakes don't agree with you.
Thank you for stopping by, nice seeing you @cryptoxicate

That looks good, sounds good, must be wonderful. 😋

It was very good but sadly didn't last too long 😉
Thanks for visiting @fruityfruitz

I can can imagine it wouldn’t have lasted long. I almost ate it from my screen. I then realized technology isn’t that advanced. 😂

LOL that's a good one @fruityfruitz 😅😅😅

This definitely sounds like my kind of recipe Lizelle. One question - why no fresh cream - Your post says do not be tempted. I'm not sure I've even seen long life cream here in Cyprus - but I will look out for it

Hi @pandamama, I think it must be because the long life cream has a much richer and thicker texture. Perhaps worth trying it with a heavy cream if you can't get the long life. It is sooo good, an old recipe I got from a work colleague many years ago.
Thank you so much for visiting my friend 🤩

Oh my God, it looks so yummi!!!

It was delish, thank you so much!

Thanks for your recipe, the cake looks very delicious, I will try!

I hope you do, you will love it, thank you for the nice comments 🤩

wow perfect your cake recipe is awesome

It was yummy indeed, thanks for popping in!