Sharing The Secret To A Delicious Chocolate Cake

in Foodies Bee Hive3 years ago

Today's in Mac's Cooking Lab

Chocolate Cake

🕑 about 75 min | 🍴 5 Persons


20210415_202035.jpg

Line_Break2.png


Welcome to another episode of me complicating a simple recipe!

Chocolate cake is a simple and quick baking recipe. It's also easy for beginners to try. However today I was experimenting with over-complication ingredients that resulted in a moist and yummy chocolate cake.

Line_Break2.png



20210415_161701.jpg

Ingredients

  • 300gr Flour

  • 3 eggs

  • 200 gr Dutch chocolate powder

  • 1 tbsp vanilla extract

  • 100g mayonaise

  • 1/4 tsp salt

  • 100 gr butter

  • 1 tbsp nescafe

  • 250 gr sugar

  • 200 ml water, you can replace it with stout

  • 1/2 tbsp baking powder

  • 1 tbsp baking soda


Buttercream

  • 100gr butter

  • 2 tbsp Dutch chocolate powder

  • 4 to 5 tbsp Powdered sugar

Line_Break2.png

20210324_092059.jpg


Mixer the sugar and the butter until it becomes creamy.

Line_Break2.png

20210415_164903.jpg

Add egg slowly to the mixture and also the mayo. Also add water and the dissolved nescafe into the mixture.

Line_Break2.png

20210415_171058_mfnr.jpg

Add the dry ingredients (flour, chocolate powder, baking powder,baking soda, salt). Mix it slowly until the batter thickens. give it a taste and you can adjust the sugar.

Line_Break2.png

20210415_172200.jpg

Bake the cake for about 45 minutes to 50 minutes. Wait until the cake expands.Then cool it down for 10 minutes before caking it up.

Line_Break2.png

20210415_190202.jpg

Cool it off and then make the cream butter. To make the cream butter add 100gr of butter, 4 spoons powdered sugar, and 1 tsp chocolate powder.

Line_Break2.png

Make sure to coat the surface well. Don't be surprised when it's dried out. It will caramelized and you can add whipped cream and sprinkled rainbow chocolate for finishing.

Line_Break2.png

20210415_200035.jpg

20210415_202707.jpg

20210415_195955.jpg

Line_Break2.png

From this recipe I only miss stout. Stout combined with the instant coffee will make the batter even creamier. Also a note from me, don't fill the cake tray too full, it'll take too long for you to bake cake.

I was really in rush decorating the cake. Half angry-half in rush, I decorated the cake. So, that's why the whipped cream was not neat. After icing the cake, don't forget to refrigerate for 20 minutes before serving it.

The thing I learned from baking this cake was it's always best to prepare the ingredients before hand. Otherwise, the mess will be too much to handle.

Today there was a construction in our house. So, the house was like a broken ship and extremely messy. Added these cake mess, it was double messy that left me so exhausted.

Will I make this cake again? Maybe. I am planning to do sugar detox for a week since I think I consumed way too much sugar lately. But if you really love cake and sweets, that is the perfect recipe to try !

Let me know if you ever added mayo and stout to your chocolate cake.

Line_Break2.png

Mac covers technology, philosophy, nootropics, books, productivity, minimalist lifestyle, cybersecurity and languages. Other than those, she is passionate about cooking and travel. In her free time, she enjoys learning art and exploring new hobbies
Sort:  

Mayo in a chocolate cake????? That doesn't sound like it would well together, but who knows? I may be the secret ingredient. The cake looks pretty good though.

I was surprised when I learned about the mayo thing. Since it was added to the mixture of egg, butter, and the sugar, the mayo was only adding extra smoothness to the batter. There was no aftertaste of mayo at all once the chocolate and the flour were added to the mixture. Also, another secret is the stout. Instead of water, it is much better using stout to dissolve the instant coffee. But I didn't have that at home, so I was still using water.

even though you say the whipped cream was not clean it looks very cute and appetizing😋

Thanks! I was upset and angry because the house was a mess and I didn't have the proper tools to decorate the cake 😄

but it's amazing, don't worry🙌

This Does not look over complicated so.

You and coffe. I don't think there's a better love story

I thought it was complicated because I made a huge mess.

Proper order of things

New learning about cake, thanks for sharing.

This is really nice and it looks tasty, experimenting gives you more ideas and this is a lovely result gotten from your experiment

Indeed, that's why I call my recipes made in my cooking lab xD cause well, that's what I do, mixing stuff and trying to find the perfect recipe that I like and fits other palates.

Its nice what you do, not everyone takes the time to invent new recipe but we all love to try new tasty meals

Thank you for sharing this amazing post on HIVE!
  • Your content got selected by our fellow curator @stevenson7 & you just received a little thank you via an upvote from our non-profit curation initiative!

  • You will be featured in one of our recurring curation compilations and on our pinterest boards! Both are aiming to offer you a stage to widen your audience within and outside of the DIY scene of hive.

Join the official DIYHub community on HIVE and show us more of your amazing work and feel free to connect with us and other DIYers via our discord server: https://discord.gg/mY5uCfQ !

If you want to support our goal to motivate other DIY/art/music/homesteading/... creators just delegate to us and earn 100% of your curation rewards!

Stay creative & hive on!

Same as Wes -> Mayo in a chocolate cake? Damn, does not sound very good at first glance.

The final result looks pretty tasty, I wish I had cooking skills, but I have a cousin who will most likely like to try making this someday. (Maybe without the mayo? I told him that this recipe have mayo and his face wasn't good)