Homemade "Bienmesabe" - My House Coconut Milk Cake (lactose-free)

Hi, Foodies in the Hive!

How was your Valentine's Day? Did you celebrate it? Me, well, I made my special dessert: Bienmesabe de la casa, or my house bienmesabe. Though I didn't decorated it with red hearts, you must know it's a dessert with a lot of ❤️

Bienmesabe is a traditional dessert that has existed in the western world since medieval times, but it varies from one country to another and, in each country, it varies from one house to another. In Venezuela it is a special cold cake soaked with coconut milk and egg yolk syrup and, sometimes, rum or other liquor. Today I want to share with you a variation of my own bienmesabe, as it also seems to vary according to mood or years 😂

image.png

image.png

image.png

If you like soaked cakes and coconut, but haven't tried Venezuelan bienmesabe, you might want to change that. You'll love our bienmesabe. It's a Genoese sponge cake soaked in coconut milk and egg yolk syrup that separates into two phases to produce a light, unctuous, intensely flavored coconut cream that stays on top while the liquid goes down to soak the cake. It is then coated with a thick layer of light meringue and sprinkled with ground cinnamon on top.

image.png

image.png

INGREDIENTS

image.png

About twenty-five years ago, I spent a lot of time making bienmesabe, because I made a living at it, and so I had to respect all the sanctity of tradition and measure. I was lucky enough that my mother-in-law at the time--may she rest in peace--taught me to prepare typical desserts from eastern Venezuela. Her desserts, especially bienmesabe, were exceptional; so I think I was very, very lucky. However, now that I prepare bienmesabe for my family, I have learned to prepare a version that though less visually stunning, it's as delicious and takes me four times less time.

image.png

For the sponge cake:

  • 3 eggs (M)
  • 2/3 cups sugar
  • 2/3 cups self-rising flour
  • a teaspoon coconut oil to grease the pan (you can use any oil or margarine)

For the syrup & cream:

  • 500 ml coconut milk (I used homemade)
  • 3 egg yolks
  • 1/3 cups water
  • 1/3 cups sugar

For the meringue:

  • 1 cup sugar
  • 1/2 cup water
  • 4 egg whites
  • a few drops of freshly squeezed lemon juice
  • a few drops of vanilla essence
  • ground cinnamon to sprinkle

image.png

Let's Get to Work ❤️

I like to make the sponge cake first. While it bakes, I make the coconut milk and prepare the rest of the ingredients.

SPONGE CAKE

To make the sponge cake, separate the egg whites from the yolks and beat the egg whites until stiff. Easier with fresh eggs and an electric mixer.

image.png
image.png

Add the sugar and mix well.

image.png

Add the egg yolks.

image.png

Add the sifted flour...

image.png

And fold it with a pastry spoon until the mix turns homogeneous.

Grease the baking pan with the coconut oil. I used a 19 x 28 x 6 cm pyrex.

image.png

And pour in all the batter.

With the back of the spoon, distribute the batter as evenly as possible.

image.png

Bake in the preheated oven at 300° F x 30 minutes or until you insert a toothpick and it comes out dry.

image.png

I had to detach the cake from the walls of the pyrex so it would settle evenly. You can see it has a light crumb.

image.png

COCONUT SYRUP AND CREAM

Venezuelan bienmesabe needs fresh coconut milk, so I always start by making some. I used two coconuts (1.5 kg of whole coconut). You can do with one. I have learned that a 750 gr coconut will give you 500 ml of fresh milk thick enough.

Take out the flesh of the coconut. I burn them on the stove for 1-2 minutes to make it easier.

image.png

They're ready when they crack. Open the soft pore and take the water out.

image.png

Break the coconut by hitting it with a little hammer or do like me. I wrap it inside a old kitchen towel and hit it against the floor in the garage, haha. It's actually exhilarating.

This time, I needed the bagasse for another recipe, so I removed the endocarp and left a white flesh.

image.png

As always, I cut the coconut flesh into pieces small enough to help my blender work easier.

image.png

As I wasn't going to store the cake for longer than three days, I used the water of the coconuts to make the milk. No risk of unwanted fermentation. I heated the water and poured it into the blender glass along with the coconut pieces and let the blender do its magic.

image.png

Finally, I poured the mix in the yogurt dripping bag.

image.png

And squeezed!

image.png

A pinch of salt and back to the heat for a little cooking while stirring constantly. The milk must not boil.

image.png

Pour the water and sugar in the cooking pot and when the mix turns homogeneous and hot, add the 500 ml of coconut milk and the egg yolks while whisking vigorously.

image.png

Continue whisking for a couple of minutes until it begins to thicken. Remove from the fire and continue whisking for a minute.

image.png

This is going to be both your syrup to soak the cake and the layer of cream you will see between the cake and the meringue, as the liquid comes down and the fine lumps remain up.

FOAMY MERINGUE

Bienmesabe needs a light, foamy meringue. Beging by making a syrup with the sugar and water. Let it cook without stirring until you see lots of bubbles on the surface and you get the right consistency, the thread stage.

While the syrup is cooking, beat the whites until stiff. Then add the hot syrup while beating. Finally, add some drops of lemon and vanilla essence.

image.png

Now that the sponge cake, coconut and yolk syrup, and meringue are done, it's time to assemble the bienmesabe. As you can see, it takes you some work. Oh, but it's totally worth the effort 😋

image.png

ASSEMBLING THE CAKE

Pierce the cake, pour the syrup while it is still warm and put it in the freezer for one hour. Then cover with the meringue and sprinkle with cinnamon.

image.png
image.png
image.png

And there you are. Dessert with a heart, for my Valentine and I ❤️

image.png

image.png

Hope you had a great Valentine's Day! ❤️

image.png
image.png

All text and images are my own. I have taken the pictures with my Redmi 9T cell phone. And if any GIFs here, I've used GIPHY for all them.

image.png

Thank you so much for your visit :)

MARLYN BANNER_5 (1).png

Banner by @andresromero 🖤

Sort:  

El Bienmesabe es un clásico de nuestra hermosa, amplia y bella gastronomía venezolana, en este postre se conjugan muchas técnicas, que demuestran cuán compleja es la comida venezolana, especialmente la que tiene raíces en el período colonial.

Estupenda receta la que nos presentas @marlyncabrera, este es un postre que todo venezolano debería conocer y saber preparar. Saludos.

@sagarkothari88 vote 18%

Definitivamente, este un postre especial. Por el trabajo que lleva, no es de hacerse seguido, pero es tan económico que fácilmente se puede tener en cualquier reunión con familia y amigos. Me complace traer una receta que lleva décadas conmigo y muchas más antes de mí ❤️

Gracias por la visita y la motivación, querida @sirenahippie 😁🥥

@tipu curate:)

Thank you so much, @rozku 😌💕

CKq55bDMMa5C9zjdaYBZxnPMSS25AZZuNXNLEYfzw2o7RznvGD2vzBRbDH4vP4bFjA2DoCbXAwo9bZBWrEKeCNaumQtyN4TPp8KNR7DwgJAmPxhmWiEeMsAaUB1qorVXzqBzT95BCg7ey5BxeLdfXVFFx9gv14JaHwZrnHGXMU9JYxCPVUow8TnBRwFuii6EuvsU9aafvRqVqjJ9o343ccawwh.png

Yum! You have been curated by @sirenahippie on behalf of FoodiesUnite.net on #Hive. Thanks for using the #foodie tag. We are a tribe for the Foodie community with a unique approach to content and community and we are here on #Hive.

Join the foodie fun! We've given you a FOODIE boost. Come check it out at @foodiesunite for the latest community updates. Spread your gastronomic delights on and claim your tokens.

Thank you so much for your consideration and support, @foodiesunite @sirenahippie 😁❤️


BANNER AMAZING.png
You've been curated by @amazingdrinks! Delegations welcome!

Find our community here

Curation Trail

Thank you so much, @amazingdrinks ❤️ Much appreciated 😁

Simplemente espectacular , me encanta y quiero una porción doble jajaja

Te la guardo 🥥 Todavía hay un pedacito en la nevera.

Gracias por pasar ❤️😁

Siii! 😊🤗🤗✨ Que nadie toque la nevera jajajaa

This is definitely very delicious, I am very happy with sponge cake. and this is the first time I have encountered this preparation in your recipe.

I'll have to try it later!.

This sponge cake is light and fluffy. I'm you'll like it. It's really good for soaking but we also eat it just like that, with coffee or tea 😌 Thank you so much for dropping by, my friend ❤️

Yes, I agree that coffee and tea are very delicious with sponge cake.

Bienmesabe, que delicia! Yo tengo añacatales que no sé lo que es probar un Bienmesabe. Creo que desde que estaba en la universidad que ni pensaba yo que terminaría haciendo tortas. Jajajajaja! 🤭

Este postre se ve esquisito y completamente irresistible, @marlyncabrera.

Por cierto, me encantó la foto de tu gato con su cabecita sobre el coco! Jeje! Muy tierno!🥰😸

Gracias por compartir esta estupenda receta tan nuestra!🇻🇪

Y ¿viste mi súper decoración? 😂 Cuando tengas un chance, te enseño 🤣

El bienmesabe es realmente una exquisitez de la dulcería criolla venezolana. Yo agradezco mucho haber aprendido a prepararlo cuando aún era muy joven; hay muchas versiones con derivados de la leche de vaca que no son para nada el sabor tradicional (aunque puedan ser también muy sabrosas).

Espero ver tu bienmesabe pronto, que seguro te quedará lindo además de sabroso 😁❤️

Aaayyy yo quieroooo amiga 😄 Eso se ve taan delicioso que se me hace agua la boca. Si mal no recuerdo nunca he probado esta preparación aunque la he escuchado nombrar mucho. Se ve que te quedó buenísima 😻

¡No has vivido! 😂 Tienes que probarlo. Te guardo un pedacito ❤️

Coconut Milk Cake looks very delicious. It would be great to have it with a cup of tea at this time.
Thank for sharing.😍

I think a cup of hot tea goes really well with a piece of bienmesabe ❤️
Thank you so much for dropping by, my friend 😁🥥

Nunca lo he intentado, en las fotos parece mucho a torta tres leches,muy rica se ve

La tres leches es muy parecida. El bizcocho del bienmesabe no tiene materia grasa más que las yemas y la leche es vegetal; el merengue es más ligero. Pero tanto la tres leches como el bienmesabe pueden llevar licor; a mí me gusta ponerles ron.

Gracias por pasar, @mairimmorales 😁❤️

Wow! I want to try this! Your post made me think about the taste, especially when I saw the GIF image.

Oh, you have a pretty cat supervisor next to you!

Horacia supervises my cooking when Canela is not around 😸 And Canela does it when Flecha is not around 😼

I think you may love bienmesabe. The coconut and egg yolk cream tastes heavenly ✨

Que hermosura de post! no solo la receta,si no la fotografía lo bonito de tu maquetado. Esta receta se ve delicioso. Te felicito

Me alegra que te guste y espero que la receta te sirva. Verás qué ricura de postre ❤️

Gracias por pasar, @soyaruska 😁

Hola amiga me encanta el bienmsabe, que bueno que pudiste compartir uno de nuestros porstres venezolanos, saludos!

Es mi postre favorito en todo el mundo. Me encanta la dulcería criolla venezolana en general, pero el bienmesabe, para mí, es el mejor. Lleva trabajo, pero se hace con nada de dinero 😌

Gracias por pasar, @crily.love ❤️

Mi dulce favorito de siempre, que buen post! Saludos

El mío también 😌❤️
Gracias por pasar, @mariafrancesita 😁

I'm a sweets lover as much as I'd give to try it.

Oh, I'm sure you'd love this one. It's super delicious 😋

Unos de mis postres favoritos me encanta la crema de coco y es una torta fría deliciosa

Creo que el bienmesabe es mi favorito entre favoritos. Lleva tiempo y paciencia, pero para mí lo vale todo ❤️
Gracias por pasar, @leidys01 😁