my mom is NOT HOME and i don't know how to COOK (+ A PRETENTIOUS GOURMET TUTORIAL)| meelo

in Foodies Bee Hive3 years ago (edited)

gourmet.jpg

My parents have been busy these past few weeks because they went for a long trip into our provincial town over some particular errands. They just told me to order some delish vegetable soup and foods from the eatery nearby, but this evening, I never expected that the eatery would close. Eager to eat something delish and not to just order something from fast food chains, I quickly ran into my refrigerator, looked for decent ingredients to experiment with, and pretended that I could think of something as delicious as my mother would cook. Yeah, such an ambitious teenager I am.

Well, I think I did well feeding myself, lol.

slices of bed dipped into caramel solution.png

(1) dessert (left): sweetened leftover bread// (2) main dish (right): chicken on a tomato bed with spicy and milky sauce

In fact, it wasn't as disastrous as I expected it to be, but for everyone's safety, I wanted to say that I am not fully suggesting what I cook here to be prepared in your houses. It's dish of mine that could have more rooms of improvements.

Anyway, without further ado, here's the process!



#1: Sweetened Leftover Bread

Sweetened leftover bread is actually inspired of Filipino 'minatamis' cooking culture and caramel bread popcorn, but I failed to make it crispier like a popcorn. Luckily, the minatamis vibe of it dominated more to save its taste from being a trash.

Trivia: 'minatamis' is a a Filipino dessert made with a certain fruit (usually, saba banana) cooked in a sweet syrup made with muscovado sugar and water. This is usually done for the purpose of preserving the fruit.


Ingredients

There's nothing really special for this dessert's ingredients.

Leftover bread, brown sugar (5 spoons), powdered milk solution (1/5 of a glass), and oil (1 spoon) are all you need. There are, however, some instances that I disrupted the planned proportion because of my tansya-tansya (meaning: a gut feeling of what seems lacking and how much of an ingredient there should be).

slices of bed dipped into caramel solution (2).png


Mini-Tutorial

I sliced the leftover pieces of bread into 'sheets' that are as thin as they could possibly get, but in the process, I had to consider the fragility of the bread without breaking them into smaller chunks accidentally, thus making me slower. When I managed to gently finish slicing, I placed the slices into my heating utensil, heated their bottom until it got crispy, and flipped them to do the same for the other side.

slices of bed dipped into caramel solution (3).png

While waiting for the bread to be all ready, I started preparing the sweet syrup through adding, stirring, and heating the brown sugar, oil, and powdered milk solution altogether. These ingredients would eventually become more of a milky, sugary solution by taste.

slices of bed dipped into caramel solution (4).png

I put the crispy slices and the solution together in a flat surface and waited for five minutes to let the bread absorb the syrup. After that, I separated the soaked bread to heat it again until it was sufficiently way drier and crispier for consumption. I had to admit that I could have avoided this extra step if I only did make the solution more viscous, so it could just solidify on the bread instead.

slices of bed dipped into caramel solution (6).png

The finished product:

Untitled design (2).png



#2: Chicken on a Tomato bed with Spicy and Milky sauce

Chicken on a Tomato bed with Spicy and Milky sauce, is a pretentious gourmet dish of mine that randomly came up after watching the youtuber Akidearest's gourmet challenges. This is not associated with any gourmet ideals from high-class economy that you could be well familiar of. I just tried to mock what seemed a gourmet dish would look like to me, but I didn't expect this experimental dish would come closer to being 'edible'.

In this dish, I tried to find a combo line between milk, Gochujang paste, Jinhan noodle powder, and Gochugaru powder and added a bed of peppered tomato under the chicken meat for this. Plus, the rice has some extra add-on's in it. Here's how:


Ingredients

Chicken meat, leftover rice, and tomato are basically the very main solid ingredients in this meal.

slices of bed dipped into caramel solution (7).png

Meanwhile, powdered milk solution, pepper powder, salt, Jinhan noodle powder, Gochujang paste, and Gochugaru powder are the main taste key players.

slices of bed dipped into caramel solution (8).png


Mini-Tutorial

1.) Rice

The very first thing that crossed my mind for this meal was to start with the rice.

I poured 1/5 glass of milk into the leftover rice, which is enough not to oversaturate the amount of solid I had; and added two pinches of salt. Using a cup, I molded the mixture into this cylinder shape, keeping it together and looking more organized.

slices of bed dipped into caramel solution (9).png

2.) Sauce

Later on, I proceeded with the making of the sauce. I mixed a cup and a half of powdered milk solution, a spoon of Gochujang paste, half a spoon of Gochugaru powder, half a spoon of Jinhan noodle powder (or add more if the amount doesn't suit your taste buds), three pinches of salt, and three pinches of pepper. This would eventually lead to a white solution dotted with red powder. If I could have mixed it better, the solution would turn redder due to the Gochujang paste submerged in the solution.

A_mixeryarn.png

3.) Peppered Tomato Bed

While frying, I had to assemble the bed of tomato by simply slicing the tomato into flat 'sheets', adding salt and pepper into it, and putting it as a little 'podium' near the rice. Later, the chicken would be placed into it.

slices of bed dipped into caramel solution (10).png

4.) Frying the Chicken

The sauce would not be heated yet because the chicken meat had to be fried first. Put some oil and garlic into the heating utensil to free that aroma and to add more taste into the chicken.

A_ frysis.png

5.) Heading to the End

When the chicken turned to be sufficiently fried, I put the sauce along with it and heated them together until the Gochugaru powder seemed to be dissolved completely.

Upon the completion of heating, the chicken meat would be removed and placed on the top of peppered tomato bed. Using the spoon, I smudged the sauce into the plate following a curved motion, then the rest of sauce was poured into the chicken meat and tomatoes.

slices of bed dipped into caramel solution (11).png

The finished product:

slices of bed dipped into caramel solution (12).png


End!

This meal satisfied my craving that night of being hungry and having no parents to look for. I admit, however, that the meal could have turned better if did more research and had more planned proportions for the ingredients.

Anyway, have a good meal, everyone!

About (1).png

Sort:  

The recipes are quite peculiar and maybe a little bit weird in a good way. I am not sure if the chicken is cook, but I think it is. How was the taste? I think you enjoy your little gourmet experiment. !discovery 15

I could ensure you that the chicken had been cooked well, sir. HAHA 😆 The image might have not shown it well, but the meat went under a long time of cooking. If ever the chicken didn't go as well as I expected, that would ensurely become a disaster for my part.

Anyway, I could say that the meal has been satisfactory! 'Twas really peculiar, for I never ate something like this closer to my everyday life.😊

Glad to hear that it is cooked. When I first tried cooking because no one is at home to cook a meal, I did similar things. I did experiment with what was on the fridge. It is a delightful experience despite how the food turn out. !PIZZA

Connect

Trade


@meelo! I sent you a slice of $PIZZA on behalf of @juecoree.

Learn more about $PIZZA Token at hive.pizza (5/10)


This post was shared and voted inside the discord by the curators team of discovery-it
Join our community! hive-193212
Discovery-it is also a Witness, vote for us here
Delegate to us for passive income. Check our 80% fee-back Program

Congratulations @meelo! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You received more than 600 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 700 upvotes.
You made more than 10 comments.
Your next target is to reach 50 comments.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP