Tips On How I Preserve Lemon Juice and Lemon Rind

in Foodies Bee Hive2 years ago (edited)

^2.jpg
It always happened again and again... Everytime I bought the lemon from the supermarket, I always had a problem storing them because they get molds sometimes after about 4 days even when put in the fridge. These lemons are imported from other warmer counries i.e. Spain, Italy, Turkey, etc. and they have a long way before they reach destination.

When we are in Andalusia during wintertime, I get my lemon and oranges from the fresh market sometimes from the farmers directly and they are normally freshly picked from their trees. Other market dealers get their stuff from a cooperative, a kind of middlemen that carries-out bidding of the lots brought by the farmers.

3.jpg

Preserving the juice...

and so I thought of a way to preserve them and that is squeeze all of them and put the juice in ice cube containers and freeze them and label properly.

3a.jpg
When they are frozen and ready, I take out the cubes, store in container so that whenever I need one for cold drinks like ice tea, I simply get one or two cubes, add ice 0 pop and that´s it.

4.jpg

5.jpg
Nothing is wasted if the lemons are organic because they are good ingredients in making cakes or muffins...so I grate them and also freeze in a container and use a portion when I am baking.

5a.jpg

6.jpg
So when I make an ice tea, I simply add the tea ice cubes and add it to the drink. If you are making a hot tea and would like to add the cubes, simply de-freeze some at room temperature. One cube is approximately 1/2 squeezed juice if the lemon size is smaller. Enjoy your ice tea!

7.jpg

All photos are by the author, @mers

GIF by @Gremayo.gif
GIF by @gremayo

Sort:  

Love the idea ate, you never ran out of those 🥰

Indeed that is true.

I did that to our kalamansi juice in cubes but I have to throw the peels in our compost pit.
Thanks for sharing👍

Calamansi is a sturdy one and does not get spoiled easily. Good to give the peel to the compost pit, the slugs will have a fiesta.. Thanks for the comment.

You've been curated by @plantpoweronhive! Powered by LOTUS token, an alternative health social currency on HIVE. Delegations welcome!

Find our community here

Curation Trail

Many thanks for the support.. Have a lovely day!

My mom similarly does that when we have a rare chance to get "calamansi " from relatives. She squeezes them and freezes the juice.

That's the best solution..

Love your Foodie post!

Yum! You have been curated @sirenahippie on behalf of FoodiesUnite.net on #Hive. Thanks for using the #foodie tag. We are a tribe for the Foodie community with a unique approach to content and community and we are here on #Hive.

Join the foodie fun! We've given you a FOODIE boost. Come check it out at @foodiesunite for the latest community updates. Spread your gastronomic delights on and claim your tokens.

Join and Post through the Community and you can earn a FOODIE reward.

Banner_followBHcommentsize.png

Thank you so much for the support.

Hmm this is good technique thanks much for sharing this.We can drink our delicious iced tea.

You are welcome @jurich60.