Cheesecake in a Jar | Cooking with kids | Delicious dessert from my son's healthy cookbook

Hello again, foodies ❤️

This recipe was the best I had in weeks! And today I'll share it with you.


So!! Quick facts 🥰📒👦👨‍🍳


My son Caleb, 4 years old, got interested in Food and Healthy Food a few months ago, somewhere in November.
His desire of knowing more about this topic was after he watched an episode of Dr. Binocs, called "Why are minerals important?". (He watchs TV only in English, or lets say 95% of the time.)

Seeing him so implicated when I was cooking, got me really impressed. Before that, he never wanted to "help" in the kitchen. But now, he wants to participate in the process. Can't do a smoothie without him. 😁 but this is good. I'm happy things are like this because we talk about education and cooking education, food education and eventually, health education.


20230115_142103.jpg


I love to cook healthy food with Caleb.
And this is why, I ordered some books for him. Recipes or nutrition for kids. He loves his books!

And actually, this is his favorite.


20230115_161110.jpg


We already started cooking from this book and I can't wait to try all recipes!

I wanted to try this recipe at first because I dont think this is truly healthy. Maybe it is compared with others, but mehh. There is a little bit of sugar, biscuits, fruits...the way I think, sugar intake is a bit high to consider it healthy. And yet, I wanted to try it at first to have an impact on my son and I thought that if he likes the first recipe, the chances will be higher that he will want to continue cooking the recipes from this book.


20230115_142100.jpg

20230115_161235.jpg


Here are the ingredients:


  • 300g blueberries
  • 250g blackberries
  • 2 tbsp caster sugar
  • 250g cream cheese
  • 200ml creme fraiche
  • 1 tsp non-alcoholic vanilla extract
  • 100g oat biscuits, crushed (digestive or graham works too)

20230115_153931.jpg

20230115_142001.jpg

20230115_155530.jpg

20230115_153927.jpg


Now! What I did differently was to replace cream cheese with mascarpone cheese. After we decided to try this recipe and caleb was all over the moon, I realized I dont have cream cheese but I did have in the fridge 250g Mascarpone cheese. And I knew this would work.

This was so soo sooo good we will do it again. Also my sister in law came over that day and she tried it and she's in love with it! And actually she wants to come again these days and do it again together. This time we'll do 2 batches, one with mascarpone cheese (because it was INSANELY DELICIOUS) and one with cream cheese, see what we get!

Ohh and one more thing: Instead of blackberries and blueberries, I had raspberries and blueberries. Any berries are perfect for this recipe. You can use only one type of berries or a mix.


20230115_161319.jpg


INSTRUCTIONS:


Place 2 thirds of the berries and 1 Tbsp of sugar in a medium pan. Add a lid and cook over low heat for 5 minutes. Stir in the remaining berries and leave it to cool.

20230115_142235.jpg

20230115_142320.jpg

20230115_143645.jpg


Beat the remaining 1 Tbsp sugar, cream cheese, creme fraiche and vanilla extract in a bowl. Do this until the mixture is soft and creamy.

20230115_142952.jpg

20230115_154545.jpg20230115_154530.jpg

20230115_154548.jpg


Start to layer up the cheesecakes. In glasses (or jars), create a layer of berry sauce, then the cream cheese mixture, the the biscuits. Repeat until you're finished.

20230115_144004.jpg

20230115_160145.jpg20230115_155718.jpg

20230115_160040.jpg


Put the remaining FRESH Berries on top, place the cheesecakes in the fridge for an hour to allow them to set. Share them with your friends!

20230115_161215.jpg


This recipe is 30 minutes to make. I think is a great idea for a kid recipe because kids can get involved.

My son helped with measuring, he also crushed the biscuits, used the electric mixer, also helped with the layers. Did a mess as well 🤣 but hey! This is cooking with kids. 💓
They get to learn how to cook, how to be responsable with food, learning about foods, nutritiona nd healthy cooking. Because they ask a lot of questions during the process. At least my Caleb is very curious and asks a lot of things when cooking.


20230115_155533.jpg

20230115_160102.jpg

20230115_170023.jpg

20230115_160102.jpg

20230115_161228.jpg

20230115_161225.jpg

20230115_161243.jpg

20230115_161204.jpg

20230115_160107.jpg


I hope you find some inspiration here, on my blog.

Cooking easy recipes with your kid should be both rewarding and fun. Think of the good part, besides the mess you'll have to clean up haha. 😅

Having this time in the kitchen with the little ones is bonding time, family time. Our kids will remember it as fun time with mommy and cooking goodies together. Creating memories is all about, for entire family and when time allows it, why not involve the whole family?

Stay healthy and take care!

love, missdeli 💓



photo3.jpg


Join my community here: Healthy Happy Kids

You'll find healthy recipes for kids and more.


Logo_alb_mic.png


Sort:  

This looks delicious! Colorful and sweet, and healthy from all those berries, too!

Cheesecake is one of may faves. I think this recipe would work well with Greek yogurt, no?

Thats a good idea!!! I didnt try it. Not just yet, but I'l consider it now that you mentioned it.

But I think it works 🤔 especially it you dont keep it for long in the fridge. Maybe if so, the yoghurt would separate from the whey liquid. I hope I say it right, I dont know how to explain it.

I love cheesecake too! One of the favorites for sure!! All types, doesnt matter.

Hmm, I get you on the whey. But there might not be much since Greek yogurt is "creamier"? IDK. lol. Or else, consume immediately. No time to waste. Haha

I know what you mean about Greek yoghurt. But you never know! Still, I think you're right. And even if it tends to break down into liquid, the biscuits should soak the excess. Great idea and also healthier :D

Anyways, we got 5 jars with this recipe. Caleb had 2, I had 2 and my sister in law 1. But me and Caleb fight for the last one 🤣

This looks amezing and delicious ...yummmmy

They were for sure! I'm gonna make them again somewhere these days!

I love cheese cake. Looks and im sure tastes delicious.

I'd love to try this recepie even though I"m lactose intolerant 😆

You could replace the cheese mixture with coconut cream. I use it very often and if you beat it with a mixter, 100% it can replace pretty much any cheede mix for cheesecakes, or parfaits.

Aah, great. I'm gonna try it😄
Thanks for the tip!

No worries. You just need to keep it in the fridge overnight.

Here's a good example of how to make whipped coconut cream from canned coconut milk

https://minimalistbaker.com/how-to-make-coconut-whipped-cream/

Vale mucho la colaboración de los niños , cuando vamos enseñando y creando en ellos disciplina y responsabilidad al momento de hacer las cosas

Totally agree with you! Thank you for stopping by and commenting to my post!

Siempre apoyando a la familia

It looks so yummy..I want to have a taste

Its more than yummy! This was really a favorite of favorites I had in time! :D

Looks delicious and healthy 😍

Thank you! It was super delicious, and kind of healthy too because it contains a lot of berries.


The rewards earned on this comment will go directly to the people( @virgilio07 ) sharing the post on Twitter as long as they are registered with @poshtoken. Sign up at https://hiveposh.com.

Wow! This looks so delicious. Honestly while I am scrolling down, I really craved for it dear. I so love blends of berries, cream, and cheese. I have not tried making this kind of healthy recipe but I believe this is so yummy. How I wish I could try making something like this in a jar. Best regards dear.

Thank you! I'm craving for it again every time I open this page. 😅
Dont you have the chance to try it? Maybe you can replace some of the ingredients and have something similar. For example, cream cheese can be replaced with fat yoghurt, cream or coconut cream. Berries can be replaced with pretty much any kind of fruit, just to be juicy. And crackers...again.

Yes, I am thinking of replacing some of the ingredients. And honestly, I am craving, hehe. For now, I have to eat blueberry cheesecake. Thanks for your time my dear friend and stay safe.

Damn, girl! Your kid never stops surprising me with his intelligence and desire to learn more things. Cheers to that and to his parents that do everything to make him break new limits! :)

Hey ❤❤ thank you, for your kind words! Really appreciate it, we try out best...you know? But yes, all kids have this curiosity learning things sooner or later...mine is just a bit earlier 🙈🙄 this some days feels like nightmare, but overall its a blessing having a smart kid, as we say "dezghetat". 😅🤗🤗🤗

Congratulations @missdeli! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain And have been rewarded with New badge(s)

You got more than 4000 replies.
Your next target is to reach 4250 replies.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out our last posts:

The Hive Gamification Proposal

Yes, I'm amazed at Caleb's skills, I didn't know he likes participating in kitchen activities so much.
Cooking healthy food is for our good, I'm glad that Caleb approves of this.
You made me hungry with your dish, which by the way looks incredible.

Thanks.

Ohh he does. Actually today I did a cherry cake and he came next to me, helping. 🙄🙄

He wants to help very often lately, but as you can imagine I dont let him always because sometimes I'm in a rush and I just have the extra time for cleaning his mess.

I repeat, Caleb has a very good skill, so let him push his limits, even if the kitchen will look like after the war :)) , I love your food posts and I'm sure they are tasty too.
Have a wonderful weekend.

Well then you should see our kitchen today. It was nothing like last Sunday.

War its the beat to describe it indeed 🤣🤣🤣🤣

Just thinking about how excited Caleb is already makes me melt :))))