I really don't know how to cook Asian food, but this Chicken Curry served with white rice is full of flavor πŸ›πŸ₯₯

in Foodies Bee Hive β€’ 8 months ago

Hey you guys! πŸ’›

Hmmmm? Where to start? πŸ₯΄
To be honest, I am not too creative in the kitchen. Here it is, I said it!
I had my moments when I tried recipes, wanting to cook the best version out there or trying to learn a specific cooking method or a popular recipe from a country. Basics.
But these times were just a few...I realized I stay in my control zone when it comes to cooking. But I always wanted to have the mood and time to do better. Never its too late so...I still have hope. πŸ˜…

About this recipe I'm sharing today, Chicken Curry and Rice, it's the same recipe I started to cook 10 years ago. πŸ˜„
Maybe there are better versions, maybe I am not even close to a classic Chicken Curry but the truth is, I like this recipe as it is. I wouldn't change a thing. 😁
However, if someone would told me that I'm missing something, I would try it differently.
To be honest, I didnt look up for another Chicken Curry Recipe in the last ten years. Maybe this one right here that I picked up years ago, its a classic one, maybe its not. Maybe it's just an adaptation to the real recipe.
I also know that Chicken Curry vary from country to country and it's different lets say in India from the one in Thailand.
So I dont know if my recipe is an Indian recipe or other Asian country's popular dish.

I think I'll start research about Chicken Curry right after I'm done writing this post. LOL πŸ˜…πŸ˜…πŸ˜…πŸ™ˆ


20230802_131648.jpg


Ingredients:

  • chicken breast (cut in aprox 3x3 cm pieces)
  • long Basmati rice
  • a little piece of ginger
  • one small onion
  • 3-4 cloves garlic
  • one can of full fat coconut milk
  • turmeric
  • curry spice
  • salt and pepper
  • one tbsp olive oil
  • 2 Tbsp tomato sauce (optional)

20230802_124301.jpg

20230802_123836.jpg


The rice

Boil the rice according your favorite method or using your favorite kitchen tool and pot.

I'll tell you how I cook my rice. Actually it's a Gordon Ramsey's method.

Use one measure of rice to one and a half measure of water. For example use 100g rice to 150ml water.
Spices: cardamom, salt, pepper and anise star.

❗️❕️ This recipe works for Basmati Rice, long rice!
I didnt try it with other type of rice, other than long rice. πŸ˜„

Put the rice, water and spices into a pot, add the lid from the very beginning and turn on high for a few minutes without removing the lid. Thats the trick! Dont remove the lid no matter what! After you'll see water starting to splash and the lid is under pressure, meaning it started to boil, decrease heat to medium low.
Depending on your cooking device, it only takes 10-14 minutes. He says, I think 9 minutes but I always keep it 12-13. That's what I found out to work for us and our induction cooking cooktop.
And finally, dont remove the lid. Keep it there for another 10 min and then it's ready.

Better idea is to look at this video and make yourself an idea.


20230802_123648.jpg


What you can do in advance (and is recommended) is to marinate the chicken. The meat will be more flavoured but in case you don't have time, just use it like that.
Spices: salt, pepper, curry mix, turmeric, sweet paprika, olive oil.


20230802_123713.jpg


Cooking Instructions

Start with the chicken, meanwhile the rice is boiling.
Put olive oil in a pan, add chicken breast (cut in pieces) and cook on all sides until is nicely done.
Remove from the skillet.

20230802_124104.jpg20230802_125113.jpg20230802_125229.jpg

As I said, when chicken it's done, remove from the skillet and add the following: onion, garlic, ginger.
Cook all these spices for a few minutes until they leave their flavor.

20230802_125111.jpg20230802_125225.jpg

Add spices and 2 tbsp of tomato sauce.
The tomato saauce is optional, I honestly like it without but this time I made the recipe including it too.
I feel it's more "comfi" and smooth for my bud tastes when the tomato sauce isn't in here.
The sweet sour taste of tomato sauce gives this whole Curry Chicken sauce a tangy taste,so I prefer to skip it.

20230802_125554.jpg

Add coconut can. Mix well until homogenized.

20230802_125634.jpg

Let ot boil for a few minutes. Add the chicken back in.

20230802_125709.jpg20230802_130156.jpg20230802_131324.jpg

Now, enjoy! I hope you'll try this recipe.
I know it's simple, but it's amazing, especially in the cold days. πŸ›πŸ›

Really, this recipe is comfort food because it's smooth, warm and the mild taste of curry sauce it's soo soo delicious!

You could replace rice with grilled bread baggette or ciabatta bread.
You can garnish this dish with fresh green parsley, green onions.

20230802_131607.jpg

20230802_131610.jpg

20230802_131655.jpg20230802_131843.jpg

20230802_131646.jpg

20230802_131653.jpg

What do you think about this recipe? Would you try it?
Today I made this recipe again and Caleb, my 5 years old said, out of the blue:

Mommy, you've got a 10 for the rice and a 10 for the chicken!!

I was Whaaaaaaat? How sweet of you to say so! All my heart melted πŸ™ˆπŸ’›

I'm really curious to read your comments. Do you cook Indian Food?
For those who're experts with Curry or the ones who live in these countries where Curry Chicken is very popular, tell me, how you do it? Do you cook it yourself? It's your recipe different from this one? It's my recipe appropriate with a classic Chicken Curry?
Did I do something wrong? πŸ™ˆ
Can't wait to read your comments! 😁

Have a lovely evening,
Missdeli

Sort: Β 

I was Whaaaaaaat? How sweet of you to say so! All my heart melted πŸ™ˆπŸ’›

And youv've got a 10 for the photography and 10 for the well detailed post, way to go Lady!πŸ₯°πŸ₯°

Thank you! You're too sweet, appreciate it! πŸ₯°

CKq55bDMMa5C9zjdaYBZxnPMSS25AZZuNXNLEYfzw2o7RznvGD2vzBRbDH4vP4bFjA2DoCbXAwo9bZBWrEKeCNaumQtyN4TPp8KNR7DwgJAmPxhmWiEeMsAaUB1qorVXzqBzT95BCg7ey5BxeLdfXVFFx9gv14JaHwZrnHGXMU9JYxCPVUow8TnBRwFuii6EuvsU9aafvRqVqjJ9o343ccawwh.png

Yum! You have been curated by @sirenahippie on behalf of FoodiesUnite.net on #Hive. Thanks for using the #foodie tag. We are a tribe for the Foodie community with a unique approach to content and community and we are here on #Hive.

Join the foodie fun! We've given you a FOODIE boost. Come check it out at @foodiesunite for the latest community updates. Spread your gastronomic delights on and claim your tokens.

Vote for our witness @sagarkothari88

πŸ‘ ❀️ Upvoted ❀️ πŸ‘

CommunityCuratorAuthorUpvoted By Hive Witness
@Foodies Bee Hive@sirenahippie@missdelisagarkothari88
Foodies Bee Hive@sirenahippie@missdelisagarkothari88

Empowering Foodies Bee Hive

Upvote This Comment

Please πŸ™‡β€β™‚οΈ Support Me Back πŸ™ - Vote for me

Haha I love the Title already. The food looks delicious and it seems like you actually know what you are doing.
Did you know you can replace the Coconut with oat milk (and make all the Asians here cry) my friend thought me last week and I was not disappointed πŸ˜‚

Congratulations @missdeli! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain And have been rewarded with New badge(s)

You received more than 14000 HP as payout for your posts, comments and curation.
Your next payout target is 15000 HP.
The unit is Hive Power equivalent because post and comment rewards can be split into HP and HBD

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Β 8 months agoΒ Β 

Full of flavor! Well done πŸ˜‹πŸ˜‹πŸ˜‹

Thank you! It's one of our favorite meals during the fall and winter season! πŸ™ˆπŸ˜Š

You made it well.. This is one of the best Asian food.. But it's yummier when fresh coconut milk is used ☺️ nice one !PIZZA

Well, you mean fresh coconut milk from whole coconut?
I didntt try it, but I guess it's more flavorful and have a more intense coconut flavor...

Thank u for your suggestion. I will keep it in mind.

Yes from grated coconut. We usually grate to extract milk from fresh coconut.

PIZZA!

$PIZZA slices delivered:
@jane1289(1/5) tipped @missdeli

You did it, the final product looks super delicious

Thank you ☺️

welcome