You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Homemade Head Cheese Recipe

As creativemary said, this is basic in Romania, nothing out of extraordinary. 😅😅
Honestly, I dont dislike it, in fact I love it. But I never do it myself, however my mom does and I always go eat some.

The only difference between Romanian and your is that we leave the meat in more big bites.
I honestly dont like so small meat bites. What I do like about this recipe is the garlic. 😁

P.S. I didnt realize you are such a good cook! 😋

Sort:  

Yeah is a common recipe in a lot of European cultures and each has their own way of doing it. I like the garlic in it as well. It was a fun experiment to try and make it. I may do it again some day.

I bet it was fun! And I'm happy you liked it. I know you dont need me to say this, but its a good source of collagen and stem cells too. The cartilajes and marrow to this, eliberates collagen and stem cells. A
And btw, actually, our Romanian relatives from Canada still make this, even on Canadian land.

That's really interesting about the collagen and stem cells. I didn't know that.

Yeah I know some Ukrainian families in Canada and they still make it here as well.

Yup. Its the same as bone broth.

Thats the reason this dish is forming into a jelly. Its the collagen coming from the cartilages and the bones.