Cooking Shu Mai

in Foodies Bee Hive3 years ago

received_221788476693717.jpeg

I am a dim sum food lover eversince and I don’t know if it has something to do with my genes. I like Shu Mai (pork or shrimp), Dumplings, Kutchay, Chicken Feet, Chinese Kikiam and Hakaw. I am really picky when it comes to these kind of food, I tried some brands or resto but it didn't passed because of the extenders. I usually ordered this at DECS (Hakaw) and JOE Kuan (kikiam), Nathaniels and S&R for Siomai and certain store at Binondo for kutchay and Banawe. It is expensive but worth it to satisfy my cravings.

received_4434850376596046.webp

Four (4) months ago before I resigned from my corporate job, I am thinking of an alternative income aside from being a Financial Advisor. Any income that could help sustain my obligation and basic needs of my family. Since I am into these foods, I realized why not make my own siomai or sell dimsum?

received_383276643540037.jpeg

These are my ingredients for pork and chicken shu mai:

Ground Chicken
Ground Pork
Minced shrimp
Himalayan Salt
Ground Pepper
Chicken powder
Sesame oil
Olive oil
Spring onion
Egg
Carrots
Mushroom
Singkamas
Flour
Molo wrap

You only need to minced and mixed everything. It is very tiring at first try because I've minced everything using knife. I only motivate myself to finish it because it's already messy and have spent some penny. Lol! While doing this, the sounds of knife in the chopping board became music to me and just enjoy the vibe! Sabi nga nila, always smile while cooking to make your food delicious and palatable!

After eternal moment...... tadahhhhh!!! This is the mixture of pork and chicken shu mai test. Doesn't look good, right??? Haha!

Chicken Shu Mai
received_931180104157413.jpeg

Pork Shu Mai
received_294635075810461.jpeg

Again, we were only half way done! You still need to wrap it! Making this small dim sum is very rigorous. Do I still need to wrap this or wrap up???? Hahaha! Anyway, I just bought food processor through lazada for only 1,200! Cheap but the quality is good!

received_855742348388195.webp

I have already done two taste test and I am not satisfied yet. I don't want my shu mai taste like a meat ball wrap if I'm going to sell this. I want value for money, I want to feed my customers with good food for them to become my regular client.

received_927746688153067.jpeg

received_309946527431613.jpeg

This is the second try. You may notice that the oil is still dripping from the wrap. Lesson learned from is buy only quality meat. I need to re-do this menu, I am confident that nobody shall buy this. Do you have any tips on how to do this? If you have, I am very glad to consider and apply it in my third try.

In the name of having my own business and to help my family, I WILL NOT GIVE UP My ultimate goal is to bring good food as well. I will continue to explore, invest and reinvent!

I will post here and update you about my third try. I'm looking forward to your feedback :)

received_875206413162512.webp

Sort:  

Congratulations @mutedgeek! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s):

You published more than 10 posts.
Your next target is to reach 20 posts.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

Hive Power Up Month - Feedback from Day 18

Sa kin kahit anong version pa yan basta ipa-free taste mo sa kin yan bibigyan kita ng 200% honest feedback. Dalhin mo dito sa new house ko. Daliiii

Ahahahha! Pahouse warming ka naman!