The Indian Delicacy - Batata Wada

The food that is the most common on the streets of Mumbai and is savored a lot by the locals as well as anyone who visits the city. It is called Batata Wada - Batata means Potato and Wada is the ball that is made. After returning back from a 3 weeks long vacation I had a strong urge for some local home made food. I was fed up eating outside food and was craving for some home meals, so thought of making something very Indian, and nothing beats this dish.

20220512_145108.jpg

I try to make simple and easy dishes as I mess up with complex ones. Let me share the recipe with you all. It is easy but a little time consuming.

Ingredients required

  • Potato 2
  • Garlic - 5 to 6 cloves - finely chopped
  • Coriander finely chopped
  • Green chilies - 2 - finely chopped
  • Pinch of Turmeric powder, Garam Masala
  • Salt to taste
  • A cup of Rice flour or Gram Flour
  • 2 Eggs
  • Ghee for frying

Cheese - This is not a part of the original recipe, I tried it a little different way so added in this one.

Preparation
Boil the potato and once it cools down, mash the potato fine. Make it very smooth. Once it's mashed well, add chopped garlic, coriander, green chilies, turmeric, garam masala and salt. Mix it up all very well till everything blends up.
20220512_132019.jpg

Once its all mixed up well, make small flat breads of the mixture.
20220512_132816.jpg

This is not a part of the original Batata wada recipe but I tried a little different way by putting some cheese in it.
20220512_133126.jpg

Cover up the cheese and roll it up to a ball. Coat it up with rice flour and then put it in the fridge for an hour to allow it to firm up
20220512_133948.jpg

After leaving it in the fridge for an hour now it's time to fry them.
Whisk up 2 eggs and take some rice flour for coating. In the original recipe gram flour is used, but since I do not consume that I use rice flour.
20220512_142949.jpg

Roll the balls in the rice flour, dip them in the whisked egg and then release it in hot ghee for frying. Allow it to fry on high flame.
20220512_143310.jpg

When the layer gets golden brown remove it
20220512_144610.jpg

You may serve them with Green Chutney. They are a good mid day snack
20220512_145044.jpg

On the streets of Mumbai this is a famous snack available, just like hot dogs. Ideally it is served in between a bread, like a burger. It is also called as the Indian Burger :-)
Hubby loved having it, he liked the cheese that I added in it.

Do try out the recipe, I am sure you are going to relish it.

Thank you for visiting my blog. 👼🏻👼🏻💖💖🌹🌺🌸

29074314-2B4D-4B6F-95BF-C36DA204CA63.gif


"Unlimited Abundance, Blissful Happiness and Unconditional Love"

Member of



Sort:  

Love this delicacy, it looks very tasty and seems easy to make. Greetings from the Philippines!

This recipe is too fabulous, and I think it's simple. I'm sure my men (husband and son) would love it as well as me. The cheese takes it to another level. We really like cheese here. Just yesterday I ran out of potatoes because I used them for dinner, but I need to buy to try this recipe taking advantage of the fact that my son still does not eat the little mozzarella that is left in the fridge. I am Venezuelan, but I am very interested in Indian food, I have never eaten it as such because I have not been able to find a restaurant of that style, but I love garlic and I always use more than what the recipes recommend, but I noticed that yours takes a long time and that's great, I love turmeric, curry and a few months ago a friend gave me some massala that they brought her from Trinidad, and it was fabulous, I think if I can get it here in the spice shops.

Thank you for whetting my appetite and giving us this great recipe, I will prepare it and I will know that I am eating a typical Indian meal.

By the way, I don't see the images of the step by step, I don't know if it's just me or if they can't be seen, try to review that because it's a shame that they can't be seen. Have a nice day @nainaztengra
🌸😉👩‍🍳.

Ohhh, I am not sure why you are not able to see the pictures. The links are perfect, I checked from my other devices as well and no issues.
Do try it out, I am sure you and your family will enjoy it. Indian spices and Masalas give good flavors but they can get spicy too. I do miss my Indian food when I am out travelling and really crave for it.

Hello friend @nainaztengra. For some reason the images of the step by step are not seen with Ecency, I tried with Peakd and indeed all of them are seen. I don't know why that will happen.

Hey I get what you're saying about missing your food when you travel. The species of Indian food make them very different from any other. Here in Venezuela, we like to eat spicy, of course not everyone. But more than adding many spicy spices, we usually buy "spicy" in bottles so that everyone can add it to the food. But in my house, all my brothers, except the youngest, my parents, my husband and even my son and I eat spicy food, although not always.

Yes, I haven't been able to make the recipe yet but I have it in mind. have a nice day! 😎😉

Batata wada looks just delicious. I love it that you took the time to present us with nice picture and a simple process to follow. Now that I see you stuffed the batata wada with cheese, I think we could get really creative about the fillings; I am thinking of stewed green beans or seasoned ground beef. Thanks for sharing your recipe with us, @nainaztengra :)

You can use alternatives to stuff inside. Yes, some meat will also make it nice and juicy. The other way I make it is mash up the potatoes mixture and grounded meat together and then make balls and fry them up. They too come out delicious.

Love your Foodie post!

Yum! You have been curated @taco.cat on behalf of FoodiesUnite.net on #Hive. Thanks for using the #foodie tag. We are a tribe for the Foodie community with a unique approach to content and community and we are here on #Hive.

Join the foodie fun! We've given you a FOODIE boost. Come check it out at @foodiesunite for the latest community updates. Spread your gastronomic delights on and claim your tokens.

Join and Post through the Community and you can earn a FOODIE reward.

Banner_followBHcommentsize.png

Your content has been voted as a part of Encouragement program. Keep up the good work!

Use Ecency daily to boost your growth on platform!

Support Ecency
Vote for new Proposal
Delegate HP and earn more