Meal Prepping: Preparación de Comidas para la Semana [esp/eng]

in Foodies Bee Hive2 years ago (edited)


png_20220326_131653_0000.png


26uUsAjKTsXCDw7zixZR182JbFKvgzJ9YwsFpTVcRaGCmsqhA1unTgpqzaKgunykxXVUPpr3AirVkvMQ9zcPLkz6uJ12c7MZqGz3QV9SzAh8pKvYWwyppDkY2jRsQ2easkm2vdvYqmZXrFAVWC54kbwmv5bKZYiPHs4bqg.png


La cocina es meditación activa para mí; una manera de expresar y liberar cosas que, de otra forma, se me hace imposible. De ella, me cautivan sus sonidos, sus olores, colores y texturas.

Es vital para mí sentir que mi cuerpo se hace fuerte con cada bocado, que me lleno de energía para vivir desde mi autenticidad y que, de mi bienestar, brota amor incondicional hacia mí y hacia quienes amo. Verán, la comida es una manera de oración, de acercarme a Dios y de cumplir con mi propósito de vida. A mi cuerpo le encanta sentirse vigoroso. Imparable y saludable. Le gusta sentirse feliz.
untitled.gif

La cosa es, les cuento, que me ha costado comer bien últimamente. Tres factores han formado parte:

  1. La oscilación constante y reciente entre estados de ansiedad, depresión y calma.

  2. Vivir sola (mi mamá trabaja desde el amanecer hasta muy llegada la noche) luego de tres años de vivir en pareja, donde el rol en la cocina era compartido.

  3. La maternidad me saturó. Siento que cada segundo — y energía de mis días, los ocupo entre diálogos que van así: "A Sayri no le gusta eso, puedo intentarlo de tal manera. Eso solo lo come con aguacate. Se me acabó el aguacate. ¿Va a querer pasta otra vez? Yo no quiero pasta. No quiero proteína y la nutricionista dijo que cada una de sus comidas debe llevar proteína. Pero las carnes no le gustan. Tal vez granos. Pero no los puse en remojo. No quiero que le den chucherías. ¿Qué hago?" ...y son tres comidas al día. Todos los días. Es el mejor de los performances surrealistas que pueden existir.

Así que, luego de casi mes y medio de comer bien una de cada diez comidas, y de mi cuerpo, y mi salud mental a consecuencia, pidiendo auxilio, decidí hacer un meal prep de comidas que aligeren la semana y me (y nos) haga más feliz. Este no es un artículo de recetas pero sí les comento lo que lleva cada plato.


Alimentos a preparar

  • Sopa de costilla de res
  • Caraotas
  • Carne en salsa de piña
  • Pechugas de pollo (solo el marinado) al ajillo
  • Chutney de mango
  • Salsa de tomate
  • Trufas de banano con cacao

english.png


Cooking is active meditation for me; a way to express and release things that otherwise would be impossible to let go. In the kitchen, I am captivated by its sounds, its smells, colors and textures.

It is vital for me to feel that my body becomes stronger with each bite, that I am filled with energy that allows me to live from my authenticity and that, from my well-being, unconditional love springs up for me and those I love. You see, food is a way to pray, to get closer to God and to fulfill my purpose in life. My body loves to feel vigorous. Unstoppable and healthy. My body likes to feel happy.

The thing is, it's been hard for me to eat well lately. Three factors have been involved:

  1. The constant and recent oscillation between states of anxiety, depression and calmness.

  2. Living alone (my mom works from dawn until late at night) after three years of living as a couple, where the role in the kitchen was shared.

  3. I am overwhelmed by motherhood. I feel that every second — and energy of my days, I spend between dialogues that go like this: "Sayri doesn't like to eat that, I can try to cook it in a different way. He only eats that dish with avocado. I'm out of avocado. Will he fancy pasta again? I don't want pasta today. I don't crave protein but the nutritionist said every one of his meals should have protein. But he doesn't like that much meat so maybe grains. But I didn't soak them before. I don't want people to give him sweets . What do I do?" ...and that's for three meals a day. All days. It is the best of the surrealist performances that can exist.

So, after almost a month and a half of eating well only one out of every ten meals, and my body — and my mental health as a consequence — asking for help, I decided to make a meal prep of dishes that lighten the week and make me (and us) happier. This is not a recipe article persé but I do tell you, superficially, how each dish is prepared.

untitled.gif

What will be cooked:

  • Beef Rib Soup
  • Black Beans
  • Meat in Pineapple Sauce
  • Garlic Chicken Breasts (only the marinade)
  • Mango Chutney
  • Tomato Sauce
  • Banana and Cocoa Truffles

OldRoll_1648072002753 (1).jpg


Sopa de Costilla de Res

Fue lo primero que hice al comenzar a cocinar ya que sería lo que más tiempo estaría en la estufa. Las costillas, ya descongeladas, las metí a cocinar en agua con unas hojas de laurel y algunos dientes de ajo.
OldRoll_1647901572753.jpg

Tres horas después, aproximadamente, la carne ya estaba blanda y se despegaba del hueso. Incorporé papas, zanahorias, ají dulce, un poco de pimentón, espinacas y una mezcla de cilantro y cebollín que guardamos en el congelador para agregar a los guisos y sopas. Y sal, por supuesto. En una hora más, estuvo listo. Y me quedó deliciosa, si puedo agregar.

De Colombia, específicamente de Bogotá, me quedó la sopa de costilla en las mañanas. Aún si pensaron que hice este plato para almorzar, la idea fue siempre desayunar con él. Y así he hecho desde entonces.

Beef Rib Soup

It was the first thing I did when I started cooking since it would be the thing that would be on the stove the longest. The ribs, already defrosted, were put to cook in water with some bay leaves and cloves of garlic.

Approximately three hours later, the meat was already soft and falling off the bone. I incorporated potatoes, carrots, sweet chili, a little bell pepper, spinach and a mixture of cilantro and green onion that we keep in the freezer to add to stews and soups. And salt, of course. In another hour, it was ready. And it was delicious, if I may add.

OldRoll_1647909803715.jpg


From Colombia, specifically from Bogotá, I fell in love with the rib soup in the mornings. Even if you thought I made this dish for lunch, the idea was always to have breakfast with it. And so I have done ever since.

OldRoll_1647957072716.jpg


Caraotas

Las hice el día siguiente porque, ese día, me di cuenta que se me olvidó ponerlas en remojo — como siempre. Entonces, luego de 24 horas en agua, sacándole siempre la espuma que se forma en la superficie del agua, las lavé y puse a cocinar en agua con hojas de laurel.

Estuvieron blandas en dos horas, aproximadamente. En ese punto, hice un sofrito con cebollín, ajo, ají dulce y cilantro. Cuando estuvo listo, lo agregué a las caraotas junto con sal, azúcar, comino (mucho), salsa inglesa y Salsa 57 — una salsa venezolana con tomate, vinagre y jugo de manzana.

OldRoll_1647965157431.jpg

Creo que debo mencionarlo ahora; el ají dulce es el verdadero sabor de la comida venezolana. Cuando llegué a Colombia, hace tres años, me causó mucha curiosidad cómo la gastronomía, siendo tan parecida, parecía estar separada por un abismo enorme de sabores. Era el ají dulce. Es mi mayor amor ahora.


OldRoll_1647965878264.jpg

Black Beans

I made them the next day because, that day, I realized that I forgot to soak them — as usual. Then, after 24 hours in water, always removing the foam that forms on the surface of the water, I washed them and put them to cook in water with bay leaves. They were soft in about two hours.

At that point, I made a stir-fry with green onion, garlic, sweet chili and cilantro that I added into the beans along with salt, sugar, cumin (lots of it), Worcestershire sauce, and Salsa 57, a Venezuelan sauce with tomatoes, vinegar and apple juice.

OldRoll_1647965620359.jpg

I think I should mention it now; Sweet chili is the true flavor of Venezuelan food. When I arrived in Colombia three years ago, I was very curious about how gastronomy, being so similar in the ingredients, seemed to be separated by an enormous abyss of flavors. It was the sweet chili. Since I realized it, it is my greatest love now.

20220328_112817.jpg


Carne en Salsa de Piña

Comencé haciendo un sofrito de ajo, cebollín y tomate.

OldRoll_1647911808417.jpg

Cuando el tomate estuvo blando y soltó todo su jugo, agregué pasta de piña (piña que metí en el procesador), le di algunas vueltas e incorporé carne de bistec salpimentada y cortada en tiras.

Meat in Pineapple Sauce

I started by cooking an stir-fry with garlic, green onion and tomato .

When the tomato was soft and released all its juice, I added pineapple paste (pineapple that I put in the processor), gave it a few turns and added steak meat cut into strips with salt and pepper until it was all cooked in the sauce.

OldRoll_1647912916589.jpg


Pechugas de Pollo al Ajillo

Para el marinado, hice una pasta de ajo y perejil en el procesador.

OldRoll_1647906582111.jpg

Salpimenté las pechugas, froté todo el marinado y las guardé en un tupper separado con plástico cortado de una bolsa. Y al congelador.

Así, al jalar el plástico, sale solo la pechuga que voy a cocinar a la plancha sin necesidad de esperar que se descongele todo para poder separar.

Garlic Chicken Breasts

For the marinade, I made a paste of garlic and parsley in the food processor. I salted and peppered the breasts, rubbed all the marinade and kept them in a tupperware with separators cut from a plastic bag. And to the freezer.

Thus, when I pull the plastic up, only the breast I'm going to cook comes out without having to wait for everything to defrost in order to separate it.
OldRoll_1647907337031.jpg


OldRoll_1648060900701.jpg


Chutney de Mango

Había olvidado, por completo, lo mucho que amaba el chutney de mango antes. Un amigo, @migud, me recordó el otro día cómo siempre llevaba mi Chutney de Mango con croquetas de lentejas a reuniones en casas de mis amigos. Era y es, de nuevo, mi favorito.

Es cuestión de meter en el procesador mangos (yo usé dos mangas), bastante ají dulce, cebollín y perejil. La sal, pimienta y el jugo del limón picado que llevaba semanas en la nevera, lo agregué luego.

OldRoll_1647906827762.jpg

¿Qué les digo? Se lo echo a todo. A las tostadas, al pollo, a las papas. La imaginación es el límite.

Mango Chutney

I had completely forgotten how much I loved mango chutney before. A friend, @migud, reminded me the other day how I always brought my mango chutney with lentil croquettes to gatherings at my friends' houses. It was and is, again, my favorite.

It is a matter of putting mangoes in the processor, lots of sweet chili, green onion and parsley. The salt, pepper and the juice of the chopped lemon that had been in the fridge for weeks, I added later.

OldRoll_1647904503678.jpg

What can I tell you? I eat it with everything. Chips, toasts, chicken, potatoes. The imagination is the limit.

OldRoll_1647904938716.jpg
OldRoll_1647904964399.jpg

Tomato Sauce

Pasta is one of Sayri's favorite foods. One of mines too. It is not complicated to make pasta, but if I can reduce the cooking time to a minimum, I will do it, gentlemen. I will do it.
OldRoll_1647902591732.jpg

I sautéed the garlic, sweet chili, capers and tomatoes in a splash of oil. When it was ready, I added tomato paste, the water from the capers and, when I was going to complete with the water from the olives, I noticed that it was a pot of oil. Oil, gentlemen. Noone in the house knows what happened there. So, instead of olive water, I completed with regular water. Bay leaves, salt, pepper, sugar, a touch of baking soda and let it reduce and thicken.

Salsa de Tomate

La pasta es una de las comidas favoritas de Sayri. Una de las mías también. No es complicado hacer pasta, pero si puedo reducir el tiempo de cocinado al mínimo, lo haré, señores. Lo haré.

Sofreí el ajo, ají dulce, alcaparras y tomates en un chorrito de aceite. Cuando estuvo listo, agregué pasta de tomate, el agua de las alcaparras y, cuando iba a completar con el agua de las aceitunas, noté que era un pote de aceite. De aceite, señores. Nadie en la casa sabe qué pasó. Así que completé con agua. Hojas de laurel, sal, pimienta, azúcar, un toque de bicarbonato de sodio y dejar que reduzca y espese.

OldRoll_1647902827099.jpg


OldRoll_1647907677964.jpg


Trufas de Banano y Cacao

Recuerdo la primera vez que hice trufas. Tendría unos 7 años y estaba en la academia de Inglés. Me maravilló lo rápido y sencillo que era hacer uno de mis postres favoritos. En mi casa, no se incluía a niños en la cocina. Fue mi primer receta. Me encantó meter mis manos en esa mezcla de galletas María y leche condensada. Hacer bolas y luego pasarlas por chispas de chocolate y comerme las que se me quedaban pegadas. Desde entonces, las trufas son uno de mis postres to-go.

Soy dulcera, ¿saben? Y chocolatera. Una de las malas prácticas alimenticias que he llevado los últimos meses es comer demasiado dulce para calmar mi ansiedad cuando, la verdad, es que ese exceso de azúcar solo me causa más ansiedad. También ver cómo he aumentado de peso. En fin, para ser tan sencilla la receta de las trufas, ha sido mi introducción más larga. También quiero que las hice al día siguiente siguiente, el miércoles, quiero decir.

OldRoll_1648054118307.jpg

Estas trufas las hice metiendo en el procesador avena, uvas pasas, coco rallado, maní, cacao, una pizca de sal y banano. Luego de formadas las bolas, las pasé por más coco rallado. Por tener banano fresco, deben estar siempre refrigeradas y se conservan, aproximadamente, una semana.

OldRoll_1648054695630.jpg

Banana and Cocoa Truffles

I remember the first time I made truffles. I was about 9 years old and it was in the English academy. I was amazed at how quick and easy it was to make one of my favorite desserts. In my house, children were not included in the kitchen so that was my first recipe. I loved putting my hands in that mixture of Graham cookies and condensed milk. I loved making the balls and then roll them in chocolate chips and eat the ones that stick to my hands. Since then, truffles are one of my go-to desserts.

OldRoll_1648053865189.jpg

I love sweets, you know? And chocolate. One of the bad eating practices that I have carried out these recent months is eating too much sweets to calm my anxiety when, in truth, that excess sugar only causes me more anxiety. Also, to see how I have gained weight. Long story short, for the truffle recipe to be so simple, it has been my longest introduction. I also wanted to let you know I made these on Wednesday, instead of Monday, by pure procrastination.

I made these truffles by putting oatmeal, raisins, grated coconut, peanuts, cocoa, a pinch of salt and banana in the processor. After the balls were formed, I rolled them in more grated coconut. Because they have fresh bananas, they must always be refrigerated and are kept for approximately one week.
OldRoll_1648055540971.jpg


OldRoll_1648056228533.jpg


Bonus recipe #1 - Cookies:

The truffle mixture was delicious and I, who am a big fan of afternoons with cookies and hot milk, made a little more to make cookies. Yes, gentlemen, I only changed the shape. Eating truffles with milk is not the same satisfaction as _dipping_ some cookies in milk.

I didn't have any raisins left so I added a little bit of honey to obtain the sweetness. And I cooked them in the iron for a couple of minutes just to seal the shape.

Sayri made the dog and dinosaur cookies. He told me they woof-woofed, rawred, and had eyes, ears, and a tail. I could cover The Little Prince with him.

OldRoll_1648054193023.jpg

handsome sous-chef

Receta bonus #1 - Galletas:

La mezcla estaba rica y yo, que soy muy fan de las tardes con galletas y leche caliente, hice un poco más para hacer en forma de galletas. Sí, señores, solo cambié la forma. No es la misma satisfacción comer trufas con leche que mojar unas galletas en la leche.

Ya no me quedaban uvas pasas así que agregué un poquito de miel para obtener el dulzor que quería. Y las pasé por la plancha solo para sellar la forma.

Sayri hizo las galletas de perro y dinosaurio. Me dijo que hacían guau guau y rawr y que tenían ojos, orejas y cola. Podría versionar El Principito con él.
OldRoll_1648057167717.jpg


OldRoll_1648067870356.jpg


Bonus recipe #2 - Cabeza de Gallo (which translation would be Rooster Head):

On Wednesday, I wanted to have garlic chicken with mango chutney, mashed potatoes and cabeza de gallo for lunch. I only had to make the mashed potatoes and the cabeza de gallo while the potatoes were ready. The thing is, I made enough for several days, and it keeps very well, so it became part of my stock.

Cabeza de gallo is a typical preparation from the Amazonas state in Venezuela that is made by soaking Mañoco, a bitter yucca cereal that can be eaten with absolutely anything, sweet (with milk and sugar is divine) or salty, even in water (yucuta), and that it is a fundamental part of the nutrition of that population and of the indigenous peoples who dedicate all day to working their conuco: the land.

I do not have photos of the preparation, since I did not plan to include it, but all you need to do is to hydrate the manoco in water cor a few minutes (it will get bigger) and add tomato, onion and a lot of finely chopped sweet chili. A splash of oil, salt and ready. I add lettuce for the simple fact that I love lettuce. Basically, it becomes a very nutritional salad.

OldRoll_1648060812473.jpg

And, taking advantage of the publicity moment, if someone from Anzoátegui — or from any Venezuelan state who reads my publication, is interested and encouraged to try it — I sell Mañoco 🙋🏽‍♀️

Receta bonus #2 - Cabeza de Gallo:

El miércoles, quise almorzar pollo al ajillo con chutney de mango, puré de papas y cabeza de gallo. Solo tuve que hacer el puré de papas y la cabeza de gallo mientras las papas se ablandaban. La cuestión es que hice suficiente para varios días, y se conserva muy bien, así que pasó a ser parte de mi stock.

OldRoll_1648060792151.jpg

Cabeza de gallo es una preparación típica del estado Amazonas en Venezuela que se hace remojando Mañoco, un cereal de yuca amarga que se puede comer con absolutamente todo, dulce (con leche y azúcar es divino) o salado, incluso en agua (yucuta), y que es parte primordial de la nutrición de esa población y de los pueblos indígenas que dedican todo el día a trabajar el conuco, la tierra.

No tengo fotos de la preparación, ya que no preveía incluirlo, pero es hidratar el mañoco en agua unos minutos (se infla y rinde muchísimo) y agregarle tomate, cebolla y bastante ají dulce bien picadito. Un chorrito de aceite, sal y listo. Yo le agrego lechuga por el simple hecho de que amo la lechuga. Básicamente, se vuelve una ensalada bien nutricional.


Y, aprovechando el momento de publicidad, si alguien de Anzoátegui — o de cualquier estado venezolano que lea mi publicación, se interesa y anima en probarlo — yo comercializo el Mañoco 🙋🏽‍♀️

flor.png

Ya van 4 días desde que expecé a alternar estos alimentos en mis comidas diarias. Siento mi cuerpo respirar y funcionar mejor al alimentarme más conscientemente. Al menos, la culpa de comer mal, o de no comer, desapareció. Y si ni la nutrición ni minimizar el tiempo en la cocina les llama la atención, les cuento que también se minimiza la limpieza. Es un win-win.
It's been 4 days since I started to alternate these foods in my daily meals. I feel my body breathe and function better by eating more consciously. At least the guilt of eating poorly, or not eating at all, disappeared. And if neither the nutrition nor minimizing time in the kitchen catches your attention, I can tell you the cleaning is also minimized. It's a win-win.

200 Image 2022-03-15 at 4.30.45 PM.png

Ney is a 25 year old Venezuelan writer figuring out her voice and place in this world through her words. She speaks spiritually oriented while discovering how to balance adulthood and motherhood without letting her wanderlusty, more artistic self behind of the ride.



Will you join her?

Sort:  

Wow, Ney, qué excelente artículo! La conversación interna la escuché con tu voz, jajaja. Mucha Luz, Abundancia y Dicha para ti y Sayri, que todo fluya como deba fluir. Si necesitas de mi servicio rúnico, estoy a tu disposición. Bendiciones!

Muchísimas gracias por ese comentario sobre mi trabajo, Javi! ❤❤❤ jajajajaajaj puedes escucharlo con mi voz pero le faltó un poco de mi jerga!
Y, sobretodo, mil gracias por ofrecer tus lecturas, lo aprecio de corazón 💙
Bendiciones y luz para ti, amigo!


The rewards earned on this comment will go directly to the person sharing the post on Twitter as long as they are registered with @poshtoken. Sign up at https://hiveposh.com.

Love your Foodie post!

Yum! You have been curated @taco.cat on behalf of FoodiesUnite.net on #Hive. Thanks for using the #foodie tag. We are a tribe for the Foodie community with a unique approach to content and community and we are here on #Hive.

Join the foodie fun! We've given you a FOODIE boost. Come check it out at @foodiesunite for the latest community updates. Spread your gastronomic delights on and claim your tokens.

Join and Post through the Community and you can earn a FOODIE reward.

Banner_followBHcommentsize.png

Your content has been voted as a part of Encouragement program. Keep up the good work!

Use Ecency daily to boost your growth on platform!

Support Ecency
Vote for new Proposal
Delegate HP and earn more

Hi Ney! Long time no see, I hope you're well. Maybe you don't remember me but I remember you! :P

Congrats on such a successful meal prep. You've now received an honorary badge for another day of putting in the work and delivering awesome results as an adult. For real, this is inspiring. I love meal prepping, does it show? Haha

Loved the look of the photos; kind of earthy, homey. Quite a cozy look. Wouldn't mind being invited, and of course, I'd help cook. Or do the dishes and leave the cooking to you; it all looks so scrumptious!

This was a nice read, thank you for sharing. Be well and see you around!

You're so kind! Thank you for commenting on my adulting skills, the photography and everything else! You're more than welcome to come around, if you're ever near Puerto la Cruz, to eat delicious and joyous food 💙

AND YES, el mañoco es bueno con todo y hasta solo!!! Es impresionante, polifacético jajajajajajaajaj

P.D. AMO el mañoco jajaja la crema de auyama no es lo mismo sin el mañoco.

(And of course I remember you! I actually stalked you not long ago!)

Dios mio ya voy saliendo a tu casa jajajajajaja qué delicia todo!!! En especial el Chutney de mango que lo extraño demasiado

Delicioso quedó!!! Tengo que hacer más. Una comida más y se acaba!

Congratulations @neyxirncn! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s):

You received more than 4750 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 5000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

Hive Power Up Month - Feedback from February day 25
Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!