Craving Afang 🍲

in Foodies Bee Hive β€’ 2 years ago

Hi foodies, hope you've been doing great? .....
I'm glad to be back here again today with a blog on the preparation of a Nigerian dish. This soup originated from the south-south part of Nigeria called Cross Rivers state, it is popularly known as Afang or Okazi soup and it's currently my best soup, since I was feeling a bit under the weather the past few days, I decided to make it as a treat to myself and this is how it went.

Ingredients
  • Meat
  • Onions
  • Okazi leaf 🌿
  • Waterleaf
  • Dry fish (and/or stockfish)
  • Salt and seasoning cubes
  • Fresh pepper 🌢️
  • Crayfish 🦐
  • Palm oil (aka red oil)
Preparation

First, I washed the Waterleaf with salt, washed the dry fish and removed the bones, I also steamed the meat with two seasoning cubes and salt, diced the onions.

After washing and steaming, I put a clean pot on the fire and added the Waterleaf inside the pot with a cup of water, I also added the onion, pepper and dry fish and stirred.

I let it boil for a while and add my meat and meat stock and stir, after boiling for some time, I add my Okazi leaf, seasoning cubes, salt and crayfish. Also, it is said that preparing this soup with a wooden spatula is better than spoon and after putting the Okazi leaf, it's not good to stir immediately (both reasons, I've forgotten πŸ˜…).

The Okazi leaf takes a while to soft so I let it boil very very well before adding the palm oil as the last ingredient.

After boiling very well, I tasted it to make sure all ingredients and seasoning blends in well and voila 😌.

The aroma of this dish is just beautiful and I can't get enough of it, it can be taken with eba (cassava flour), semo or pounded yam.

Thanks for visiting my blog ❀️✌🏽
❀️&πŸ•―οΈ

Sort: Β 

Hey friend.
Why are you doing this to me right now πŸ˜‹πŸ˜‹πŸ˜‹πŸ˜‹
Well, I really really love this soup a lot.
I am coming to your house like this oo.

He he πŸ˜‚
Please come fast o because if my family members come back it's gone πŸ˜‚.
Let me remove your own and put inside flask 😁

Ahhh
Dangerous πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚
Who doesn't love good food.
Please remove and save some for me in the flask

It's alright πŸ˜‚
I've saved it but don't waste time o, I don't trust myself πŸ˜‚

πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚

Hello friends, I thank you and enjoy cooking with you, I hope it is delicious.

It is very delicious indeed.
Thank you so much πŸ₯°

Yes dear.

Congratulations @orah14! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s):

You received more than 2000 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 2250 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

World Cup Contest - New Sponsor - LeoFinance joins the party with 1000 more HIVE!
World Cup Contest - New Sponsor and Prizes - dCrops adds 30000 CROP and 300 NFTs
HiveBuzz World Cup Contest - Collect badges and win prizes - More than 5500 HIVE to win
Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!

To tell you the truth, I think this is the first dish I've come across that mixes meat (what kind of meat is that?), fish and crayfish. These are ingredients that seem incompatible to me. Maybe that's why this dish is so delicious, healing, downright magical, as you describe it. 😊

Wow, here we mix them sometimes and the taste is magical 😁.
I used both goat and cow meat (beef)

This looks delicious. It was the Bush meat that got my attention...lol

It was delicious indeed πŸ˜…
Thank you so much πŸ₯°

That's amala right

No sir
It's not 😊

The dark color makes it look like amala.. What swallow is that

It's a soup sir, not swallow.
Afang soup originated from the south - south, Calabar.

Oh.. I get.
sorry if I misunderstood.. The last picture made it look like there was a swallow in it... I miss eating afang soup

😊
I understand now
Thank you very much 😊