Patsitivity's Food Diary #1: Playing an important role

in Foodies Bee Hive2 years ago (edited)

Green Brush Stroke Food Review Poster (1).png


Patsitivity's Food Diary Launching

Hello foodies! Here's your resident wannabe chef serving you something fresh and delectable this time around. It's been what? 2 or 3 months since I last posted in this community?

So I've been thinking of creating my own internal category. My boyfriend has this Food Memories segment wherein he writes all about his food trips. In my case, I have my Bake/Cook with Patsitivity wherein I share all the recipes I've tried at home. But those food trips outside the house have no category to fall into (and I hate it! haha). Everything has to belong somewhere!

Honestly, I rarely dine out. I've been keeping track of my calorie intake and have been convinced that eating meals at home is healthier and affordable. I dine out twice or thrice every two months if I'm lucky to be invited by friends 😂 or if I really miss them, I'd organize a simple dinner somewhere we've never been to. But with December full of surprises and what I'd love to label as 'eating marathons', there seemed to be food day in, day out every single day. Might as well share the most memorable ones here, starting now!

Let's keep moving, shall we?


Oh, it's a NO!

Early last 2021, I've been appointed as the youngest Board of Trustees in one of the non-profit organizations I'm affiliated with; moreover they thought it's strategic to assign the Events Management to me given I'm the least busy in the group (as if haha) and yes, the only millennial. But of course, it is with a happy heart that I accepted the position, anything that helps me grow my network and hone my skills, I'm in!

"Let's organize a Christmas Party! Take the lead."

One day, I received an email from our President asking if I could take the lead in organizing our Christmas Party. I certainly don't have any problem organizing anything as long as I have enough time to do it. This time tho she wanted a 3-tier cake in two minutes.

Two weeks, that's all I have to organize everything; it wouldn't be a big deal if this is the only thing I'm handling that time. But it's a December, peak season at work and with two projects at hand (one for implementation and the other about to start) there's no way I'm putting myself in a stressful situation! That's why I said "No, I couldn't do it."

In a matter of 24 hours, I changed my mind and took the huge responsibility because I knew no one's gonna take it. I figured I can do it with the help of our young secretariat, Hannah.


The day of the event

With so many challenges happening behind everyone's back, no one can tell that we pulled off such successful event in 10 days. We held the event at City Sports Club Cebu fronting Ayala Mall.

Green Brush Stroke Food Review Poster (3).png

Supposedly, there were only three of us manning everything on the day of the event, two from the Secretariat and yours truly. So I figured, I'll just bring my two gorgeous Demand Planning ladies of @lakwatserangthik to help me with the event registration and all other things that might arise during the event.

Green Brush Stroke Food Review Poster (2).png

The guests from member companies arrived one after the other and the room was filled with conversations both work-related and not.
Green Brush Stroke Food Review Poster (11).png

Dinner time came and I have to give signal to each table to get their food. We're very strict with our COVID protocols, hence we had to maintain basic health protocols such as social distancing.

Green Brush Stroke Food Review Poster (10).png


Choice wisely, girl!

I can be very hands-on to almost anything and yes, I made time to choose the food selection for this special event. I don't know if you'll agree, but for me, one of the most important role in any event is ensuring that people enjoy the served food, that they get to have enough selection and quality food. With this, it's with utmost care and consideration that I chose the dishes for this event.

Here are the dishes I chose:

Beef estofado was superb although not one I'd crave. But certainly delicious.

Green Brush Stroke Food Review Poster (6).png

Of course, chicken should be present too! I ordered Thai friend chicken. I honestly don't know what made them label this chicken "thai". Nonetheless, it was good but I thought it's texture is too tough.

Green Brush Stroke Food Review Poster (3).png

Up next is sweet and sour fish fillet. As much as possible, I'd love to make sure that we have all four (beef, pork, chicken and fish) in the offerings.

Green Brush Stroke Food Review Poster (5).png

And yup, veggies should balance out all the meat! Chospuey's the go-to vegetable dish for Filipino events.

Green Brush Stroke Food Review Poster.png

And penne pasta for people who dont or opt not to eat rice.

Green Brush Stroke Food Review Poster (4).png

We love pork in the Philippines; it'll be a heinous crime not to include a pork dish.

Green Brush Stroke Food Review Poster (2).png

And not just one but two! And yuuuup! That's pork lechon (roasted pig) artistically chopped and arranged, ready to be devoured by its patrons.

Green Brush Stroke Food Review Poster (7).png

And before people could ask for it, I also took care of the desserts. Now I've got everything covered, or so I thought!

It never crossed my mind to prepare for alcoholic drinks (given I don't drink hard liquor) but Ma'am Issa took care of it. I was surprised to see a bartender mixing drinks and asking ask what drink we'd take that night. Two minds are better than one!

Green Brush Stroke Food Review Poster (8).png


Raffles and Giveaways

One segment that people looked forward to was the raffle draw of household items ranging from a simple hand mixer to a washing machine and a 25k worth sound bar.

I hosted that segment even with a sore throat (not COVID related) and got none of the prizes. 😞 I even lost my voice for two weeks following that night. 😭

Green Brush Stroke Food Review Poster (4).png

Green Brush Stroke Food Review Poster (6).png


Videoke Challenge

And just when people thought that was it, they're all wrong. Our president initiated a Karaoke Challenge wherein all participants will take home Php 500 ($10) and the winner will be given Php 2,000 ($40) on top of the $10.

We,Filipinos, love to sing with or without an angelic voice. We grab the microphone as if our voice's the best one could hear in their lifetime. We heard those kind of voice during the contest haha Not gonna tell who. 😂

Green Brush Stroke Food Review Poster (9).png

We were having fun and chilling during the entire contest.

Green Brush Stroke Food Review Poster (5).png

It was heart-warming to see people enjoy the event especially the food, the company of each other. And take note this was our first face-to-face event for the past two years (thanks to COVID), that's why it's really a big deal to me. I'm just glad the event came out a huge success and everyone's happy.

Before we bade farewell, we took group photos:

viber_image_2022-01-13_20-53-11-414.jpg

viber_image_2022-01-13_20-53-35-303.jpg

That's all for my first Food Diary! See you in the next one! 😁


Brown Chef Hat Food Bakery Logo.png

Patsitivity

Living life intentionally every single day, she believes that there’s no limit to one’s potentials. Right now, she’s on the loose for the pursuit of endless holistic self-growth and development. She wants to light the way for others. She believes there’s no better way to leave a legacy than to pay it forward.

Her ultimate goal in life is to reach the state of enlightenment where there’s nothing but peace, love, happiness, and contentment - nothing more, nothing less.

If you are captivated by what this girl just wrote here, an upvote is pretty appreciated. Follow her as she tells her stories full of positivities. The next story might be for you! ❤️

h
Sort:  

Gimingaw nalang ko sa food Miss dah! huehue You chose the best dishes that night po! It was such a pleasure to be part of that event. Thank you again Miss, @patsitivity ! 😊

You are very welcome, girls! Thanks for helping me out during the event! 😘❤️

Congratulations @patsitivity! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s):

You got more than 900 replies.
Your next target is to reach 1000 replies.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

Hive Power Up Month - Feedback from day 10
Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!

Pat, you definitely chose such mouthwatering dishes!! Just by looking at the photos of the sweet and sour fish and pasta.. I got hungry hahaha😋🤣

The beef estofado'smy fave Era! Hehe Gained weight after the event haha


The rewards earned on this comment will go directly to the person sharing the post on Twitter as long as they are registered with @poshtoken. Sign up at https://hiveposh.com.

Desssssertttt 🥺🥺🥺

Hahaha dessert imong weakness @pyng17cc? 😂