Food Photography: mystery of Polish chocolates

in Foodies Bee Hive3 years ago (edited)

Hi there my Hivean friends and followers!

Before we get to the actual topic of this post, let me explain one thing. The photo that you can see below is my actual photo of 3 chocolate bars that I placed on a table for the sake of photographing them for this post, I didn´t know the final picture would look like a cut out from a supermarket flyer, sorry about that :D

Now back to the (weird) topic. You are probably wondering what can be mysterious about Polish chocolates, right? It does sound a bit clickbaitish, I admit, but there is something to it. I don´t know if my Polish friends know, but as a matter of fact, Polish chocolates don´t have the best reputation in the Czech Republic. When I was a little kid, every year in the advent season, the supermarkets were flooded with those Christmas / St. Nicholas chocolate figures made in Poland that were barely edible and even though the situation has improved significantly over the years, Polish chocolates are still frowned upon by many Czech people.

However, very soon after we made Poland our temporary nomadic home a few months ago, we figured that Polish chocolates that are made and sold here in Poland are actually fantastic! They are made from top quality ingredients, have a high content of cocoa, taste amazing and are surprisingly cheap. Here is the photo I told you above, it depicts 3 flavors of the Luximo chocolate, one of my favorite brands here:


IMG_20210203_110203.jpg


As you can see in the picture, they contain 70% or 85% of cocoa and are really delicious. Nevertheless, that one 100 g (3.5 oz) bar is just 3.5 Polish Zloty, which is not even 1 USD or approximately 0.75 EUR. I don´t know how the prices of quality chocolate are in your countries but in the Czech Republic, such chocolate would set you back at least twice or even 3 times more than that. So I was really surprised to see how good and cheap the chocolates are here in Poland. Needless to say I eat tons of them now :D

How about you guys? Do you like these dark chocolates with high content of cocoa or do you prefer the sugary milk chocolates? What was the highest content of cocoa in chocolate you have tried so far? Did you like it? Let me know in the comment section below, I am looking forward to having some nice chocolate discussion down there :)




This post was created by me for the Hive blockchain exclusively. All rights reserved.



7ohP4GDMGPrUMp8dW6yuJTR9MKNu8P8DCXDU9qmmivwA3A1QLkipSxWEChTncCX3jvtMRvcYq1rkYyx9mzv36Uegna899gd6PWdp.jpg


Thank you for visiting my blog. If you like posts about Nature, Animals, Ecology, Crypto, Traveling, Photography and discovering secrets and beauties of the World, feel free to follow me as these are the topics I mostly write about. Have a wonderful day and keep on hiving! :)

Sort:  

Chocolate junkie. That's me.
Quantity over quality.
Having said that, sometimes I recognise quality. & when it comes to that, Swiss & Belgian chocolate brands are probably the best.
When in Germany, I usually eat mostly Alpia, which IMO has the best value for the price. (Usually bought it on special offer between 30 & 50 Euro cent per 100g. Don't know how much it costs nowadays.)
Here in Greece I usually go for the Lidl own brands, which are luckily in recent weeks often on offer between 40 & 60 cents.

&, of course, I prefer the sweet stuff: noisette or nougat.

(Never tried East European chocolate, but several Chinese brands: they generally suck.)

Now this is a very solid contribution to the chocolate debate, thank you! :D Btw I didn´t know you can have a chocolate bar for as little as 0.3 or 0.5 EUR in Germany, wow... You would have a hard time finding a chocolate with this price in the Czech Republic, even though the Germans have much higher salaries...

As I said, special offers & it was a while ago. But I checked just now & not much has changed, it seems: special offer 44 cent, normal price 69 cent.

I noticed long ago that Germany has surprisingly cheap food. Even compared to China, if you consider the low salaries there. Here in Greece pretty much everything is more expensive except for fresh fruits, vegetables & fish. Funny enough, even some Greek specialties (like bread sticks) cost more here than in Germany.

Wow, I had no idea... Apparently, the Germans can dine like royalty every day :D

What a nice presentation those chocolates have! Here in Venezuela the best cocoa in the world is produced, but currently with all the economic problems we have here, a 100 gr chocolate bar is expensive, about $ 2 ... I like all chocolates hahaha but I prefer the ones that have higher percentage of cocoa.

Wow, I can imagine 2 dollars for a chocolate is way too much for the poor locals to pay :( Reminds me of the African paradox - they produce the cocoa that most chocolates in the world are made from and yet, a vast majority of those who work on those plantations will never have a chance to buy one :( I recently saw a very sad documentary about it on Netflix...

I heard about that documentary, fortunately here we didn't reach those extremes of slavery, but about 4 years ago due to the entire economic situation here plus the blockade and sanctions on Venezuela, certain products such as chocolate have become a luxury, hopefully we will soon overcome this hyperinflation and we can swim in chocolate again hahaha

I hope you do guys! Your country has been through so much lately... Hopefully some more peaceful and prosperous years are ahead of Venezuela ;)

Hope so! Thank you!

Good to know. I live in Poland but haven't tasted this chocolate yet. Will have to try. Most of the good old companies were either sold or went bankrupt so it's good to know there are new ones.

I think this one (Luximo) is only sold in Biedronka or at least I didn´t see it anywhere else :)

OK, I see. So it's probably one of Biedronka's companies. Thanks!

Jako malý jsem měl rád karamelové KROWKI. Byl ale rozdíl, jestli se koupily v českém obchodě, nebo je dovezli známí z Polska.
Podle mne ještě pořád existuje dvojí kvalita. Nekupuj polskou čokoládu v Čechách ale zajeď si pro ni do Polska :-)

Krowki mi taky chutnají, ale to je fakt sám cukr (snad 60g cukru na 100 g výrobku), tak se snažím hledat zdravější alternativy a tyhle čokolády splňují všechny moje požadavky :) Jinak máš asi pravdu, horší kvalita potravin na export je nejspíš stále aktuální téma, bohužel...

!WINE


Cheers, @bucipuci You Successfully Shared 0.100 WINE With @phortun.
You Earned 0.100 WINE As Curation Reward.
You Utilized 2/3 Successful Calls.

wine-greeting


WINE Current Market Price : 1.105 HIVE