You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Stewed stingray fish with rice / Raya guisada con arroz

in Foodies Bee Hive3 years ago

I think I would have a hard time eating this species, I remember how we almost petted these curious fellas on some beaches in Mexico :) Before the sunset, they used to gather by the beach in literally just a few inches of water, almost crawling out of the sea onto the sandy shore to say hi :) Amazing creatures.

Sort:  

I understand you completely! I saw giant rays in Galapagos, although from the boat. When we establish a close relationship with any living being, our attitude towards them changes and we don't see them the same, we don't want to eat them ... I have not eaten any meat for more than 18 years, only fish is still in my diet, lately I have read about the importance of rays for the ecosystem, it is similar to that of sharks, here in Venezuela a type of shark called "cazón" (dogfish) is usually eaten a lot, I have stopped buying it, I must do the same with the stingray.

Thank you for being so environmentally aware and inspiring Sofia :) I know people in Venezuela have other stuff to worry about than the environment and the wellbeing of animals so I am really happy to know there are still people there like you who care about these things too. You have my utmost respect :)