Dinner in France, Paris - Tasty Roasted Snail "Escargot" at "Les AMOURS"

in Foodies Bee Hive2 months ago

It has been quite some time since I last wrote about food. It's not that I don't dine out or try new dishes; I just haven't experienced anything noteworthy enough to share, despite my extensive travels and culinary explorations. In Europe, I have found that dining out can be quite expensive, particularly in the Netherlands. After visiting numerous cities, I have developed a deep appreciation for authentic French and Italian cuisine. Authentic dishes often reflect the rich culture and history of a city, and I've found that the French and Italians are especially passionate about their food. I recall a memorable experience in Italy when I took the waiter's recommendation and was rewarded with an exceptionally delicious meal.

Today's story revolves around French food and a lovely little restaurant. Recently, I finally embarked on a long-awaited trip to Paris, France. Despite knowing that Paris has changed over the years, I couldn't resist its charm. My fascination with its monuments, architecture, fashion, cuisine, and, of course, the iconic Eiffel Tower made Paris a must-visit destination on my bucket list. I've always dreamed of visiting Paris, driven by a childhood fascination with the Eiffel Tower (strange fascination right!!) that I needed to fulfill, regardless of the city's current state.

My stay in Paris was really short yet I have a lot on my plate to share with you about the Paris streets, monuments, etc. So, today I am taking a small step to write about my experience with French food in Paris. More to come soon...


sdfs.jpg


Les AMOURS, Paris


On our first night in Paris, we decided to experience the nighttime view of the Eiffel Tower, especially the enchanting blinking light display. Anyone visiting Paris wouldn't want to miss this magical moment of the blinking light display of the Eiffel Tower by the Seine River, and I was no exception. I wanted to capture and cherish that memory. We took a taxi to our destination and, after admiring the stunning night view; we set out to find a place for dinner, with French cuisine as our priority.

We strolled along Avenue de la Bourdonnais, searching for a suitable restaurant. Along the way, we discovered several charming souvenir shops, and I couldn't resist buying a few adorable items. It's a tradition of mine to collect souvenirs, mainly keychains and fridge magnets, wherever I go.

The night view in Paris felt serene and distinct compared to the bustling daytime atmosphere. Initially, we worried we might not find a restaurant open at such a late hour—it was around 10:30 PM by then, and we had lingered longer than planned at the Eiffel Tower.


20240520_221817.jpg20240520_223851.jpg20240520_232823.jpg

To my surprise, most of the restaurants on that avenue were open and people were enjoying drinks outside. I didn't even feel the time that we were too late for dinner. We started looking at the displayed menu outside of the restaurants and finally found a restaurant for dinner "Les Amours". I don't know the meaning of Les Amours but seeing their menu, I thought the food would be good. I didn't even check their ratings or anything, we all were just hungry.

20240520_223607.jpg

20240520_223900.jpg

20240520_223912.jpg


We were offered a table for 4 persons. The inside of the restaurant was very small and compact with people. I didn't even walk properly and the dining space was quite narrow and uncomfortable. Compared to fancy restaurants in Paris, this restaurant was nothing. I have seen many great and well-designed French restaurants on social media but I didn't have the energy to go somewhere else because I was so tired after a long day. It was also quite disappointing after entering in the restaurant and seeing the table for dinner. But the restaurant was clean.

The inside of the restaurant was okay, the only disadvantage was the space inside of the restaurant...


20240520_232043.jpg

20240520_232048.jpg


A waiter came and gave us the menu. My eyes instantly went to Escargot and Crème brûlée. Creme Brulee is my all-time favorite dessert. I tried Escargot when I was in Kharkiv but it was frozen one, not fresh so I wanted to try this dish in France. So, when I saw that dish, I knew what I wanted. This restaurant is known for traditional dishes so somewhere I knew the food would be good.

So we ordered, Escargot, Roast Farm Chicken & Homemade Mashed Potatoes, Beef Fillet with red wine sauce and Sautee Potatoes, Sea Bass with Salsa Champagne and last but not least Cream Brulee for me...


20240520_225436 (1).jpg


Escargot is basically a popular French snail dish cooked in butter, and white wine or stock. The sauce is made of garlic, butter, and parsley. This is oven-roasted snail served with creamy garlic butter sauce. People have a love-hate relationship with this dish. Some people really like this dish and some absolutely dislike it. If you cannot eat snails, you won't love them at all. I love it, especially because the sauce is so good.

Food didn't take much time to arrive and look at our table, completely full of food.


20240520_225427 (1).jpg

20240520_225403.jpg

20240520_225423.jpg


Other dishes were also delicious, meat and fish cooked with perfection. The meat was juicy, and tender, and the fish was fresh, soft, and juicy. But nothing could beat the flavor of those small snails. They were just too good; tasty, juicy, and succulent. Champagne was not for me, it was my sister who ordered it. We shared our food and had a taste of each other's meal.

20240520_224616.jpg20240520_232821.jpg20240520_225409.jpg

Dinner was delightful, and we all thoroughly enjoyed our meal. The food was delicious, and rich in flavor, and that was what mattered most to us.

On our first day in Paris, we had an excellent food experience that left us with no complaints.



Love

Priyan...



I am @priyanarc.... An architect, a dreamer, and a passionate writer who loves to write about life. I try to present my own perspective and experiences. Please leave your feedback and criticism because it's the only way I can know and reach your mind and thoughts easily...



Find me on:


The author captures all images used...

Sort:  

Paris is so great, this part of your trip, everything that this restaurant offered you looks so good.
I congratulate you for realizing this dream and I hope that you can fulfill many more dreams.

I hope you have a great week.

Paris was nice, especially seeing the iconic Eiffel Tower and other monuments. My stay was short, I was there only for a day so I explored only a few locations. It's a crowded metropolitan city but still nice.

Sometimes, the small, quaint places are the best! 😋

That's absolutely true, I saw asian shops, they are very small yet the food is very good... How are you dear @thekittygirl , I hope you are doing well. Thank you for stopping by...

Oh, sweet goodness. I couldn't help livking my lips as you mentioned snails. It is one of my favourite foods to eat, and just seeing how you gave a vivid detail of it, I can't help letting out a deep sigh.

It is nice seeing you out to Paris with your sister, and you are right. The restaurant looks clean. Paris is one of the countries on my list and surely, I'll visit.

I couldn't help livking my lips as you mentioned snails.

You can also make it at home because you don't need many ingredients if you know how to clean and cook snails. This dish is really delicious...

Paris is one of the countries on my list and surely, I'll visit.

I hope your dream will come true one day, nothing is impossible. I never thought I would be able to visit Paris and here I am... Paris is nice for seeing and experiencing the monuments and history.

Thanks, dear for taking the time to read the blog...

Haha... I know how to cook snails. It is one of the meals we enjoy at my place.

I hope so, too. Yeah, sure. I have heard so much, and I'll get to talk about it too.

Thanks for taking us on your walk and showing us those heartwarming delicacies.

I know how to cook snails. It is one of the meals we enjoy at my place.

Then you should try to prepare this dish, you won't be disappointed...

Thanks for reading...

Hehe...sure babe. I sure will. Gracias.

Happy day Priyan!. I think we all deep down want to see the Eiffel Tower at least once in Paris, you have found a way to make it a fundamental part of those of us who intend to travel, I hope to see the city someday. Here in my country we enjoy Italian and French food a lot, but I am sure I need to go there to enjoy the real traditional taste, besides, I hope my first experience will be in a beautiful place like the one you share today. I loved your pictures 🥰

I think we all deep down want to see the Eiffel Tower at least once in Paris

Yes, we all want that whenever we see pictures or videos of the Eiffel Tower. About Italian food, you actually need to visit Italy because you only get to taste authentic Italian food in Italy. France is also the same. The croissants and coffee were too good, I will write about breakfast soon...

I hope my first experience will be in a beautiful place like the one you share today.

It will definitely...

Thanks for your time, have a good day...

Honestly, the way you describe your experience at Les Amours makes me want to try escargot. Looks like a great start to your Paris trip, despite the restaurant's small space. Wow can't wait to see more good friend

Escargot is a really good French dish to try at least once, then you can decide whether to love it or hate it. French cuisine is really delicious and they have so many delicacies when it comes to food. I will write a detailed travel post soon... Thanks for stopping by...

Have a good week...

Wow really can't wait for the detailed travel post good friend, your travels are always so great

Several things to highlight in your publication:
First, the very accurate way in which you explain the trip, the food the place and everything about this part of the Gallic capital,

Second, I loved the restaurant. Beyond the size and design I like its simplicity and intimacy,

Third, I appreciate the value of family and, this trip with your sister you must be enjoying it very much.

I wish I could visit this beautiful city that in exactly one month will host the Olympic Games.

Thank you very much for sharing.

You have whetted my appetite.

Happy travels.

Cheers and best regards.

First of all, my apology for not replying earlier because somehow I forgot to reply. Thank you so much for taking the time to read the post and it actually means a lot. When someone reads the post and discusses what is written on the post really makes my day most successful.

The restaurant was a normal restaurant, there was nothing fancy about its interior but the quality of the food actually expressed the authenticity of French traditional cuisine.

I had a good time with my sister and we enjoyed our tour a lot. We still talk about our trip almost every day and hope that soon (we don't know when) we will meet again...

I wish I could visit this beautiful city that in exactly one month will host the Olympic Games.

Yes, I saw the city was preparing for the Olympic games and most of the monuments were under renovation for the games. I am not going there during that time, very expensive...

Thank you so much for the support @tonyes

There are no problems.

The most important thing is that you responded and more than that is that you had fun and enjoyed your sister. For me, there is no greater joy than that.
I hope you will be able to return to Paris soon.
Happy journey.
Cheers and best regards.

I still haven't find the courage to est snails but everyone say it's a yummmi dish.

It's a delicious dish but not everybody likes eating snails which is completely understandable. Maybe one day you may try it out of curiosity just for taste 😁

The place looks so amazing, and the foods looks so delicious. It seems that you really enjoyed your dinner.

The food was good and worth of money, we had a really nice dinner...

Looks incredible, I loooove french cooking! Anything cooked with wine is soooo good. I'm glad you got to go to Paris! And jealous. I went when I was 7, a very long time ago. I have fond memories of cobbled streets and alleyways and little shops full of trinkets.

Anything cooked with wine is soooo good.

Really!! I didn't know that...

I'm glad you got to go to Paris! And jealous.

Next time you should Plan for Paris and I will join you. It's time to revive old memories and experience Paris as an adult Anna 😁

Ok! Let me just get these 500 other trips I have planned out of the way, lol.

Really though, that sounds splendid. Je parle un peux de francais. As in, that's all I parle.

500 other trips I have planned out of the way,

😁

Do you speak french?? OMG

Je ne parle pas francais!!! Mais non, je parle un peu:
Oui, non, merci, et escargot.

I studied it in private school when I was a snotty little private school kid, but when that school closed my French lessons ended. Tried again in high school but high school isn't for learning, it's for enduring. Now I only remember a little bit. I can read a little, thanks to knowing Spanish.

Wow, that's amazing because I didn't learn any other languages, unfortunately. I remember you told me you are fluent in Spanish...

Welllll, I was pretty much fluent once upon a time, like broken-fluent. But I haven't used it in years. If you dropped me in Mexico or Spain I'm sure it would come back. I love languages, and tend to pick them up quickly, but I have to be immersed in them for that to happen. Not many hispanohablantes here in Portland. And even less who speak French!

CKq55bDMMa5C9zjdaYBZxnPMSS25AZZuNXNLEYfzw2o7RznvGD2vzBRbDH4vP4bFjA2DoCbXAwo9bZBWrEKeCNaumQtyN4TPp8KNR7DwgJAmPxhmWiEeMsAaUB1qorVXzqBzT95BCg7ey5BxeLdfXVFFx9gv14JaHwZrnHGXMU9JYxCPVUow8TnBRwFuii6EuvsU9aafvRqVqjJ9o343ccawwh.png

Yum! You have been curated by @edwing357 on behalf of FoodiesUnite.net on #Hive. Thanks for using the #foodie tag. We are a tribe for the Foodie community with a unique approach to content and community and we are here on #Hive.

Join the foodie fun! We've given you a FOODIE boost. Come check it out at @foodiesunite for the latest community updates. Spread your gastronomic delights on and claim your tokens.

Reading a little, I remembered that a couple of weeks ago it had been International Escargot Day, and I remembered that I wrote about it at the time.
I've never tried this dish, but just reading about the white wine sauce with butter and garlic made me really hungry. I'm curious about the flavor of the dish itself.
By the way, despite the small space inside the restaurant, it is quite pleasant that the food was good.

Stay !ALIVE
!LUV !BBH
!Gif Scargots

I remembered that I wrote about it at the time.

Can you share with me that article you wrote? I would love to read it...

This dish is quite delicious and tasty, especially the sauce and you have to eat it hot otherwise it won't taste good at all. The sauce actually makes this dish so delicious...

dinner that looks very enjoyable :D

Absolutely...

Awesome place and so romantic 💕 I love Paris! Glad to see you here! Everything looks so delicious 🤤

The food was really good, have you been to Paris? By the good to see you. How are you?

I’m never be in Paris but always wanted 💕🙏I’m okay dear

I am sure you will get to see Paris one day and it will be soon...

Hope so my friend 🙏💕