Easy Dinner

in Foodies Bee Hive2 years ago (edited)

Two days out of the week, my husband and I have soup for dinner. All I have to do is pop the lids on my canning jars, pour the contents into a big pan, add spices and whatever extras I want. I make two weeks' worth of bread and freeze. All the can food is processed during summer harvest and canning season. I paint in the winter and don't want to cook when I am in the creative zone.

img_2408.jpeg

I helped butcher my neighbors' deer, and he gave me the ribcage, which has at least eight to 10 quarts of meat after boiling the meat off the bones. I also get the heart, liver, and tongue. I break off the ribs and cut the vertebra to fit in my colossal boiling pot. My dog Mina gets the bones. I also can the leftover liquid for broth. The leftover bones are burned with garden and tree debris and added to my compost for my garden. No waste.

mg_2414.jpeg

In the photo, you can see a half-gallon jar of canned broth, my garden green beans, carrots, salsa (peppers, tomatoes, onions), venison, and potatoes. I preserve potatoes that are getting old rather than tossing them out. I can grow my mushrooms, but I am too lazy right now.

img_2411.jpeg

The canned deer heart is tender after pressure cooking. It's like slicing through butter. It is so easy! No worries if the electricity goes out and your freezer full of food will go bad. You can save your food from spoiling by canning if you have a gas stove or even a wood-burning stove. I will create a series of blogs on how to pressure can meat.

img_2409.jpeg

You can add what you want for soups, stews, or pies. This time I am adding mushrooms, onions, and garlic. Add the broth and cook off some liquid to concentrate and meld the onion and mushroom flavors.

img_2410.jpeg

Heat and serve with bread once the broth is ready and seasoning and the canned ingredients.

img_2412.jpeg

I am an American, so I like sharp cheddar grilled cheese buns. My husband is Dutch and doesn't think cheddar is real cheese. He had to get used to eating American cheese. His favorite cheeses smell like dirty socks to me.

img_2413.jpeg

The buns are made from organic white flour, eggs, salt, and water. I buy bulk flour. I store the flour in one-gallon reusable freezer bags and store the flour in my freezer. I make two weeks' worth of bread and freeze. I also have several hundred pounds of wheat grain to grind into flour. I have a hand mill, and it's a workout making enough flour for a week's worth of bread. If anyone is curious about grinding wheat into flour, I write an article. The process has more involved than just grinding grain.

Bon apetit

some_textA link to My Blog

Sort:  

Love your Foodie post!

Yum! You have been curated @taco.cat on behalf of FoodiesUnite.net on #Hive. Thanks for using the #foodie tag. We are a tribe for the Foodie community with a unique approach to content and community and we are here on #Hive.

Join the foodie fun! We've given you a FOODIE boost. Come check it out at @foodiesunite for the latest community updates. Spread your gastronomic delights on and claim your tokens.

Join and Post through the Community and you can earn a FOODIE reward.

Banner_followBHcommentsize.png

“His favorite cheeses smell like dirty socks to me” haha that made me crack up !

I’m really envious of the way you guys go about food, canning food and butchering the animals on your own. Living close to nature, I would want that too ! Do you run kind of a homestead or live in the country side ?

We live in an unincorporated suburb on a 1/3 of an acre in Tulsa County. We can have chickens, which I have, plus the gardens. I'm thinking about buying a couple of goats to mow the lawn. 😂😂🙏 I'll get milk and cheese if I get a breeding pair. You can live like this too. I grew up this way, and so did my neighbors. Networking and a bit of yard will be a good start. There is a lot of hard work involved, it's like a workout at the gym, but you get food from your work, added bonus organic food, and stay in shape.

Goats really are great lawn mowers ! I understand it’s a lot of work for sure, but that’s how you appreciate the food or whatever you accomplished in the end. Plus like you say you get a great workout :)

Goats make great pets too; they poop a lot, though😂😂😂 💩

$WINE


Congratulations, @theguruasia You Successfully Shared 0.100 WINEX With @reddust.
You Earned 0.100 WINEX As Curation Reward.
You Utilized 1/2 Successful Calls.

wine_logo


Contact Us : WINEX Token Discord Channel
WINEX Current Market Price : 0.316

That's an awesome dinner with soup and variety are added, good see you in nice preparation and looking forward for how to preserve meat with pressure.