Soba Noodles With Shitake Mushroom Broth, Maple & Tamari Tempeh, Purple Kale & Beans [Damn It's Good To Be In My Kitchen Again]

in Foodies Bee Hive4 years ago (edited)

I know, I know. It's a stupidly long title. But, I had to distract you from the awful photography. I was so desperate to get a #fruitsandveggiesmonday post out for my dear friend @plantstoplanks here on the HIVE platform (where you can earn real money for your #food blogs - are you signed up yet?) and so desperately hungry that focussing on my plate wasn't a priority. Besides, I'm just not that good at it - yet - and the camera just wanted to focus on the black.

DSC00015.JPG

The black stuff? As it, what the HELL is that black stuff, as my sister in law asked when I sent her a photo of my dinner. In context, I'd been living with my sister in law in England where I kept lamenting that I couldn't get any of the ingredients I wanted. It's soooo nice to be in my own kitchen, and able to source food from my own garden and own local shops. The black stuff is purple kale. I really need to plant more of it - it's such a pretty plant! I mean, if you can have purple kale, why would you want any other colour?

And so, lunch. Soba noodles heated with the poured over broth. The trick is to cook the noodles first - three minutes, to the timer, and rinse them in cool water. Then you can set them aside whilst you are preparing the rest.

DSC00021.JPG

When you've cooked the noodles, it's an easy affair to get a quick stock on the go - this one with dried shitake mushrooms and dried green garlic onions that I had left over from last year, and some fresh shallots from the garden, and a stock to taste. As that gently simmers, fry your tempeh in olive oil until golden brown, adding grated ginger in a corner of the pan about half way through to soften and release gingery goodness. Turn the heat way down and wait til the beans and kale are steamed to the desired crunch. Mix some lime, tamari and maple syrup in a bowl to desired tang and sweetness and toss through the tempeh.

Then, it's assembly time. Simply place the cold soba noodles in a bowl, arrange the veggies and tempeh on the side, then pour over the boiling stock, which will reheat the noodles. Sprinkle with fried shallots and some sesame seeds on the tempeh, and enjoy.

This is one of those meals that doesn't take very long to cook, but needs a bit of timing to come together perfectly. If the stock and noodles are already made, and the tempeh is frying at the same time the veggies are steaming, you'll be pretty much on the clock.

Ah, it's soooo good to be back in my own kitchen.

If you're already on HIVE, or sign up soon, you can join in the fun for #fruitsandveggiemonday, where people post their predominately plant based recipes to share with others. You don't have to be a vegan to join in - just make your post plant based. If you'd like to know more, head over to @lenasveganliving, who hosts the challenge.

With Love,

https://gateway.ipfs.io/ipfs/QmcGSZxvsXD8YbSCNAo6KWc4a9RjXyRCjWupZdPXJapkXk

Are you on HIVE yet? Earn for writing! Referral link for FREE account here


PeakD - The Best Way to Experience The Hive Blockchain



Sort:  

Lol, I'm seriously (don't laugh at me please haha) wondering what that black stuff is.. I was like, is it black lettuce? I'm that girl that doesn't dare to go out of the comfort zone when it comes to eating, BUT I also have to admit that that's usually when it comes to food prepped by others. I could try out many different new things IF I have prepped them myself lol. For some reason I have more faith in a good outcome. Stupid right?

Today is not the good day for new things as I have a long long to do list, but I shall be peaking more often to get inspired by out of the box ideas of healthier food :)

!ENGAGE 25

Haha, it's kale!!!! I did write about that fact, haha... it's just like green kale but it's purple. Cool huh?

I'm sure I could convince you....

Sorry I didn't register that part, although I read it haha. It was a stressful day yesterday so my head was somewhere else :) lol. But if it's purple kale it's one of these things I always take of my food lol

Thank you for your engagement on this post, you have recieved ENGAGE tokens.

Not much that that won't fix!! Yum!! I love soba noodles and eat them often - there's a little vegan macrobiotic cafe here in CNX that does a perfect cold soba salad with a probiotic-tahini dressing.

Cooking in your own kitchen? Cooking anywhere really... healing magic as we give our attention to that which nourishes us.

Yum - that probiotic tahini dressing sounds great. Now I'm in my own kitchen with all my ingredients (that I couldn't get overseas) and can leave jars of things for months on shelves to bubble and brew, I should try a few probiotic dressings! Yum..

oops! I posted from the wrong account - it's @riverflows, of course!

You're funny. Conservative rural westernized England was an odd choice for someone wanting probiotcs and Asian food. LOL. Not to mention the English climate making fermenting an olympic sport degree of difficulty 9.7. LOL

Enjoy the kitchen and the bubbly goodness when it emerges. My memory of Melbourne winters hopes you have have consistent heat in your kitchen to groove it all along. Brrrr..... My mother moans daily about the icy weather and the frost damage to her Gippsland garden. ❄️

!ENGAGE 15

Thank you for your engagement on this post, you have recieved ENGAGE tokens.

And she's back! Woohoo! I don't care about the photos, I know well enough this meal is damn good. I just ate dinner and of course I'm drooling again. Purple kale really is the best. I mean, anything purple is a go for me. I have some purple kale from the market in the fridge right now, along with eggplant, purple beans, and purple bell peppers. Happy to have you back in the communal Monday kitchen! 💚

Thanks! I knew you'd love the purple. Some purple basil in your purple mix would be amazing! Already imagining a meal out of those veggie delights! Sounds quite royal, all that purple. Purple bell peppers??? Sheesh. Now thats proper awesome!!

Haha, I do actually have purple basil in the garden. I think I may just try dehydrating the purple green beans today for something different. The purple color may fade upon blanching them, but I read that it may return upon dehydrating. To the kitchen to experiment!

Wow! If all that purple, healthtastical deliciousness was prepared on one plate it would literally be fit for Royalty! The more vibrant the colours on the plate, the greater the anticipation for me, that aspect of dining is vastly under-rated IMO. The eyes certainly play an enormous role in the enjoyment.

Totally agree with you on the vibrant platters! I'm quite fond of purple and spring green together. That always has me drooling with anticipation. :)

Oh stop it you. :D

There is nothing wrong with the photos lol and actually the purple kale looks incredibly interesting,(( wait... I can do better, that word is not making you feel any better, is it?)) Effective! That's the word I was grasping for, anybody looking at that pic would naturally lean in to see a little better.

I have directed so, so many people towards a variety of mushrooms of late as a powerful anti-viral and immuno-boosting dietary necessity superfood ((sorry that term as been utterly devalued by marketing agencies over the last few years.)) Shitaki is a flavourful addition to any healthy dish and is a favourite of the Asian varieties.

Thanks for the heads-up about the chance to take part in the Monday initiative, it is incredibly appreciated. Thanks for the tip-off about the timings but if I am gonna be honest, if something wasn't rapidly going cold as I was waiting for something to finish cooking I would be out of my area of comfort lol.

Take good care and have an amazing week :D

Thanks! So sorry for tardy reply. Life called, in her sexy glory.

Shitaki is great - we always have a couple of packs of dried shitaki for camping or for when we're low on supplies - easy to add to stews, soups, gravies for that extra va va voom.

Ugh. Superfoods. Marketing.

if something wasn't rapidly going cold as I was waiting for something to finish cooking I would be out of my area of comfort

Haha - well, timing is everything - and boy, you feel super clever once you bring everything together in a flourish and air punch. However, it DOES leave my kitchen in a flipping mess.

oops! I posted from the wrong account - it's @riverflows, of course!

Congratulations @riverflows! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got more than 14500 replies. Your next target is to reach 15000 replies.

You can view your badges on your board And compare to others on the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!

Best food post I've read here on #hive so far. I haven't had my favorite noodles since the pandemic happened so I'm really missing it. I should start making my own though. The photography is fine and the title did not really distract me. The opposite really happened because it attracted me to read it as it contains all the good stuff. :)

Aw, shucks - that's such a nice thing to say. What are your favourite noodles? Thanks so much for your comment.

@riverflows

I would have to say ramen is my favorite, miso second and third is pho. Locally, we have mami noodles, which is my favorite Filipino noodle soup. :)

You need to have 1000 ENGAGE, in order to use this service.

Why the purple kale does look black? Is it not purple?
I thought the black one is seaweed if you don't mention it. This dish looks yummy and healthy.

It does look like black seaweed, and in fact, that's what gave me the idea for the noodles - it felt like I should do Japanese style noodles.

Looking tasty! I also thought on first glance the black was seaweed. But purple kale is fine in itself. Soba noodles.. hmmm making me hungry now!

It does look like black seaweed!! That's where I started - thinking 'seaweed - that's gotta be japanese like, right? Ah! Sesame seeds - tamari' - and it went from there. oops! I posted from the wrong account - it's @riverflows, of course!

Either way I'm sure its tasty :)

Why didn't I grow purple kale? That sounds like everything I would want to gobble up right now.

If this plate is a pool, I am diving in head first. Yuuuuuuummmmm!

I know right! Such a simple thing - you have to grow purple kale next time to wow everybody! oops! I posted from the wrong account - it's @riverflows, of course!

Most of the words in that post are unknown to me... Tempeh?! Tamari?! Someotherthing? What happened to meat and potatoes!

Ha, @bobydimitrov, you learn something new every day, right?

Now I have a craving for some kind of Eastern European goulash.... oops! I posted from the wrong account - it's @riverflows, of course!

What a fun meal! I need to hire a cook!

I'm for hire, but I'm quite expensive - and the flights are a bit impossible at the moment! @riverflows - oops! I posted from the wrong account.

That's a pretty looking plateful; I can almost forgive you on the ridiculously long title! No arguing allowed, it's been set and the vote has been made and you get the beneficiary this week. And in case you haven't guessed this post is in the newsletter. 😜

Curated for #naturalmedicine (by @minismallholding) - join our community here.


The Lotus Garden is a newsletter supporting content relevant to Homesteaders & supported by Natural Medicine. Earn LOTUS & HIVE for your #homesteading content!
About II Discord II Community

OH GOSH - really? Lol. I could try to argue, @minismallholding, but truth be told it's actually quite nice to recieve a little love! xx As you know, us Victorians need it more than most at the moment..

oops! I posted from the wrong account - it's @riverflows, of course!

Lol! Done that before, @riverflows!

The news coming out of Victoria at the moment is very unsettling. Sending lots of love your way.

Thanks. It's frustrating we can't leave the state! @minismallholding

I don't know why people spell tempe as tempeh because both words mean different thing in Javanese.

Tempe is the soybean cake and Tempeh means this round woven basket. I tried spelling it like the western spell tempeh and instead giving me the soybean cake, they gave me this woven basket :D

And I love tempe ! they are versatile and easy to cook.

Well there you go!!!! I didn't know that! It's on all the packaging here as 'tempeh' too! That's definitely now one of the fun facts I will keep in my tempeh, haha! oops! I posted from the wrong account.

hahahaha yeah. After reading your post, I went around into my place asking tempe or tempeh. All said tempe. I don't know why people add H on it cause it would mean different thing hahah

I also wondered what that black stuff was and I've never heard of soba noodles but it sure sounds like good stuff, glad you're finally back in your own kitchen @ riverflows, nothing like home not so ;)

They are great noodles.. made of buckwheat!

Ah the happy chef! So good to see you back home with the abundance of your garden and cooking up such interesting dishes!

Thanks! Who is that, by the way!?

Would love to try this, wouldn't mind the purple kale as I eat veggies too 👍🏼👍🏼👍🏼

Looks lovely and delicious. Purple kale is wonderful. A friend told me the other day that she put the stem into the oven for a while and it came out like a rib or something, might want to try it out someday!

Oh yes I eat the stems too!!! They are like green beans.