Sourdough Sunday

in Foodies Bee Hive2 years ago

PXL_20221030_133809764.MP.jpg

For this #foodies post, I wanted to start something new on Hive for me. What is it? Well, it would have to be sourdough Sunday. I love sourdough, and what better way to spend a Sunday morning than having a few slices of sourdough toast with butter and peanut butter on it? With a cup of coffee, too, of course!

PXL_20221030_134052551.MP.jpg

This loaf of bread came from a small baker called Scenic Ridge Shoppe. We purchased it at the Viroqua farmer's market yesterday, and I knew I needed to tap into it straight away this morning.

PXL_20221030_134056386.jpg

I love sourdough, but I've honestly been too lazy to make it. This exercise of sharing my sourdough bread finds will hopefully inspire me to make my own bread as we turn into the winter. Who knows? Maybe I might make something that I can actually eat??

PXL_20221030_134843825.jpg

After being toasted in our toaster oven...

And with some butter and peanut butter added to the mix:

PXL_20221030_135212798.jpg

Good stuff! The sourdough wasn't very funky; it was a very mild flavor that had a hint of wild yeast. I think next weekend I'll plan to find another little bakery in the area to make another purchase. With a few more rounds of this, I think I'll finally get the courage to make my own. I can't wait!

On to the next batch, #foodies! If you too have a sourdough eat to share, please do! And if you have any advice on how I should go about making my own, I would appreciate any help!

Sort:  

I love sour dough too. Take mine with tea

It's the best, isn't it?

do you make your own by chance? My gaol this fall/winter is to get at least one batch in here.

Sagesigma, you really should have a go at making your own sourdough! My wife got her starter going a few months ago and our "bread experience" has changed forever! It's a lot easier than one would imagine. I might be able to convince my other half to share her process here... 😊

Sweet that would be awesome! I did pick up a small book by an author Katz called Wild Fermentation that I thought I'd start with for a recipe, but any advice would be appreciated!

I think that it'll be a while before I get to post anything about my wife's handiwork with sour dough. What I will say though is that she spent time doing the research and then got her first starter going. If you have already got the book, all that's needed is to start. Getting your starter going is the first step in the journey of experimentation... Enjoy the journey!

I sense another psot soon, lol!

Ohohoh, this looks soooo delicious.
Tried putting some gouda on it and a few minutes in the oven? 🧀
running off gotta go get some bread.... 🍞

I've already scoped out my next sourdough to share for the coming weekend. Gouda sounds delicious, too