Best homemade caramel sauce recipe and how to avoid painful mistakes

in Foodies Bee Hive3 years ago (edited)

Hi Hive food lovers!

kmc_20211029_141300.jpg

I'll show you an easy way to make caramel sauce as well as how to avoid mistakes that I've experienced.

This sauce is used widely in cake decoration, dipping sauce for churros for example, filling (truflle) or drizzle on top of ice cream.
And I'm sure once you taste and you'll fall in love with it.
So let's get started to make this yummmmmmy sauce with me.

Caramel may remind you of Alpenliebe candy's magic flavor. In the old days, children in the countryside had Alpenliebe, it would be so special

Ingredients:

40ml water
150g sugar
30g unsalted butter
80ml cream
2ml vanilla/1tsp sea salt/ 20ml brandy

Method

kmc_20211029_141352.jpg

Add water first then sugar! Dissolve before turn heat on. Why? Watch until the end and you will not wonder why. This little change can save your caramel from the first time.

Choose a thick-bottom sauce pan so that caramel will not get burned so quickly. To be safe you should cook on low heat from the beginning or you can cook on medium heat so sugar melts quickly.

kmc_20211029_141421.jpg

Attention: Don't touch the pot whatsoever. Let it cook on low heat. Keep an eye on it. Don't leave it to watch Korean drama:)

When it turns to amber color, turn heat down to the lowest.

Off heat and cool it down, it's still cooking itself. it's extremely hot so be careful!

kmc_20211029_141434.jpg

Add in butter, little by little. Stir well until butter dissolves.

Then add cream in. Remember cream should be warm or at least at room temperature. Cold cream will react to hot caramel and you'll see volcano works😱

kmc_20211029_141514.jpg

Whisk until butter and cream disappear in caramel. Back to heat and bring the sauce just to boil. Done!

Since it's hot, it's quite thin and runny. At this step you can add vanilla, salt, or brandy to get different flavors.

kmc_20211029_141603.jpg

It can be made in advance, tightly covered and stored in fridge in 1 month or can be frozen in airtight container up to 3 months. Thaw at room temperature and warm up before use.

Voila! Now you have successfully made one of the best sauces in he world.

I added water after sugar, some sugar left above water and I tried to clean. I touched the syrup then sugar crystalized (pic below).

kmc_20211029_141630.jpg

This time I used milk instead of cream. Milk does not work for caramel at all (pic below).

kmc_20211029_141723.jpg

No problem. After many times dealing with "parents of success" (the way some people define "failure") I gained my lessons 😁

kmc_20211029_141612.jpg

You can check out the video on my youtube channel:

Hope you are successful with this recipe and avoid dump mistakes like me huh!

Footer Hive.png

All photos are my own and recaptured from my Youtube video.
Banner designed by Canva

Sort:  

Looks perfect and seems so easy. I never tried it, usually buy the packaged bottle. But looks like need to try.

Yep super easy and more tasty than supermarket products. Give it a try!😁

C ưi recipe hay quá. E suggest c đăng kí và post video lên 3speak đi ạ. Đó là bên hỗ trợ đăng video của Hive đó c🥰

Cảm ơn em! Chị băn khoăn ko biết nên đăng communities nào cho hợp lý, nên cứ post đại vào Foodie. Lần sau chị sẽ post vào 3speak xem sao :)

Dạ hem c ưiii. Đăng vô foodies là chuẩn rùi nè, ý là mình đăng kèm video lên 3speak á hihi. Có hướng dẫn đki hơi phức tạp tẹo e direct c qua message nha

Có gì bé hd chị Nhung giúp chị nhé :)

@snownz008 đừng upvote comment ạ :) Tiêu tốn RC của chị í

Don't leave it to watch Korean drama lol haha I laughed at that one. I remember trying to do this one years ago and somehow failing, I shall try again

True, don't leave caramel on heat for any reason :))
I hope you'll be successful with this recipe and wait to know your result.

Congratulations @snownz008! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You received more than 500 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 600 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

Hive Power Up Day - November 1st 2021 - Hive Power Delegation
Bee ready for the 2nd Hive Power Up Month challenge!
Trick or Treat - Share your scariest story and get your Halloween badge

Oh dear my partner in love with caramel sauce. They call it Dulce de leche in some Spanish speaking country. I might try to make it one day. However, I am not confident to tell when it is the amber colour. I've tried making this caramel sauce for flan and always find the smell and taste different each time

Yes it's a bit tricky at the beginning, I know. So my tip is to cook sugar on medium - low heat, when it turns to bright yellow, take off heat, wait a bit to see true color then put back to heat few sec if you want.

Awesome, I will try it today for my flan :)

And this is my Youtube video

Chef ơi, nay bầu làm foodie blogger trên Hive nè :) mọi thứ làm quá xịn sò, video quay đẹp nữa :) Em là đưa ít vào bếp nên ít có bài đăng về foodie :)