TacoCat (kinda) Cooks! #20: Easy Healthy Pasta Alfredo ๐Ÿ

in Foodies Bee Hive โ€ข 2 years ago

image.png

Hey Hive!

We're back with more of our home cooking! If you're unfamiliar with this series, it's where I showcase some of the recipes we've been trying at home since we've been cooking a lot nowadays! Also I'm running out of content so yeah gotta make the most of it!

So I've been trying a lot of different recipes lately and since it's been a while since we had pasta, I thought I'd try a pasta one for once! We've always just used store-bought pasta sauce whenever we make spaghetti so we've never really had cream-based pasta at home before and since that's one of Sean's favourites I thought I'd give it a try!

The recipe I was going to be following is this one from Tasty, but with some modifications!

image.png

Source: Tasty

Since we only had linguine at home, and we're not really big fans of penne pasta, I wanted to see if this recipe would be good with linguine. And I also wanted to add vegetables since Sean was going to bring some meat home.

So these were the ingredients I used:

  • butter
  • garlic
  • flour
  • milk
  • frozen veggies (broccoli and cauliflower)
  • carrot
  • shredded mozzarella
  • salt
  • pepper
  • chili flakes
  • mixed herbs
  • linguine
  • milk

image.png

Seasonings:

image.png

Milk:

image.png

And of course the pasta:

image.png

So Step 1: Cut the carrot and boil the vegetables together in a pot. Salt the water.

image.png

Step 2: mince the garlic. I put about 5 cloves since we love garlic.

image.png

Step 3: once the water is boiled, put the pasta in and let it soften so it can fit in the pot.

image.png

Leave it to boil until the vegetables are soft.

image.png

Step 4 (not pictured): drain the pasta and vegetables and leave them to sit while we prep the sauce.

Step 5: So in the same pot on medium heat, melt some butter and add the garlic. Stir until the garlic is slightly browned.

image.png

Step 6: Add about 2 tablespoons of flour to the garlic and butter, stirring until incorporated. Then add 1 more tablespoon of flour and stir. This part was kinda iffy for me since the garlic just looked like this, but I figured it should turn out okay once I added the milk.

image.png

Step 7: Pour in the milk a little bit at a time, stirring well in between, until fully incorporated and sauce begins to thicken.

image.png

Now this was where I thought I screwed up because the recipe says to pour in the milk a little bit at a time but I just dumped the whole 2 cups of milk straight in. But after stirring it continuously while it was boiling it turned out okay.

Step 8: Add in the seasonings and cheese to thicken up the sauce and stir well to incorporate.

image.png

After a few minutes it was really starting to look like cream pasta sauce!

image.png

Step 9: once the sauce thickens, add the pasta and vegetables to the sauce and mix well.

image.png

Sean came back home with some turkey from a friend of his who had leftovers so we heated that up to eat with our pasta!

image.png

This was the pasta I made!

image.png

And topped with the turkey and some bacon bits:

image.png

I was actually pretty proud of the pasta because it turned out perfectly! Just the right amount of seasoning (maybe a little more salt for me would be perfect) but it was nicely cooked and the sauce was really legit! It reminded me of the carbonara we would eat in restaurants, just without bacon of course.

The turkey was kinda meh tbh since it was quite dry without any gravy but the pasta sauce made it a little better at least. I was just so happy the pasta turned out great, and Sean really loved it too!

I'm definitely looking forward to trying this recipe again and maybe with my signature chicken chop and baked potatoes? It's been a long time since I made that so this might be the perfect time to cook it.

image.png

Just thinking about it is making me hungry now so I'm gonna go have dinner! Thanks so much for reading and hope you enjoyed this recipe!

To find out more about me, check out my intro post here!


Check out my previous post in this series!
TacoCat (kinda) Cooks! #19: Crunchy & Yummy Chicken Katsu! ๐Ÿ—


Posted via foodiesunite.net

Sort: ย 

Love your Foodie post!

Yum! You have been curated @sirenahippie on behalf of FoodiesUnite.net on #Hive. Thanks for using the #foodie tag. We are a tribe for the Foodie community with a unique approach to content and community and we are here on #Hive.

Join the foodie fun! We've given you a FOODIE boost. Come check it out at @foodiesunite for the latest community updates. Spread your gastronomic delights on and claim your tokens.

Join and Post through the Community and you can earn a FOODIE reward.

Banner_followBHcommentsize.png

Manually curated by EwkaW from the @qurator Team. Keep up the good work!

thanks for curating @EwkaW! ^-^

Why does this look so delicious! And you have a good set of spices! I wish I had one ๐Ÿ˜… Thanks for sharing this recipe! You make pasta cooking look so easy!