TacoCat (kinda) Cooks! #21: Golden Crispy "Spicy" Chicken! ๐Ÿ—

in Foodies Bee Hive โ€ข 2 years ago

image.png

Hey Hive!

We're back with more of our home cooking! If you're unfamiliar with this series, it's where I showcase some of the recipes we've been trying at home since we've been cooking a lot nowadays! Also I'm running out of content so yeah gotta make the most of it!

Since chicken is our favourite type of meat I've been trying out different types of chicken recipes such as chicken katsu that I wrote about a month ago!

image.png

It came out pretty well and Sean and I both enjoyed it so I thought I'd try frying chicken again but with a different kind of batter! One of our favourite spice brands is McCormick and we use their spices all the time such as their black pepper, paprika, herb mix and even bacon bits!

And just the other day we saw McCormick actually had a Chicken Coating Mix as well! There are 2 flavours: Spicy and Original, and since they were having a special offer for 3 packets we bought 2 spicy packs and 1 original to try!

So the one I tried first was the Spicy version:

image.png

This was the chicken we were going to use. I liked this brand and packaging since they were frozen individually so I didn't have to defrost the whole bag of 2kg chicken like what happened last time. Thank goodness. This actually made it so much more convenient since I could just pick out how many pieces I wanted to cook.

image.png

Step 1: I had defrosted 6 fillets in the fridge overnight previously. So I just rinsed them and patted them dry.

image.png

These were the nutritional facts and instructions for the coating mix:

image.png

But first, I prepared our regular rice and vegetables. To make this, I washed 2 cups of rice, cut a carrot into little pieces and dumped some frozen broccoli and cauliflower in a rice cooker. Easy!

image.png

Step 2: Heat up a pot/wok with oil on medium-high heat. I used canola oil but vegetable oil works too.

image.png

Step 3: While the oil is heating up, we prepare the batter for the chicken by dissolving the packet of mix in 1/3 cup of cold water. Stir until it is fully dissolved then it's time to batter the chicken!

image.png

Step 4: Coat the chicken fillet evenly with the batter on both sides.

image.png

Step 5: And then when the oil is hot enough, carefully place it into the wok.

image.png

Repeat for the rest of the fillets.

image.png

We had to be careful because of the hot oil and since I had taken out 6 fillets we fried them 3 at a time.

image.png

Step 6: Fry until the bottom side is golden brown and after a couple of minutes, it's time to flip the fillets!

image.png

One of them turned out a little more charred but it still looked alright! Fry the other side until golden brown as well. The aroma of spices was amazing! It smelled a little peppery, and definitely savoury!

image.png

This was after we finished frying all the fillets! It only took about 15 minutes so this was a quick and easy meal!

image.png

Time to plate it with the rice!

image.png

The chicken actually turned out great! The batter wasn't as thick as when I made the chicken katsu, but it was still very tasty thanks to the spice mix! And it was still really crispy and juicy inside too! Most importantly, Sean and I really enjoyed it! Although this was the Spicy version, it actually wasn't that spicy, more like peppery but I liked it. We were kinda skeptical that the Original one would be a little more plain though, if that was the case. But we'll find out!

Overall I'd say this McCormick Chicken Mix is definitely worth it, especially since it didn't cost that much either! It's really simple and easy to make, and is not as unhealthy or costly compared to fast food! So if you have a hankering for some homemade fried chicken, definitely consider McCormick!

To find out more about me, check out my intro post here!


Check out my previous post in this series!
TacoCat (kinda) Cooks! #20: Easy Healthy Pasta Alfredo ๐Ÿ


Posted via foodiesunite.net

Sort: ย 
ย 2 years agoย (edited)ย 

It looks delicious, greetings and blessings

thanks so much! ^-^

@taco.cat Thank you for sharing looks delicious and juicy, I will put it into practice

thanks for reading! it was really good, definitely try it if you can!

I also love Crispy and Spicy Chicken. Some days ago I also shared my recipe. Thank you

thanks so much! i really love crispy chicken too!

Love your Foodie post!

Yum! You have been curated @anggreklestari on behalf of FoodiesUnite.net on #Hive. Thanks for using the #foodie tag. We are a tribe for the Foodie community with a unique approach to content and community and we are here on #Hive.

Join the foodie fun! We've given you a FOODIE boost. Come check it out at @foodiesunite for the latest community updates. Spread your gastronomic delights on and claim your tokens.

Join and Post through the Community and you can earn a FOODIE reward.

Banner_followBHcommentsize.png

Your content has been voted as a part of Encouragement program. Keep up the good work!

Use Ecency daily to boost your growth on platform!

Support Ecency
Vote for new Proposal
Delegate HP and earn more