TacoCat (kinda) Cooks! #22: Simple, Healthy Spaghetti Aglio e Olio! ๐Ÿ

in Foodies Bee Hive โ€ข 2 years ago

image.png

Hey Hive!

We're back with more of our home cooking! If you're unfamiliar with this series, it's where I showcase some of the recipes we've been trying at home since we've been cooking a lot nowadays! Also I'm running out of content so yeah gotta make the most of it!

So I was looking for different pasta recipes since it's been a while since we've had it and I came across this aglio e olio one the other day! It's really simple to make, only needs 4 ingredients and is ready in under 20 minutes! As someone who doesn't like to spend too much time cooking, it seemed like a dream come true!

These are the ingredients required:

image.png

And these were the ingredients I actually used. Since I wanted some vegetables as well, I added in my own.

  • olive oil
  • red pepper flakes
  • frozen broccoli and cauliflower
  • 1 carrot
  • garlic
  • linguine
  • salt

image.png

These were the recipe's instructions, which seem pretty simple.

image.png

Step 1: boil the water and chop vegetables. Add in a lot of salt to the water. This is important for the pasta later.

image.png

I tried my best to slice the carrot julienne-style.

image.png

Step 2: once the water is boiled, dump the vegetables in and wait until they get soft.

image.png

Step 3: In the meantime, prepare some side dish/meat to go with the spaghetti. We didn't have chicken and it was too late to go out and buy fish so we decided to air fry some luncheon meat.

image.png

Step 4: mince the garlic. I put quite a lot of garlic since we love the stuff, but it's up to you how many cloves you want.

image.png

Step 5: Once the vegetables are sufficiently boiled, put the pasta in. Add more salt to the water if needed.

image.png

Step 6: once the bottom half of the pasta is a little soft, get the rest in the water. When the pasta is sufficiently boiled, set it aside. Don't drain it because we'll be using the pasta water later.

image.png

Step 7: Add a generous amount of olive oil and saute the red pepper flakes and garlic until they're lightly brown.

image.png

Step 8: Use tongs and toss the pasta in the garlic sauce. Add in half a cup of pasta water as well. Mix well until the pasta is coated in the garlic sauce.

image.png

And you're done! Time to serve it up with your side dish. In our case, our air-fried luncheon meat.

image.png

To be honest, it was good, but I think it was a little bland. I think I definitely did not salt the water enough and I didn't put enough olive oil. So while it was okay, it definitely could've been a lot better. Sean was happy with it though which made me glad, because he typically doesn't like aglio e olio.

image.png

I'll definitely be trying this recipe out again and maybe with a different meat next time. I'm looking forward to trying it with my chicken chop in the future; I think it'll pair really well together.

Also fun fact but I read from Wiki that spaghetti aglio e olio is a traditional Italian pasta dish from Naples! It is a typical dish of Neapolitan cuisine and is widely popular due to it being simple to prepare and the fact that it makes use of inexpensive, readily available ingredients that have long shelf lives in a pantry.

I'm sure many people have at least tried it before, so if you haven't made it yourself, definitely give it a shot since it's so easy!

Thanks so much for reading!

To find out more about me, check out my intro post here!


Check out my previous post in this series!
TacoCat (kinda) Cooks! #21: Golden Crispy "Spicy" Chicken! ๐Ÿ—


Posted via foodiesunite.net

Sort: ย 

Congratulations @taco.cat! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s):

You distributed more than 12000 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 13000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

Hive Power Up Month - Feedback from February day 22
Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!

Love your Foodie post!

Yum! You have been curated @anggreklestari on behalf of FoodiesUnite.net on #Hive. Thanks for using the #foodie tag. We are a tribe for the Foodie community with a unique approach to content and community and we are here on #Hive.

Join the foodie fun! We've given you a FOODIE boost. Come check it out at @foodiesunite for the latest community updates. Spread your gastronomic delights on and claim your tokens.

Join and Post through the Community and you can earn a FOODIE reward.

Banner_followBHcommentsize.png

Your content has been voted as a part of Encouragement program. Keep up the good work!

Use Ecency daily to boost your growth on platform!

Support Ecency
Vote for new Proposal
Delegate HP and earn more

it is really delicious! give it a try if you can!