My Game Day Pot Roast Recipe

Man I love a good pot roast. I've been wanting to post to the Hive Foodies Bee Hive for awhile now. Something a lot of you may not know about me, I love to cook! I'm going to try and post a few food blogs a month to the Foodies Bee Hive.

So my hometown team finished 1 game away from the BIG GAME! The Dood lives in Buffalo NY home of the Buffalo Bills. One of the things I love about football season would be game day spreads! So much delicious food. Watching the game and preparing food really don't go hand in hand though. It's actually pretty difficult to do both. On game day, I like delicious food that easy to prepare or meals you're able to prepare in advance. On of my favorites is POT ROAST! Yummy.

20210124_165227.jpg

Pot Roast is a perfect game day meal because you pretty much toss all your ingredients in the pot then throw it in the oven and not worry about it again until you're ready to eat.

Esg2h8mVcAE3094.jpeg

This recipe was given to me by a hunter friend who gave me some venison. The venison came out so good I tweaked it a bit and now make all my pot roasts in this fashion. Hope you enjoy.

You can use just about any cut of meat for this recipe. I've found cheaper cuts of meat with lots of fat veins running through it comes out absolutely delicious and leaner better cuts are just as tasty. Prepared this way any cut of meat will come out tender and delicious and melt in your mouth.

Ingredients

  • 1 Beef roast or venison aprox 4 lbs or larger (adjust cooking time to size)
  • 1 package instant onion soup mix (dry soup mix)
  • 2 tablespoons Worcetershire sauce
  • 1 1/2 cups water
  • 2 - 3 cloves of garlic chopped fine
  • 2 onion quartered
  • 4 or more whole carrots cleaned and peeled.
  • 4 or more potatoes
  • 4 tablespoons of flour
  • baking potatoes cleaned with an x-cut across the top.

Directions

Rinse off roast under cold water. Place in appropriate sized roasting pan. I've got these old fashioned roasting pans I just love. If you find one in good condition at a garage sale I highly recommend getting it.

Mix a half cup of water with soup mix, worcetershire sauce and chopped garlic. Stir till soup mix is dissolved. Pour over roast and spread the dried onion and garlic mixture over the top of the roast. Sprinkle with some salt and pepper.

Add another cup of water to the bottom of the pan.

Tuck the onion quarters around the edges of the pan.

I cut my carrots in half and place them on top of the onions or wherever they fit along the edges.

Preheat over to 250 degrees. Cover pot and cook on second rack from the bottom.

Time varies depending on size of roast. I honestly don't think you can over-cook this roast though. I generally will cook it at least 3 to 4 hours at this low temperature. (I generally cook for 3 people, add more time for larger roasts)

My general rule of thumb is to place the potatoes around the pot about an hour after you start the roast. When the potatoes open up and are nice and soft (cooked fully) Your roast should be done. If I'm cooking really large baking potatoes I'll sometimes throw them in at the start. Honestly, I like an over cooked potato with a soft center and crispy outside. Cooking times will vary from 4 - 6 hours depending on roast size. Although the image shows an uncovered pot, you want to cook it with the cover on to keep in all the heat and steam.

20210124_163800.jpg

The key to this recipe is to slow cook under low heat. It's pretty hard to overcook at this temperature. The meat will break down and tenderize as it cooks in it's own juices.

Gravy

About 15 minute before you're ready to eat carefully pour the juice in the roasting pan into a pot. Heat over high heat. Mix 4 tablespoons of flour with cold water in a tea cup. Stir well, dissolving the flour in the water and squishing any flour clumps with a fork. This is a good trick to solve lumpy gravy issues 🤣

20210124_163557.jpg

Slowly pour the flour water into your boiling roasting juice a few tablespoons at a time whisking vigorously. Add more flour water and keep whisking till gravy reaches desired consistency. You don't have to use the entire tea cup of flour water. Keep stirring until and adding flour water a little at a time till you get a thick silky texture in your gravy. Add salt and pepper to taste.

20210124_164211.jpg

Additions and options

I'll often toss some clean mushrooms into the roasting pan to cook with the roast. You can also saute mushrooms with some butter. Or saute some mushrooms and onion together in a frying pan. Sometimes I'll add the mushroom saute or roasted mushrooms to the gravy. You can also add leeks to your roasting pan in place of the quartered onion.

When meal is prepared pour gravy in gravy boat. Serve with baked potato. Chop up cooked carrots or serve whole in a dish. Serve with a fresh baguette or other fresh bread loaf.

Pairs nicely with a cold beer! Cheers and hope you enjoy this pot roast recipe!

Sort:  

The dood has some wicked cooking skills.

I will join you in that !BEER

Thanks man.
!BEER

Sorry, out of BEER, please retry later...

Sorry, out of BEER, please retry later...

Love your Foodie post!

Yum! You have been curated @anggreklestari on behalf of FoodiesUnite.net on #Hive. Thanks for using the #foodie tag. We are a tribe for the Foodie community with a unique approach to content and community and we are here on #Hive.

Join the foodie fun! We've given you a FOODIE boost. Come check it out at @foodiesunite for the latest community updates. Spread your gastronomic delights on and claim your tokens.

Join and Post through the Community and you can earn a FOODIE reward.

Banner_followBHcommentsize.png

Sorry, out of BEER, please retry later...

Your Pot Roast looks delicious too, I'll try it out one of these days.

I hope you enjoy it. It's one of my favorite things to cook. Feel free to let me know what you thought.

I HAVE TO TRY THIS! I love baking but don’t enjoy cooking so much - just enough we don’t starve get fat on baked goods. But this looks delicious! In SA we have something called a Potjie pot that is placed on a fire or gas cooker for many hours as well, but I’d like to try your pot roast ASAP!