Gulab Jamun (Milky Rose Water Dessert)

in Foodies Bee Hive β€’ 2 years ago

Hi Friends!

My work contract will be over in a week. Wonder what the future holds after 😊 It has been fun. My manager is a nice guy, my coworkers are a great crew. In fact, later today, I am scheduled to be trained on something, which definitely would benefit me should I work in the similar type of business/department in the future 🀩

2 weeks from now, I will start volunteering at our local library, which am so excited about. I contacted them to offer my hands, October last year. Unfortunately it was still crazy pandemic, library was not really open for nobody, so they didn't really have anything happening. Now that the government is lifting up this and that restrictions, library is slowly open again, and I was contacted should I still be interested in volunteering, which of course the answer was YEEEEESSSSS 😍😍😍😍

Anyhoo!

Today's recipe is Gulab Jamun. I just love them so much. Whenever I went to any Indian restaurants, I would always check on their dessert. If they have gulab jamun, I know it was gonna be a good lunch 🀣

Foto1

I have been using the same recipe since 2009. I know this following recipe isn't authentic, as real gulab jamun uses ghee and some don't use flour at all, but hey, you do what you gotta do when you are craving it big time, and none of the restaurants had them when I needed them πŸ˜…

1 c skim milk powder (best is if you can find full fat milk powder tho!)
1/2 c AP flour
3 tbsp semolina
1 tsp BP
2 tbsp melted unsalted butter
1/4 c whole milk (plus another 1-2 tbsp, or as needed)
Oil for frying

Syrup

1 c sugar
2 c water
2 tbsp rose water
2 green cardamom, crushed

Boil syrup, set aside to cool to room temp

photo-1648219212515

Mix all ingredients, knead, shape into balls

photo-1648219243144

photo-1648219374840

Heat oil on low temp, fry balls until nicely browning (some of mine gotten too brown - so yeah, LOW heat 🀣)

photo-1648219442862

Take out balls with slotted spoon and drop them into syrup. Soak for a bit like 20-30 mins
Et voila! πŸ˜πŸ˜‹πŸ˜πŸ˜‹

LOVE gulab jamun 😍😍😍😍

Sort: Β 

I always order Gulab Jamun and they are so delicious! Thanks for your recipe :)

Me too. I just love them TOO much 🀣